We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“30TH Birthday Weekend!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“30TH Birthday Weekend!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

This weekend was a surprise for my 30th birthday. We arrived at Laguardia airport in the morning on Friday 12/15. After a small misunderstanding with the woman at the front desk. (Our reservation was somehow deleted.) The woman was a little short with us and not very helpful. Once this was cleared up she sent the free airport shuttle to pick us up. It arrived promptly and we were greeted by a very friendly young man. He helped us with all of our luggage and was very pleasant on the way to the hotel. When we arrived, the rude woman on the phone was very pleasant to us in person. She immediately gave us our room even though we were several hours before check in. Our room had a king size bed and was a very good size (for New York) After taking a long nap we woke up and ordered pizza from a nearby pizza delivery recommended by the night desk clerk. It was excellent. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite. We found that the room was in need of a little updating. Also the cleaning could have been a little more thorough. We took the shuttle first thing in the morning to the nearby Subway stop. On the way the shuttle driver stopped so I could pick up a coffee. I found the free shuttle to be very convenient. We would call the hotel a few stops away from our Subway stop. The shuttle driver was always waiting for us. He took us to a grocery store so we could pick up some things for our room. This is not a luxury hotel but for the money, $129 a night in December. It was a great deal. We ate the complimentary breakfast every morning. They had waffles and eggs and was kept up very nice. I am rating this a 3 only because I don't think any Best Western would earn a 4 or 5. For the price I feel that this is a terrific hotel for a trip to New York. We will stay here again in the future! Enjoy!

  • Liked — Price! Large Room! Most of the employees were fantastic!
  • Disliked — Cleanliness....Decor
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    92
    35
    46
See reviews for
76
87
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Best Western Motor Inn for 5 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. After reading reviews here I knew what to expect and knew we were not checking into a luxury hotel that might go for $300-$400 a night. I booked the room through their hotel website at a government rate for only $129 a night.

Upon arriving at LaGuardia I called the hotel and we were picked up in less than 15 minutes by a very friendly driver.

The room we had served our purpose very well. We had a fridge, microwave and coffee pot--we even had an exercise bicycle. The room was clean and quiet. One day we stayed in because of the weather and ordered Chinese takeout that was delivered right to our room in less than half an hour. The microwave and fridge came in handy for the leftovers. Breakfast was very good with eggs, sausage and make your own waffles---and my favorite, a large variety of donuts. With the large breakfast we had, we saved time and money by not having to stop for lunch.

When we wanted to go into the city we would only have a short wait for the shuttle which would take us to the subway entrance. The #7 train took us directly into Times Square in about 20 minutes. We purchased an all day subway pass for $7.50 so we were able to visit other areas of the city without getting a cab. No matter what time we returned on the subway all we had to do is call the hotel and we were picked up in about 10 minutes.

The neighborhood appeared to be residential and safe.

The staff were all very friendly-from the front desk to housekeeping to the shuttle drivers.

I would absolutely stay at this hotel again. I gave it a five rating even though it was not a luxury hotel--it was everything we expected and more.

If going into Manhattan to see all of the sights I would recommend the City Sights bus--just look for the guys on the corner with the yellow jackets as soon as you exit the subway station.. We purchased a 48-hour pass for $49 each and it included a tour of downtown and uptown Manhattan, Brooklyn, Harlem and a 75 minute harbor cruise. You can hop on and off of the bus as much as you want and there is always another bus to pick you back up in about ten minutes. On the bus there is a tour guide who lets you know about the city.

  • Liked — The price and the closeness to Manhattan
  • Disliked — Nothing that comes to mind
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mficke0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

This a hotel we have been to several times in the last two years. The personnel are friendly, speak english and spanish.
Your are picked up at La Guardia Airport when you arrive and your are taken back when you need to get back and are ready with your bags.
You get a hot breakfast and at night warm cookies and whatever is leftover from the breakfast.
You can see Manhattan from upper rooms at a distance. A vision to behold. Rooms have microwave, fridge, coffee maker.
There is individual air conditioner or heater depending on your needs.
If you forget toiletries, they are provided by hotel.
You get extra towels if needed.
Make reservation through website and then phone the hotel directly, they might lower your rate.

  • Liked — friendliness of personnel and desire to help you
  • Disliked — waiting for the shuttle in the airport
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emiliano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed for $125/night for 2 adults and 1 child. The location is okay, I don't recommend walking at night but during the day is fine. Not much in a close radius. The closest subway stop (and restuarants) is about a 25 minute walk. The have a shuttle that is good when it is available but if you need to be somewhere by a specific time, its best to use a car service. We used Java car service (you can google the ph #), and they were always there in 5 minutes and charged only $6 to the subway stop, $15 to the airport. ~~~ Hotel interior: we had a king nonsmoking on the even side of the building - great views of the city at sunset!! This hotel has been completely renovated and our room was excellent. Bed was brand new, comfy, good pillows. There was a little living room area with a sofa (had a SINGLE size pullout bed), table, desk and microwave. Everything was very clean and comfortable, although the sq footage was tight. ~~~~ Amenities: they had 2 computers that were fairly fast, the printer was broke. The breakfast was great: scrambled eggs and sausage, cook your own waffles, Dunkin doughnuts, muffins, fruit and cereal. There seemed to be ample parking for a car. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel if your looking to stay at an affordable rate.

  • Liked — The value for the money
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krhm2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U.K.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Booking here saved my family £300.00 per head compared to comparable hotels in the centre, but book the La Guardia airport because a taxi from Newark will cost £50.00 each way.

The staff were friendly though their command of English was slightly poor. Ali was very helpful in arranging a taxi for our return to the airport.

The rooms were clean though the decor was a bit aged.
The breakfast was ok but a bit limited in choice and with no daily variation. The small breakfast room meant that there would occasionally be insufficient seating for the number of guests.

Free use of the Internet computers (2) was good.

The hotel's free shuttle takes you to the closest train & subway which then takes you into Times Square. Both journeys last only about 10 to fifteen minutes, but waiting before and inbetween can make it close to an hour each way every day. An unlimited travel train & bus Metro card cost us $25 for 7 days.

Recommended places to eat were;
"Dazies Restaurant" on Queens Blvd. right opposite where you catch the train to town. Ray and sister Keri treat you like royalty, the food is excellent - steaks or Italian cousine and the pianist can play any request you care to name.

The "Stardust" restaurant near the "Mamma Mia" playing Theatre, here the prices are light and the waiters/waitresses are all budding wannabees who take it in turns to sing as they serve. See www.ellensStardustDiner.com.

For the best setting try the "Battery Park" restaurant at South Ferry. If you like sipping cocktails by candlelight or under an umberella in the sunshine then this is for you. A classy menu, a live quartet in the outdoor garden and fab a view accross the water. To the left you will see Brooklyn Bridge, in the distant front The Statue of Liberty and to the right a skyline as only New York has. If you can be there when the sun sets you will embrace a sight that will live in your memory forever.

Overall this is a good place to stay if you are willing to sacrifice, but I think next time I may pay more for a place in town.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank O'Malleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

This hotel is perfect to see the city and save some money compared to Manhattan rates. Easy subway trip to the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice, but one man was not helpful and doesn't know anything about anything so hopefully you won't have to ask him anything. Breakfast was good, but I like my eggs more well done and my sausage warmer but there is a microwave and everything else was good. Be careful about trusting the shuttle if you need to be somewhere at a certain time. They are very busy. The younger drivers were fantastic, but we had one who was a bit older and he was a dangerous road-rager. Scary trip to the airport but thankfully that was the only time we had him as a driver. The other guys were fantastic. There isn't much in the neighborhood except a amazing cemetary across the street that was worth walking into. There is a small deli/corner store that the food looked and smelled great but we didn't get a chance to eat there. At the subway stop there is a produce stand and some restaurants and a store with souveniers for cheap prices. It is a good area to walk around a little bit. between there and the hotel, some people might be a little nervous about the area as it is mostly industrial, but we walked around with our 8 year old at all hours and we never saw anything to make us nervous besides our own shadows and a little graffiti. Most of the graffiti around was "art" and not gang tagging type of stuff. Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone to stay at unless you need a pampered 5 star hotel. This was clean, safe and comfortable and way cheaper than Manhattan.

  • Liked — cheaper than the city and still convenient
  • Disliked — When we called for the shuttle one time it never showed up even though the clerk kept telling us
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

My husband and I booked our stay at the BW City View Inn for our trip to New York.

LOCATION:
This Inn is located in Queens - so you have a couple options for getting to Manhattan.

1. You can ask the front desk to get you a cab - but in this case they call a car service. (They told us they can't call an actual taxi for some reason?) This will cost $40 to get to Manhattan - i think that's the flat rate.

2. If you actually do get a cab (on our own) it will cost $12. (When we were in Manhattan, it tooks us a couple taxis to get us back to the hotel - some didn't know where it was)

3. You can take the Subway - #7 (purple) takes you to Times Square. This costs $2 for one way for one person. I would recommend this option - its cheap and it was about 6 stops from Time Square to 40th Street/Lowry (in Queens).

SHUTTLE:
There has been some previous comments about the shuttle - I don't know if we just lucked out or what - but whenever we needed it, it was there. They dropped us off and picked us up at the Subway Station. And also drove us to La Guardia.

ROOMS:
We initially stayed at room 501 (which is the biggest room in the hotel, pictures shown) and then they moved us to room 206 because Hurricane Hanna came and they predicted the roof would leak.

Both rooms were pretty run down, ie. wall paper peeling, bathrooms grungy, etc.

The rooms had a king size bed, an exercise bike, a/c, microwave, mini-fridge and a coffee maker.

ANEMITIES:
They offered free internet, a small gym, and also free breakfasts.

The breakfast was OK - toast, bagels, doughnuts, cereal, fruit, eggs, sausage, coffee, juice, tea, etc.

They also had 'snack time' which consisted of chips, popcorn, salsa and juices.

Because of Hurricane Hanna, we stayed in Queens for a night and the Front Desk guy suggested a pub just down the block called Bantry Bay - Great food and great service!

OVERALL:

It was a decent stay - it was close enough to Manhattan - without paying the 'Manhattan' price. The service was good, rooms were clean and the location was sufficient.

  • Liked — location and free internet
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotters21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#25 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#23 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#24 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Property: City View Inn
Address: 3317 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing