We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    91
    94
    35
    46
See reviews for
78
89
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were "greeted" with a huge cockroach (almost the size of a ping pong ball) at the hotel lobby the moment we walked in. Totally freaked us out, the desk staff came out, and just killed it.

We booked a room for 4. Arrived very late at night to check-in, to find out that they overbook and there was only 1 double room left, we have no other choice. They brought us 2 folding beds, we tried to fit that into that tiny room. One of us slept in the hallway and one in front of the bathroom, no more room to walk inside our room, we had to walk over the beds to get around! That folding bed was terrible, gives us backache! The room had no window, the window was covered with cardboard. Felt like we were in jail. Claustrophobic! There was AC, but was so noisy. The room smelt like cigarettes.

At least, the next morning our room got change into a bigger one, and it was much better! We had 2 double beds, and plenty of space!

The breakfast was pretty good, with waffles, bread, croissants, donuts, juices.

The morning staff lady was not very friendly. The hotel was suppose to offer free shuttle to the closest subway station. That weekend, that train station happen to be under construction, so the shuttle was not available. The lady just said, "train is down, you have to take 35$ cab if you wanna go to Manhattan" instead of letting us know that other train station are operating.

Decent price for a hotel close to Manhattan. It's about 15min walk to 33 St station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sho999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

we were astound to find a hotel that not in any way live up to the Best Western brand we know! The hotel is very old, beds terrible, wallpaper was falling off, toilet not working properly, and mold in bathroom. The breakfast was okay if you come at around 7 am, but if you come at 9 am most of the food is gone and they will not put anything new on the buffet unless you ask for it, and they don’t like that.
But what was most frustrating was the customer service from the reception that just could not care less about its guests and was not in any way helpful. When we called for the shuttle bus to go back to the hotel he just yelled “It’s coming, it’s coming!” but after a 30 minute wait we decided to walk home.

Another example is that when we checked out the reception would not even call us a taxi and just said “Go to the streets and look”. ..We had to walk 1 mile to the subway with our luggage as we did not see any free taxi’s. :-(
We do not normally complain, but this is surly the worst hotel we have ever been staying at, and we get angry and sad every time we think back about it, and it was not our idea of a good vacation in New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anqders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

san clemente, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

For a reasonable priced trip to NYC this hotel is a good value. the shuttle service to the subway was good allowing us to get in and out of the city in a 45 min time period. The full breakfast gave us a good nutritional start for the day. Room was quiet and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful...no regrets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Juniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is in need of repair at every level. The entrance has a smoking area with an old table and chairs with no decor and littered with cigarette butts and debris. The lobby is sparse with a glassed enclosure which immediately gives you a sense that this is not a safe place, and there is an odor of disinfectant spray which is never a good sign. We had 4 rooms reserved as we were there for a friends weeding and we did not get the rooms that were guaranteed and all of our rooms required maintenance of one form or another. Fixtures were loose or broken and the bedding was minimal and in one room dirty. The water pressure in our sink was terrible and dressers used to house TV's at another time. We will never consider this hotel for any reason and warn all of our friends to stay away!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is reasonably priced in expensive new york. Clean, spacious rooms and coffee/tea making facilities. Fridge and microwave. Very good free shuttle to the subway. Walk to the subway is about 20 minutes. The irish pub nearby is excellent for food and is very friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ouiser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pay the extra $50 per night and stay in Manhattan, if feasible. I was put in a room that the hotel knew had a leaky roof - the forecast called for rain every day of my stay! Not surprisingly, it rained and my roof leaked (and soaked a pair of pants). In fairness, the hotel did let me switch rooms afterward and washed my pants. Still, it was an inconvenience I shouldn't have experienced. Also, the breakfast was poor and flies buzzed around the breakfast room. Don't recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#24 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#28 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#30 of 31 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Property: City View Inn
Address: 3317 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing