We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC stay, so economical !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NYC stay, so economical !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The essence of this hotel is VFM (value for money) and proximity to Metro stations ( you can see the hotel from metro station). This hotel is located in Long island, but I could hardly feel the difference (other than manhattan skyline) as the 2 metro stations were so close, just a block away. Within 15 minutes you can reach times square. Its mindless to pay double the price in Manhattan for pigeon hole rooms, when you have to use the same metro to commute elsewhere.

The rooms are fairly spacious and clean. The beds are comfy and wifi signal strong. The room has all the essential amenities for guests. The staff was extremely helpful specially the girls at reception, Cyre and Nabila. Who gave good tourist tips and info about the city. The hotel is very safe and the surrounding area are okay to walk at night, with moderate precaution to be kept by tourist.

If someone is staying for more than 3 days, then I would recommend traveller to buy one week metro card for $ 30. Which allows you unlimited travel through out the metro trains/bus for one week. Its very economical than spending $2.50 for each ride. In fact you can use the same card for commuting to JFK or LGA airports.

You can order Chinese food/Italian Pizza (printed menus available at reception) and they provide you free delivery for any order above $ 6. Thus you don't need to venture out at night in search of food.

Please be prepared the breakfast consist of wafers, fruits, bread, donuts and other bakery stuff and its available only till 9.30 am. Its okay if you are staying in a good budget hotel in NYC.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a bang for the buck. Sure will re-stay on my future visit to big apple.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arayman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    197
    61
    32
    11
See reviews for
75
140
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a large group of friends. It was perfectly located for us -- about a mile from where we had to go every day -- and the subway was just around the corner. The room was spacious, especially for NYC, and the beds were comfortable. Wifi worked great. There isn't much in the way of eating in the immediate surroundings, minus a few hotel restaurants, but that wasn't a problem for us. It's a basic hotel with few frills, but definitely enough comforts. The price was also hard to beat for being so close to the city. Will definitely stay here again if we need to be in LIC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lomigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed for one night in late October. I made my reservation through Choice Hotels and took advantage of a 30% fall discount. Including taxes and fees, the total was slightly more than $115/night (advanced booking, non-refundable rate ~ $95 without taxes/fees). The hotel is just 2 blocks from the Queen's Plaza subway stop. This stop has many subway & elevated train options to Manhattan as well as trains towards JFK & LGA airports. Queen's Plaza is the 1st stop for most Queen's bound trains leaving Manhattan. Travel to JFK was ~ 45 min to 1hr. Travel to Manhattan is 15 min. The desk clerks were pleasant and helpful. I arrived early and left late, so on both days they held my bag behind the desk whilst I tripped around Manhattan. The staff did have a bit of an New Yorker attitude/accent, but certainly not rude. (If you want to experience East Coast rudeness - try Durgin Park restaurant in Boston). In my experience, they were more pleasant than a "typical" New Yorker. My first floor room was fairly standard. It was clean with a good sized LCD TV (30-40in?), hot shower, small wardrobe for a closet. They had fruit (bananas/apples) and coffee available 24/7 and breakfast 6:30 to 9:30A. Breakfast included waffles (yummy!), scrambled eggs, cereal, pastries, donuts, coffee, milk & juice. At a discounted rate, I found this hotel to be a great bargain that was very convenient to the subway and Manhattan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Whatever ever happened to great customer service? I been working in customer service for over 6 years and I have never met somebody so rude and obnoxious a day in my life until I met the front desk clerk. I definitely WONT be staying there again. Remember you are the first and last face a guest sees so be more classy and not so trashy. If that didn't put icing on the cake I wrote a letter to the manager I even addressed how rude she was and he didn't do anything come to find out she's also a butt kisser. Again I will never be staying here again, Just so you all know all these reviews that are in the excellent range were made up by the manager and his Indian decent family. Have a great day and find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: None they shouldn't even stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Savannah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good location near by metro 39 st, 20 min from Manhattan.
average breakfast with all the shugar and fat as usual in US.
Staff tried to charge me twice for additional 3 days of staying with no reason.
Room was underground with dirty towels and holes in duvet

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Property: Quality Inn Long Island City
Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing