We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“NYC on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

You have to cross the river to reach Manhattan but the rate us half of what a comparable hotel there would be. Located in a former school, the changeover to a hotel must have happened many decades ago, and the public areas are quite neglected, with the ancient elevator taking forever between the five floors. Rooms however were clean and complete, the beds a little soft. Bathrooms immaculate with full set of amenities. Breakfast complete but offered in a dank room reminiscent of a food hall in prison. Overall correct value for money

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    88
    91
    35
    45
See reviews for
75
86
24
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

No hot water (beyond their control?), peeling wall paper, ancient sandpaper like blanket, minimum of rough and thin towels, filthy coffee maker, dingy looking room and mismatched/broken furniture. Industrial location across from graveyard but parking lot was ok. Cheapest Best Western in NYC for a reason. Go at your own risk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank felixg811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The elevator smelled of marijuana, the toilet tank and trash cans were very dirty, the bath tub stopper appeared to have black mold, the room had not been vacuumed . . . I cannot believe that the Best Western insignia is anywhere related to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, AZ, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I got there too early to check in, but I was invited to leave my bags in a storage closet, so I could move about easily, and even invited into the dining room to eat breakfast, even though I wasn't officially a guest there yet. In fact, the gentleman at the desk insisted I join them for a meal. The hotel is true to its name: It has a fantastic view of Manhattan. I could look out my window, and see the new Freedom Tower in one direction and the Empire State Building in the other direction. The only issue is it's a little off the beaten path, so you either have to be prepared to spend a few bucks on a taxi, or get real comfortable finding your way around on the trains.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

the location is perfect if you want to stay outside Manhattan. The "inn" itself is really relaxed and the people working there are friendly and outgoing. Breakfast is always free. Some rooms are rooms where smoking is allowed. We had one of those as non-smokers - not the greatest but hey it worked. we had a room facing the city - quite amazing views :) you can order delivery and everything to your room - no probs. You can catch the free shuttle once a day to take you to the train or subway station - n*7 runs very frequently - just take the local train ;) If you don't want to spend too much money, just need a bed to sleep and want to discover Manhattan all day long (or whatever else you wanna do) go ahead - book this hotel! If you want a place of luxury, top modern new stuff and everything, proximity to eg. central park - don't book it. If you are open minded you'll have a great time :)

Room Tip: chose a room a least on the first or second floor - it's worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildChild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I booked last night a one night stay via Expedia Unpublished Rates and called just to verify if there was a possibility that I can do an early check in and then go to the Belmont Stakes, which is the reason for my trip. The lady that picked up the phone sounded extremely pissed off, maybe for my latino accent, and blatantly answered " call the 7th of June". Then I said "ok, bye", and that was it. So now I am prepared for a "nice, rough around the edges" experience in this hotel. Geez...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old and not very clean, but it's really easy to hop on the Subway and get into Manhattan. So if you just want a place to sleep it's fine. You get a decent breakfast in the morning as well

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#23 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#27 of 28 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#25 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#24 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Property: City View Inn
Address: 3317 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing