We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again”
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed October 3, 2013

For a reasonable priced trip to NYC this hotel is a good value. the shuttle service to the subway was good allowing us to get in and out of the city in a 45 min time period. The full breakfast gave us a good nutritional start for the day. Room was quiet and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful...no regrets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Juniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for City View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is in need of repair at every level. The entrance has a smoking area with an old table and chairs with no decor and littered with cigarette butts and debris. The lobby is sparse with a glassed enclosure which immediately gives you a sense that this is not a safe place, and there is an odor of disinfectant spray which is never a good sign. We had 4 rooms reserved as we were there for a friends weeding and we did not get the rooms that were guaranteed and all of our rooms required maintenance of one form or another. Fixtures were loose or broken and the bedding was minimal and in one room dirty. The water pressure in our sink was terrible and dressers used to house TV's at another time. We will never consider this hotel for any reason and warn all of our friends to stay away!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced in expensive new york. Clean, spacious rooms and coffee/tea making facilities. Fridge and microwave. Very good free shuttle to the subway. Walk to the subway is about 20 minutes. The irish pub nearby is excellent for food and is very friendly.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank ouiser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pay the extra $50 per night and stay in Manhattan, if feasible. I was put in a room that the hotel knew had a leaky roof - the forecast called for rain every day of my stay! Not surprisingly, it rained and my roof leaked (and soaked a pair of pants). In fairness, the hotel did let me switch rooms afterward and washed my pants. Still, it was an inconvenience I shouldn't have experienced. Also, the breakfast was poor and flies buzzed around the breakfast room. Don't recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Not dirty, not pristine. Very dated. Sign in the lobby says shuttle to the subway was every 30 minutes. It's really 30 minutes after you asked about it. That's when they called the Shuttle. I elected for the 20 min walk instead. I booked a king with a whirlpool. Whirlpool was just a bathtub. But on the upside, to make up for the some bad: check in time was 3pm. They let me check in very early. 10:30.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiet_Mike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall a good value for the buck. my room had minor issues, such as clogged bath tub drain, room lighting was a little dark, tv playback was not clear on both screen and sound. good breakfast. enjoyed the shuttle services.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a stop on our honeymoon and were completely dissatisfied. It is not close to anything, and the shuttle service is unreliable! The room was like a 70's adult movie set with ridiculous mirrors taking up entire walls! The hallways, lobby, and worst of all, the room all smelled of generations of smoke. Cost was low, but spend the extra and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
#22 of 33 in Long Island City
596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 33 in Long Island City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,820 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Address: 3317 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: $146 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing