We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    203
    62
    32
    12
See reviews for
78
146
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
791 reviews
451 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 906 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is perfectly described in the reviews -- and it's current 3 1/2 star rating is very accurate. I like the place. I like staying in Long Island City -- I think more visitors to NYC should consider it, since it's SO convenient to Midtown and so much cheaper. I also think there are better motels in LIC, and you should probably only pick this one if it's cheaper than the other ones which are rated 3 1/2 stars and better.

Some new observations (I won't repeat the recent comments):

Free parking is easy on the street in front of the hotel. I probably wouldn't park an expensive car, it's pretty lonely out there, but any normal car should be fine. Most travelers, of course, will not have cars, and this hotel is super-convenient for subway access.

The free breakfast is standard-issue Choice Hotel USA quality. Not sure how many travelers stay in USA Choice Hotels, but if you have, you'll recognize the breakfast. It's fine but not really good. On the negative side, the powdered eggs were cold. On the positive side, the bagels and donuts were bought fresh from local vendors, so significantly better than the processed, mass-produced junky breads usually available in a Choice Hotel.

Train noise is weird. Annoying -- especially since the rest of the neighborhood is so quiet. But not noisy enough to keep us from falling asleep, or waking us up. The rooms also didn't seem to have any views of Manhattan. I've stayed in other LIC hotels that had wonderful views. Hotel had some other strange noises, like from the heater and the plumbing. Again, annoying, but not very bothersome. Rooms are small, but bigger than you usually get at similar hotels in Manhattan. Overall, a 3-star hotel that you could easily stay in, but probably not one to particularly prefer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

on a tight budget but want to visit nyc? stay in long island city. it's a short distance to manhattan and the hotels are much cheaper. now, this is an industrial area and the hotel is nothing special. but the hotel was clean and served its purpose- a decent place to rest our head and shower. breakfast is included but, unsurprisingly, was pretty bad. hey, you get what you pay for. there's street parking so you save on parking too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melindamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This remains a solid choice for a Long Island City hotel. Close to the subway and the rooms are clean comfortable and affordable.

Breakfast is decent too, except for the odd fellow who is in charge of maintaining it. I grew up in Brooklyn so I understand that friendliness isn't as instinctive in New York City as in other places. But even by New York standards, this young man is unfriendly. He never ever smiles, never says "hello" or "good morning" but instead stands around, often in the way, and stares at the guests eating breakfast. Needless to say, this makes one uncomfortable and begs the question as to why someone with no personality whatsoever is in the hospitality business. He doesn't wear a uniform as he should, nor does he display a name badge. But in fairness, he does a decent job of maintaining the buffet so if you are not bothered by his gaze, you'll be satisfied with the breakfast. And given the location and cleanliness of this hotel, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here again last week and am still happy with it. The breakfast has been noticeably improved--they now have scrambled eggs and a waffle maker. Some people might find the location to be noisy because of the elevated trains, but it didn't really bother me. I like the proximity to the subway and came back to Long Island City from Manhattan two or three times each day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oboegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Staying here was a little concern of mine since we have never been in NY before and this hotel was very reasonable compared to the rest.

Getting to the hotel was hectic since we drove to the city and TRAFFIC is CRAZY on a Friday afternoon. We are very thankful that we were able to park the car and not use it until we left. Using the Metro on 39th was a wonderful help. It was a bit confussing at times but since we did not have to drive in that mess we figured it out quickly.

We stayed in room 203 and there is construction across the street. Since we were there Friday afternoon till Sunday morning it was not a problem for us. The room had a king size bed that was comfortable but it was small. We were not in it that much anyway.

The Q and N train that is not far from the room was not a problem either with noise. We went to see Christmas Spectacular at Radio City music hall and returned back at the hotel after 11pm. We felt safe as we walked the 1 block to the hotel. It is always a good idea to keep aware of your surroundings no matter where you are.

Breakfast was good with waffles, fruit, cereal, eggs, and danish. Wish they had two waffle makers since it takes a few minutes and you don't want to wait in line for it.

Everyone was a great help with the metro and anything that we asked for. I would deffently stay here again if we were to come back again.

I

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommafox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The essence of this hotel is VFM (value for money) and proximity to Metro stations ( you can see the hotel from metro station). This hotel is located in Long island, but I could hardly feel the difference (other than manhattan skyline) as the 2 metro stations were so close, just a block away. Within 15 minutes you can reach times square. Its mindless to pay double the price in Manhattan for pigeon hole rooms, when you have to use the same metro to commute elsewhere.

The rooms are fairly spacious and clean. The beds are comfy and wifi signal strong. The room has all the essential amenities for guests. The staff was extremely helpful specially the girls at reception, Cyre and Nabila. Who gave good tourist tips and info about the city. The hotel is very safe and the surrounding area are okay to walk at night, with moderate precaution to be kept by tourist.

If someone is staying for more than 3 days, then I would recommend traveller to buy one week metro card for $ 30. Which allows you unlimited travel through out the metro trains/bus for one week. Its very economical than spending $2.50 for each ride. In fact you can use the same card for commuting to JFK or LGA airports.

You can order Chinese food/Italian Pizza (printed menus available at reception) and they provide you free delivery for any order above $ 6. Thus you don't need to venture out at night in search of food.

Please be prepared the breakfast consist of wafers, fruits, bread, donuts and other bakery stuff and its available only till 9.30 am. Its okay if you are staying in a good budget hotel in NYC.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a bang for the buck. Sure will re-stay on my future visit to big apple.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arayman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Comfort Inn
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Quality Inn Woodside
#1 of 3 in Woodside
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#346 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Property: Quality Inn Long Island City
Address: 3003 40th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing