We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City View Inn
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My friend and me spent a week in thia hotel over New Year's.
Altogether the hotel is adequate.
Arriving at 2am in the morning, we were greeted by the smell of marijuna in the lift and corridors. It was there for another day or two, but the smoking guest seems to have departed fairly soon.
Our room was great, it had a kingsize bed, fridge, large TV, however the furniture was old and outdated. The best, or oddest thing was the large Jacuzzi that was part of the bedroom, not the bathroom. Having seen another bedroom on our departure, I think the hotel has given us an upgrade.
Our room was a smoking room, even though I selected non-smoking when making the booking. As the smell was bearable, we did not complain to reception.
Reception was manned mostly by foreign staff who could not speak very good English.
Breakfast was great, the buffet offers a reasonable selection of fresh fruit and yoghurt, donuts, bagels, cereal, and also has a waffle maker. And, be warned that they only have throwaway styrofoam cups and plates, and plastic cutlery... Hard to comprehend for someone who comes from Europe, and something I have never encountered before!
The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to the nearest Metro station, which guests are allowed to use once a day. The system works well enough leaving the hotel in the morning, but coming back at night we once had to wait for 30 mins and make 3 phonecalls to the hotel to be picked up, only to be toldon the second call that the driver had already been there and must have picked up someone else, despite me giving the hotel my name and a short description of what I was wearing...
Oh, and you are not allowed to use the shuttle service anymore once you have checked out, so we had to lug our suitcases to the Metro station which took about 20 mins.

The location of the hotel is quite good, even though it is in Queens and not central Manhattan, it is quick to get to get there as the Metro runs frequently.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moggele160283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    95
    104
    37
    49
See reviews for
88
91
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here last weekend. We found it for 70 dollars plus tax, which makes it great. The hotel is a bit old, but clean, and I think they'are going to recarpet it. The rooms are big, plenty of hot water. The breakfast is pretty good for the price, they have cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, donuts, croissants, etc. They even had scrambled eggs. The nearest subway station is 40th street which is 15 minutes walking from the hotel, you can ask for the hotel trasnportation (only once a day) but it can take 15-20 minutes to arrive. You need to be careful, specially on weekends about the changes in the 7 line. There's free internet, free parking (they have plenty of space, I never found it full). There's a safety box but in the front desk, not in the room. Overall for the price, location so close to manhattan and the price makes it a very god alternative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyViajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Traveled Aug 2009 :The Hotel was barely ok. In the lobby i ran across hookers that were using the hotel for "business". The Front desk clerk was very univiting not good impression for our first time to NY. Parking is tight. The beds were ok the room decent a little bit aged but ok. The shuttle to and from the train station was fast and convenient. I wouldnt explore after dark to far from eye shot of hotel. I wouldnt stay again but for the price ehhh you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

As someone who has stayed in this hotel and now lives in the area, let me give you some background on what to expect. Other reviews have the actual hotel covered pretty well, but a few things need to be known about WHERE you're staying.

1. The hotel is in an industrial area. It is NOT a dangerous area by any stretch of the imagination. It sits between the neighborhoods of Sunnyside north of the expressway (ranked by New York Magazine as the 3rd best neighborhood in the city) and sparsely populated Blissville to the South. An 8 block trek to Queens BLVD will take you to the 7 train and a wide array of restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is surrounded by warehouses, a few older single family homes and a cemetery. The likelihood of being the victim of a crime here is nil.

2. You're not very close to anything. This hotel is cheap for a reason: you're a pretty decent hike from the subway and Sunnyside is really the only neighborhood to walk to. Though there is parking at the hotel, there is very little of it anywhere else you want to go to! If you're willing to hike a mile to the train, this is a great, cheap option. If not, stay somewhere closer to a train line. The nature of the Subway system makes some things look pretty deceiving. Staying in a hotel in much further out Forrest Hills that is right on a train line may end up getting you into Manhattan quicker.

If you're okay with a location a bit off the beaten path, this is a perfectly fine hotel at the best price you're going to get in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Atom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Tucked away from the noise levels of the manhattan yet giving you a beautiful view of the city,
I was there for a personal trip and everything was more or less convenient reaching manhattan invluding everything i.e from my room was 40 mins( officially a 20 min subway ride ) but then u wait for the train etc etc. They have a free shuttle to the subway which is very helpful .Although a few times I chose to walk the distance. The neighborhood isnt exactly picturesque with a cemetery and some old NY houses. But it's safe! Extremely safe! There is a starbucks and some fast food chains cose by , an old style 'market' with fruitselllers and internet cafes not so far off.

The breakfast is average , not out of the world but not bad either

Good bang for our buck!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'city view' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpackdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very reasonably priced and not that far from New York. The lobby is not very pretty, but everything is clean. I was surprised by my room. Nice size, clean, nice bathroom and a view of the New York skyline!!!! This place is very, very quiet, sleepquality is top!!!

Someone wrote "breakfast below average". This is just not true, what do people expect of a complimentary breakfast? There is coffe, tea, 2 different juices, jogurt, cereal, waffels (make your own, even whipped cream available), regular sized bagels (different varieties and bagel slicer), assortment of donuts, cream cheese, butter, jam, etc. Even scrambled eggs where available. This has got to be one of the better breakfast offerings I have seen.

This was also the only place so far, that actually uses tablecloths!!!! What I don't like about these breakfasts (any hotel / motel in US) is the abundant use of throw away articels. Paper plates, plastic forks etc. Hasn't the dishwasher made it to the US? What a waste of resources!!!!

The staff was helpfull, no complaints from my side.

There is a shuttle service to the next subway station, runs every half hour. They actually use a limo for this. The driver was also a very friendly and helpful person.

I spend 5 nights here and would stay again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaturdaySoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had points from a boutique hotel I stayed in from another country so I had this for free so I cannot complain about price--otherwise it seems to be a bit high for the value.
It is a family- run business which is really nice..decent free breakfast...a bit industrial location unless you walk the 10 blocks to the subway.
The "gym" is way too small (1 treadmill squeezed into a room) and the rooms have been updated.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americanincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
#22 of 33 in Long Island City
577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
998 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 33 in Long Island City
530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Property: City View Inn
Address: 3317 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing