We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“new york city vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Quality Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
California City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“new york city vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

had to book this room because it was a reasonable price from booking right in manhatton. it ended up being conveniently located to a subway station we took to manhatton everyday. the room was clean and the service was good. the breakfast was good. the only thing about this hotel is it is near subway tracks so if your a light sleeper this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank raymazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    196
    61
    32
    11
See reviews for
74
140
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days in April and May 2014. The hotel is what you can expect for the pretty cheap rates (we paid $84 per night), which isn't to say it was bad.

Pros
+ REALLY close to several subway stations (N and Q trains right around the corner, 7, E, M and R trains within 500 meters), so you can used almost any Queens-bound train from and to Manhattan
+ Rooms are clean and spacious enough
+ Staff is very friendly
+ free Wi-Fi (which is generally quite good but has some hiccups when it is really slow)

Cons
- REALLY close to the subway, like right outside the window. If you are a light sleeper, this will be a problem for you
- Breakfast is subpar. It's typically American but only few items and no real selection
- staff is a bit clueless. In our room we had a problem with the Sharp Aquos TV which displayed closed captions (subtitles) for every show. We asked the staff how to turn it off but the guy they sent had no idea.I had to find the solution on the web myself (if this happens to you: request the original remote, it has a hidden compartment at the bottom with a CC button to turn them on and off)

The area looks like a rundown neighborhood but it's actually pretty okay, no problem walking the streets at night or anything.

We would probably stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Staff was nice, breakfast was pretty good (could have used bacon though), and the room was very nice and clean - only serious complaint was a major lack of hot water. Location was pretty convenient for me since I was using the 39th Av subway a lot. Stay off the local Chinese place though - not so impressive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPE_nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at the Quality Inn for two nights during the weekend and although I had my doubts about this place because of other reviews (such as noise), I was steered wrong. This hotel is right off of 39th Av subway station, literally a block or two away. Even at night I felt comfortable enough to walk to the hotel and from the station. To avoid the high prices of downtown NYC, look out in the suburbs that are subway accessible, such as this hotel in Long Island City (aka Queens).

This hotel was really clean and well kept. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch as well!

The downside was the lack of information by staff, I was simply checked in and got my credit card swiped and told to go to my room, not much more. I wish I would have received some info about like whats around the hotel, where to go, what to do, I had to find this in a drawer that had the info (which I was not told about). The cleaning was unannounced and someone just showed up at the door to do it. But besides that, it was a great stay and I definitely recommend the pizzeria next door!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Terp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel for the money.Clean and comfortable bed.Staff very nice.Close to Subway, only a 10 minutes ride to midtown Manhattan.Will definitely return.
There is no store or restaurant close to the hotel.There is a pizzeria right next to it.The hotel is located in an industrial area but I noticed many other hotels in the vicinity.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank nazibkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Quality Inn LIC is located on a block that can best be described as gritty and industrial. That being said, it is perfectly located for travel to New York City. Less than 2 blocks from the subway (Q & N lines) and only 2 stops to Lexington Avenue and 59th Street in Manhattan(Bloomingdales plus so much more), the Quality Inn presents itself as a viable alternative to NYC hotels at a fraction of the price. What I paid for four nights (including tax) is a normal price for one night in Manhattan. While not luxurious by any means, this hotel is clean and well kept. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The room I was assigned had no view (not a big deal), but was clean and comfortable. It took less than 15 minutes between walking and the actual commute to get to midtown Manhattan. You would be hard pressed to find a more convenient hotel for the price and convenience. Even the free morning breakfast is decent! While this may not have deserved the full 4 out of 5 rating, Trip Advisor has no "half" ratings for the 3 1/2 it truly deserved

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roccoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Property: Quality Inn Long Island City
Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing