We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we'd gone here sooner”

The Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Long Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wish we'd gone here sooner”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had two mediocre-bad meals with bad service at the Long Lake Diner before we discovered the Cellar, and wished we'd gone here all along. Even closer to Lake Eaton campground than the other restaurants, infinitely better service and very good food. Ridiculously cheap drink prices ($3 for a cosmo special!) and reasonably priced food. It also serves much later than the other places, we showed up at 8:45 and there were a couple of tables that came in after us. That's late for these parts, apparently.

So if you are you thinking about going to Long Lake Diner, skip it and come to the CELLAR instead!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Menu with variety and outstanding pizza!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very homey, friendly, and excellent food! We asked local folks where to eat and "The Cellar" was their recommendation. We agree!.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mennonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food was fresh and delicious. reasonably priced and the bread and pizza were outrageous.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iacono117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in 50 miles”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We always enjoy our Haddock special on Friday night when we are visiting in the heart of the Adirondacks. Remember that you cannot make reservations and unless you show up at 4:30, your party may have a while to wait. You won't mind it, sipping your cold tap brews out on the patio in the ADK chairs. You don't want to be in a hurry for this good food...

In any case, before heading to the restaurant, take an afternoon ride (complementary) on the silent gliding electric party boat out on Grampus Lake with Ranger Steve back in at John Dillon Park. John Dillon Park is about 1/2 mile north of Big Brook bridge, turning off the highway from Tupper Lake about 2 miles before Kickerville Rd., where you'll go to The Cellar for dinner and talk about all the wonders you saw at Grampus Lake.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JustPerfect10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I stopped in here for dinner while camping at nearby Lake Eaton campground. I found it online while researching our trip, and we're very happy we stopped in there. The atmosphere is laid back and down-home. You can get a great meal, a cold beer (I had a Saranac Lake IPA) or a pina colada like my wife had. We both had the salad with grilled chicken, roasted pecans and bleu cheese crumbles, which was fantastic, and huge. Don't pass this place up!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing