We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place to stay if you are adventurous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice place to stay if you are adventurous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel with my friend and brother. we stayed in a large twin room with double beds for 5 nights.

The room was good, clean (except underneath the beds), had 2 fridges in it, a safe, plenty of storage, tea and coffee making facilities, which were in a tray in the bathroom, which we didn't mind, the room also had a tiny view of Manhattan(it was overlooking the back of the hotel).

The hotel offered a continental breakfast, served between 7 to 9 am, which was very early for us, but it was a good thing as it helped us to wake up early and take advantage of our short stay in New York. The breakfast consists of coffee, tea, bread, scrambled eggs, doughnuts, cheese, yoghurt, some fruits, butter, waffles and an appliance to make them, and apple and orange juice.

The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the nearest station, but the hotel offers a shuttle every half an hour, you can use it just once a day, but usually you have to wait longer as most people queue for it, so we were walking to the station most of the time. The nightmare was when there were weekend works at the nearest station and we had to walk all the way to a further one Queens Plaza, which was half an hour away. But once you make it to the station, Manhattan is only few minutes away :)

The area is really quiet, there is nothing to do around, except if you like visiting old cemeteries. The hotel itself faces one called Calvary Cemetery, but if you take a bus towards Brooklyn, you will be amazed by how many cemeteries you find!!! Each has a different architecture. But I found the one nearby the hotel the most special.

The hotel is an industrial area, we walked around in mornings, late nights... I would say that it is safe.

The staff at the hotel are friendly, the cleaners, the ones at the breakfast section...
The reception staff are ok, one of them had a strange vibe and asking her about something seemed like a disturbance to her, I don't remember her name but she was looked Asian (India, Bangladesh..).
When we checked in, the receptionist (a male) did not tell us anything about the shuttle or breakfast, we had to ask...

There is just one lift for the whole building, and it takes so long... We were in the 4th floor.

The breakfast area can be crowded, sometimes you have to wait for a table, but you can take your breakfast to your room.

Above all, I would recommend this place, and I would probably stay in it again if I am part of a group or driving. It is a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naela25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    91
    94
    35
    47
See reviews for
78
90
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I made a reservation and of course they want a credit card number to reserve it. 5 days later I opted to stay a another Best Western so I canceled the reservation.Well some one at the hotel decided to keep my credit card number and charged me for a room that was not even the date of my original reservation.BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL DO NOT GIVE ANY INFORMATION TO THEM. Also the maniger refused to talk to me or return my phone calls. My bank is curently investigating them for credit card fraud.

Room Tip: I dont know I never stayed there.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The name of the hotel is very adequte to the reality. You go to sleep and You see Empire State Building, when you get up in the morning and You see lower Manhatan.
It is real nice.
Transportation takes a bit from the Manhatan, but the metro "7" goes diractly from Times Square to the Greenpoint Avenue, and then you can take a bus /only 2 per hour/ or walk 15 min.
The hotel sees as it should be the 4star, but it is needed renovation.
Rooms are not perfect clean but is ok.
Breakfest is not bad compare to other places

Room Tip: ask form the manhatan view to the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is located in the suburbs of Long Island City and it is approximately 1 km far from the metro station, so if you come back late at night you have to take a taxi from the metro station to the hotel (and maybe you also have to tell the way to the taxi driver because he doesn't know where to drive you). The rooms are quite big, but not very clean, the beds are uncomfortable and there is always a smell of smoke in the room, in the elevator and in the hall. The wifi doesn't work when you're in the room, it only works in the hall and in the breakfast room. The breakfast in ok. The staff is not very kind. The good things are the view (if you have a room on the western side), from our room we could see the skyline of Manhattan and the free shuttle that, once a day, drives you to the metro station.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the third or fourth floor and on the western side so that you can enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the end of our 2,5 week long trip in USA. Actually considering the hotel name we expected a better one. We booked three double nonsmoking rooms in advance, but two of them we got with a strong smoker smell… our friends could change the rooms only next day.
Breakfast is not plenty but enough to start a day in NY. The hotel staff seemed lazy and didn’t show any effort to refill breakfast menu.
The hotel is approximately 15 min. on foot from the metro station. But if you will not walk you can order a transfer at reception. They do it for free. The hotel location is quite good, only 20 min. from Time Square (one change needed)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EglePov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baie comeau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

the front desk clerk was so rude my wife was almost scared, a tall black guy with no manners at all, room are terribles. just dont go there, spend m,ore and go in a better hotel. i hope best western will take care of the problems in this hotel or their name might suffer from it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pierrrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I thought the bulletproof glass surrounding the front desk said something about the neighborhood. But after dealing with the staff, it is more likely they have been shot at by guests, who were tired of being forced to deal with these jerks.
I have never seen, or even heard of, such a ridiculous staff in all my life. I swear I though I was on a hidden camera show, and someone was going to pop out with a microphone any minute, to tell me everything was a joke.
They lost our room reservation, and tried to double charge us fir a pos room that smelled like an ash tray, and broken dreams. I went back down to the lobby, and said we weren't going to stay in that room, and John at the desk said... "So what do you want?" I said, a refund, and a taxi. At 1am we had to book a new hotel using our phones. Take another $50 cab ride across town.
It eventually took over one month to get all our money back, because they tried to keep the money for the first night as a penalty... (for not having the room we reserved two months in advance.)
After 9 separate conversations, between three different staff members, over 37 days, who were all condescending, rude, arrogant, unhelpful, deaf, blind, and all seemed to have brain damage of some sort. (Manager Bibi, Manager Muhammad, Staff member John) I wanted to hang myself out of frustration. I couldn't care less about the money. I just didn't want one dime to go to that business.
I eventually got my money back, and although I am sure it wasn't the fault of Best Western the franchise, it is their responsibility to police and protect their brand, and at the very least, to know who they employ. And a room full of monkeys throwing poo and rotten fruit would make a more helpful and hospitable staff than those pricks. So I will never stay at a Best Western again, for as long as I live.
Thank you for reading, I hope you find a better hotel, that isn't this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliance4130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#23 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#30 of 31 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#28 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Property: City View Inn
Address: 3317 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing