We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for the Price”
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Stay for the Price”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I chose this hotel because the price was literally half of other hotels in NYC. the room was large and clean, and we had absolutely no issues. It is a bit far from the subway (the hotel offers shuttle service until 10 pm) so we had to walk back to the hotel at night. Overall, I would definitely stay there again. BUT if you want luxury amenities, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Claudine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    95
    104
    37
    49
See reviews for
88
91
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is located 10-15 min walking distance to Lowery metro station (20 minutes to Time Square). Surrounding is not very pleasant but becomes nice just two blocks from there. Staff is nice but the hotel is a bit disorganized : e.g., no safe place to leave your luggage if you arrive early and the computers are old and don't work well (not convenient to print your boarding pass). Rooms are clean and wi-fi works fine. Breakfast is Ok according to North-American standard

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tinexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were kindly greeted during the check-in. All of our questions were patiently answered. (It was past 10 pm when we arrived there.) The staffs were nice, even the cleaning persons. Breakfast were perfect. Room was clean and big. Although the parking lot is small, but it is free parking and you know this is located in NYC.

I just stayed there for 1 night, but the experience was greatly impressed.

Price is a little bit high, but it is normal in NYC. The location is great, very close to Manhatton area.

Room Tip: There is a cemetery close to this hotel. But you know, most people think it is a place that is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Breakfast was awesome and the attendant was courteous, hotel room was nice enough and clean. The floor was quiet and the bed was comfortable enough. Great proximity to Manhattan and I would definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hi, I was only in town for one night on Feb 7th so I figure I stay here despite all the bad reviews. I got there at 1 and I didn't think I was going to get a room since check in is at 3. BiBi was the front desk person and she got me in a room right away. I went in and it smelled like smoke so I went back down and told her. She did not give me an attitude and was quite nice about it. She upgraded me to the "penthouse" lol (5th floor) with a king bed instead of the double room I had. It is not like the ritz or anything but it was doable. I would def stay there again and BiBi was GREAT!! The only thing I would say sucks is the elevator takes forever and its old so they need to upgrade that STAT. But other than that, not a bad stay and it took me a while to write a review because I totally forgot and I just got a reminder email from TA today. Again, BiBi is your girl if you need anything and location was great.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kati510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Again I had a wonderful stay. Attendant BIBI wad great as always. Best Western should be happy to have her working for them. 5 Stars to her. Cleaning lady SOFIA was also great. See you guys on Valentine's Day. Make my stay a good one again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cbern70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Being in the hospitality industry (chef & B&B owner) I loath awful reviews. Usually if I don't like a place, I just don't go back. But please, for your own sake - DO NOT STAY HERE. I am writing this on my 2nd night here. Leaving in the morning - thank goodness!! This is our 3rd time staying here. We have stayed because it CHEAP (notice I used the harsh term - not Inexpensive), it is close to friends and close to Manhattan... But I will NEVER stay here again!!! Our current room reeks of smoke and was classified a non-smoking room. There is a giant pizza box on top of the bureau that based on the looks of the leftover contents must be a least a week old. Looking in the corners of the rooms - they don't believe in dusting. The bathroom was covered in long hairs in various places (more that just an aggressive room cleaner losing a strand or two). I won't go into the rudeness of the front desk people - it makes me too angry to articulate their lack of professionalism, etc). The elevator is so slow, it has become a running joke between my husband and I. I won't go on, but do yourself a favor and put your money in a facility that is deserving of remaining in business!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Devineohone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
#22 of 32 in Long Island City
571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 32 in Long Island City
982 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#25 of 32 in Long Island City
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 32 in Long Island City
526 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 32 in Long Island City
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Property: City View Inn
Address: 3317 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing