We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL IN ONE VACATION SPOT”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Long Lake and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ALL IN ONE VACATION SPOT”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our second trip to the daks and we hit upon this place. Stayed in the motel section. Rooms dated but CLEAN & with lovely private porch. Kayaks and canoes available for our use on the lake. Lots of places to sit, lounge and soak up the sun and water views. Owner showed us the cottages--which we will do when we return for a LONGER stay. Pavillion with game tables and playground for wee grandkids if we can coax the whole family up. You get a lot for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room #18 had a woodsy lake view from room and porch. Just one back from "waterfront".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga S, Manager at Motel Long Lake and Cottages, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed at this Motel many times. It is extremely well cared for and the owners are very pleasant and helpful. We appreciate the comfort of the motel rooms and especially the private screened in patio area. We enjoy the pavillion, the shore line AND the fact that we can keep our boat right at the motel docks. To be sure, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited Long Lake with several family members, both adults and children, oldest child being 12. We all had a wonderful time and found that the cabins were very clean and the grounds were fantastic. We used their kayaks and also rented a boat to dock at their motel. The owners were very welcoming and hospitable. I would definitely do this again.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant on site but the Adirondack Hotel is close-by. The grocery in town is very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy60969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We rented a cabin #23 based on other reviews. We were very pleased when we walked into our cabin. This was one of the cleanest rentals we ever had! The cottage was well stocked, grounds were nice, great boat dock, right next to public boat launch, next to marina for gas and kayaks or canoes free of use. Except for rain our entire weekend we had a very nice relaxing time. We will definitely be back next year and will rent from Long cottages again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga S, Manager at Motel Long Lake and Cottages, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and your cottage. We wish we could have done something about the weather :)
We would love to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have traveled up to Long Lake for years now. The new owners have done a beautiful job
updating the motel and cottages. They provide their guests with all the necessary amenities
offering a relaxing vacation. Its just a perfect spot. So close to town to walk to the local eateries.
We especially enjoyed the gorgeous view of the lake from our room. There is so much to do at the motel for families to do. We rented a kayak and paddled to the northern part of the lake.
We loved seeing the loons on the lake. The hosts are ever so friendly and really know how
to keep their guests coming back every year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are looking for the best accommodations on Long Lake, then look no further than a cottage at Motel Long Lake & Cottages.
My husband and I have stayed in both a motel unit and in various cabins and we recommend the cottages. The motel rooms are dated, though they are meticulously cleaned daily and have an awesome screened in back porch. The cottages are completely renovated with knotty pine interiors. Motel Long Lake & Cottages provides everything you need for your stay: bed linens, bath towels, dishes, pots & pan, silverware, a small grill on your porch etc...all you need to bring are your clothes and food/drink!!
Be sure to enjoy the beautiful beach and complimentary canoe and/or kayak rentals!
The property is in the best location among all other vacation rental properties; it is walking distance within minutes to Northern Borne grocery store, the town beach, the Adirondack Hotel (where you can enjoy lunch or dinner), Hoss', Stewart's, Custard's Last Stand and the Long Lake Diner.
Donna, Stanley and their family provide exceptional and personal service to their guests. Our family of 60+ rent the entire property for a week and we are all always treated with respect.
The only recommendation for improvement is to remove the unnecessary wall hangings (including dead animals!), doilies and other clutter items in all of the cottages. When you are in a cabin in the Adirondacks, you don't need the cabin to be cluttered with unnecessary decor items in order for it to feel "homey". The renovated cabins are already very cozy and homey naturally due to the knotty pine and furniture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I'm traveling around NY on business and had a very bad hotel experience at the beginning of the week. It made me terrified of local hotels. But Motel Long Lake was just what I needed. The pictures of the hotel rooms on their website is exactly what you get - no surprises. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. I love the small screened-in patio attached to each room. The TV was small and on the older side but it really made no difference to me. This area is beautiful and the motel was perfectly relaxing after my long week on the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swingdancerebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel Long Lake and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Long Lake and Cottages

Property: Motel Long Lake and Cottages
Address: 51 Dock Lane, PO Box 675, Long Lake, NY 12847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a quiet, relaxing atmosphere filled with beautiful scenery, fun the whole family can enjoy. We are located directly on the shore of Long Lake and offer 8 motel rooms, 15 cottages, a private beach, fire pits, two docks, free canoes and kayaks for our guests, a gazebo with games, and immediate access to the great outdoors of the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Long Lake And Cottages Hotel Long Lake
Hotel Long Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing