We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-September Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Water's Edge Cottages
Grand Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mid-September Visit”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I can't say enough about the Water's Edge Cottages and the owners, Tom and Les. They were both so friendly and helpful. We stayed in Sandpiper which was cozy and warm on the cold nights. Everything was spotless. We had dinner at the Adirondack Hotel where the portions were huge. Loved the people there also. We booked for next August in the larger Osprey and look forward to our visit.

Room Tip: Sandpiper is strictly for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in the Sandpiper cabin, meant for just two persons. It is the smallest cabin, but absolutely delightful, the perfect cozy get-away we needed. It has a full kitchen, and a wood-burning stove which is perfect on a chilly Adirondack evening. We also took advantage of the grill and the beach-side fire pit. The location is beautiful; we took a sunset photo even prettier than the one on their web-site. The hosts were very friendly, and even mailed us some items we had accidently left behind. We were able to view the inside of two of the larger cabins which were very, very nice for anyone needing a larger space. We highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The fact that my wife, my son, and I are heading back for our fifth summer says it all. Our first two years were spent in the Sandpiper cabin, a small studio-like cabin with a kitchen, bath, and wood burning stove. Year three (after the birth of our son) we stayed in Loon which has two bedrooms and a small dining area off the kitchen. The only suggestions I have for Loon are maybe putting in a window in the bathroom for better ventilation and having the dining room windows able to open. Last year and this year we are in Merganser which has two bedrooms, a kitchen and dining room, a screened in porch, and a private deck overlooking the lake. All of these cabins (and the two others, as we have been in them as well) are well-supplied with cookware and utensils and have barbecue grills. The only thing I would say is that some of the pots and pans could use updating. The location at the edge of Long Lake is beautiful. It's a short ride or walk into town to Hoss's or the Stewarts market. As long as they're there year after year, we will be, too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Water’s Edge is a relaxing, cozy, tidy, well-run set of cottages on the eastern shore of Long Lake, just outside the hamlet of Long Lake. We enjoyed our stay, doing a little bit of everything, and a whole lot of nothing!

This was our first experience renting a lakeside cottage in the Adirondacks, although we’ve rented houses and villas in other locations before, notably the Caribbean. We were pleasantly surprised to find that Water’s Edge exceed our expectations.

The grounds are well maintained, with nice flowers and native plants and trees. The outsides of the cottages are all in good shape, with fresh paint, new roofs, nice decks, and screened-in porches. All cottages have a Weber grill and Adirondack chairs. Ours had a picnic table. The series of floating docks are great for swimming, relaxing, tying up a boat, etc. There is an ample supply of firewood in numerous places. There are Adirondack chairs throughout the property, perfect for watching the great sunsets.

The inside of our cottage, Chickadee, was in great shape, clean and tidy. Many of the kitchen and bathroom fixtures and appliances are new, and those that aren’t are in good working order. The furniture was generally comfortable and new. The cottage was well-outfitted with all kitchen utensils, fans for circulation, room air-conditioners, soap, paper towels, tissues, books, puzzles, blankets, hangers, TV, VCR/DVD, etc. You won’t need to bring much besides food and towels. I assume that the other cottages are the same.

Chickadee is the largest cottage, almost more like a house. Nice open feeling and tons of space. It is relatively private, being set a bit above the other cottages on the grounds that slope to the lake. For most privacy, select Osprey or Merganser.

The on-site proprietors, Tom and Les, kept the place running well. They were helpful, efficient, and responsive when making reservations and down-payments, and checking in/out. They are clear about the rules and regulations, and always ready to help if needed.

We have only two complaints. First, the beds were not comfortable. They seemed old and were hard. Second, Chickadee was quite close to the road, and road noise could be an issue. After a while, we were somewhat used to it, but it was always in the background. The road noise is probably less in the other cottages.

Since Long Lake is a bit more remote than some other locations (like Old Forge, Lake Placid, Lake George, etc), there are not a lot of options for eating out. There are a few places, but one can tire of them easily, we found the quality just average in our opinion, and the hours were a bit inconsistent. Groceries are available, but expensive. Bottom line: you may chose to bring food from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vicnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We made reservations for Water's Edge over the internet, so we were a little nervous about what the cabins were like. We arrived early in the evening and were immediately mesmerized by the view our cabin provided. The cabins are very clean, nicely decorated, and supplied with everything we needed - the kitchen was fully stocked, free firewood was provided, lines to hang wet clothes, and plenty of "Adirondack" chairs on the deck to enjoy the view.
The proprietors, Leslie and Tom, were welcoming and friendly. An added bonus for us was the Rock Shop. Leslie and Tom are very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions about rocks and minerals and the Adirondack area.
We loved every minute of our stay. Our only regret was that it was not warm enough to jump off the dock (literally at our doorstep) and swim. Maybe next time.
I would absolutely return to this area and stay at Water's Edge!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catskill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed the quiet getaway. The fireplace was stoked all weekend. Looking out over the lake was so peaceful. I did a lot of reading while he went hunting. I would do it again even with my grown kids in the larger cabins

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassycatskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Barths. French West Indies
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

If you're looking for a great time in the mountains, Long Lake is a sleepy little gem of a town in the middle of the Adirondack Park. I took us about 5 hrs to get there from Manhattan. A trip we make every summer (the fall is nice too). We like the hikes nearby, picnicing on the lake and enjoy the camp fires on the shore at dusk (a must). It realy is a splendid way to unwind and get back to a simpler lifestyle if only for a week or 2.

BTW Water's Edge is by far the nicest of any accommodations in the village (some are really, really run down). Last summer we came with our ski boat and rented the Loon cabin with a great view over the water. Tom and Lesley were most accommodating allowing us to use their fab dock to tie up to. They've been running the place for years and it always has something new or refurbished about it. The bed rooms are smaller but all is very clean and there's lots of free firewood. They even own a rock shop which has some fantastic fossils of God know what.

In short, the best place in Long Lake, a lake well worth enjoying in a sleepy summer setting.

  • Liked — clean, tidy and well kept
  • Disliked — could stay 1 night longer
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Lake
23.6 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
45 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Point
The Point
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
82 reviews
23.2 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Cottages

Property: Water's Edge Cottages
Address: 957 Deerland Rd, Long Lake, NY 12847-1801
Location: United States > New York > Long Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Water's Edge Cottages is located on the shores of Long Lake with amazing sunset and mountain views. Each unit has full kitchens and private baths, private decks and screened in porches. Renovated in 2010, our guests will be pleased to know we have tastefully used leather Arts&Crafts style furniture and Adirondack twig work to make each of our units unique. Come enjoy! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing