We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not what I expected from Choice Group” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected from Choice Group”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in a room with queen bed for three days. It was tiny. The bathroom was fine. The TV was bad with poor quality video and the remote did not work. AC worked fine. Breakfast was good enough for us with waffles, donuts, bread, croissants, flavored yogurt, coffee, cereal, oats and bananas. Room service was done promptly everyday and it was good to see everything neat after we returned back from a tiring day of sightseeing. The outside was extremely noisy because of the area being industrial and having train stations. A very good advantage of this hotel is it's a very convenient location to two subway stations, 39 Ave and Queens plaza, the former being just a min walk away and the latter would take less than 5 mins. But the area can get quite creepy looking in the after hours with no activity. The staff were decent. Now comes the WORST part for a few, which is their one and only one elevator being out of service for two of the three days we stayed there. And having our room on the 5th floor was not good. However we dint complain much about it as we dint mind walking the stairs. Even on the one day when it worked fine, it was damn slow and the wait was irritating. I think there is a Holiday Inn very close to this hotel and one more of the Marriot chain. I'm not sure how they would be but they definitely have better reviews than this hotel. A max of a one day trip to this hotel can be fine when there are no other hotels available, but no more. I had opted for this hotel as it was not as expensive as the ones in the city and it's proximity to the train station, from where Times Square is just a 20 mins ride.I will not stay here again. A board inside the hotel said this hotel was independently managed by someone else and dint really look like it was a choice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sowmi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    222
    68
    33
    13
See reviews for
86
170
51
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pros :- Next to the subway station
3 stop away from Times Square
Budget hotel in NY city
Cons :-Rooms are really small. Literally the room is ending from where it is starting
Breakfast would be improved by providing some hot breakfast
Wanted to checked in early. But they said there is no room available and previous night guest has
Not checked out. But when I ready to $30 for early check in fees they room was available with in minutes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhabani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I understand that NYC is a pretty expensive place but the amount we spent to stay for 4 nights at this hotel we expected a little more.
The rooms were small and no place was left after we have kept our 2 bags.
Breakfast should be better with some hot food like eggs omelets etc.
Location was an advantage just 5 stops away from Manhattan which was the only advantage.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SailiJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I liked this place:
- Has a private bathroom (and a bath tub + hot water :)
- Budget friendly
- Breakfast spread (not luxurious but has yoghurt, cornflakes, waffles, croissants and bakery products, fruits, juice- vegetarian spread in all)
- Location (close to 39 avenue on N - 1 block as well as Queens Plaza on R - 3 blocks under the bridge). It was 15 - 20 mins away
- professional and helpful staff
- utlities for guest within the hotel (iron, tea maker and tea and coffee puches, mini fridge, folding table, executive chair and desk, vending machine for late night hunger pangs)

Room Tip: USe the subway to get there - it is easy(unless u have heavy luggage around) - a great set of restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginsnroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Parking lot is inadequate. OK if you get to and from hotel via cab/limo. If you drive they usually fill up their tiny lot fast. Rooms are fine. Noise from hallway can be annoying. Since there are few rooms per floor it is not too loud too often. Free breakfast is fair. No hot waffle machine. Fairly tasteless buns. Coffee fair. Staff is friendly in spite of all the shortcomings. We had no choice to stay due to a death in the family so we had to stay here a few nights for the wake/funeral. Main road outside is under repair for a good stretch of the way, not sure when paving will be finished. I use the Choice Hotel chain a lot (Comfort Inn) so I don't know if Quality Inn caters to folks with requirements less than what I get at Comfort Inns.

Room Tip: Go to the higher floor. The elevator is vey slow but at least you will be above the lobby/parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and I have been impressed. Well I have just stayed there for five nights and I have to report that the hotels even better. Last time I gave it four stars but this time FIVE stars.
Checking in was easy and the receptionist very very friendly and informative. The lift is quick and once in the room I did a detailed check for bed bugs. I can state that there was no sign of any bed bugs. The room was very clean and it was cleaned every day and sheets changed every day and I am glad to report that this happened later in the day and not early in the morning which often disturbs guests.
A plasma screen along with plenty of cupboard space and even two telephones in the room. A better quality swivel chair up against a desk. Now a carpet is a dead giveaway if a hotel is clean or not. Well the carpet in my room was clean. The bathroom was what was expected. The shower was powerful. A powerful hairdryer was in the bathroom. ironing board with iron for those last minute necessary jobs. There was a box of tissues and this also let's hotels down when the box becomes empty. In most cases you would have to phone reception and request some more tissues. The cleaners did their job and that phone call was not necessary.
Breakfast in NYC is not cheap so when you are offered a free breakfast you think this will be pretty poor. Not at this hotel because the free breakfast was of good variety, fruit, donuts, toast, cereal, juices, croissants, waffles and the coffee machine is pretty good too.
Why stay in overpriced Manhattan when you can get the N or Q subway train right into Manhattan and even Times Square within five stops. When you have had enough of the crowds just get the N train back to more peaceful Long Island and the sanctuary of this very very good hotel.
Now people that have read my reviews in the past will know I do not give very good to excellent reviews that often.
A mention has to be given to the staff of this hotel, friendly? Yes. Informative? Yes. Above all the atmosphere was friendly and safe in a very safe area.
The only down side was a very arrogant German guest who took my toast out of the toaster and dumped on a plate with her fingers without even asking anyone and there was no one waiting. This of course does not reflect on a very very good hotel. Highly Recommended.
Why do I think it deserved a five star...The breakfast is even better!
Final point get a metrocard because the subway is a four minute walk from the hotel and the best deal is $31 when purchased from the subway station and this will last you 7 days on all subway and buses within the NYC transit area for as many rides as you want. Nearest subway 39Av and use mainly the N train.

Room Tip: Just don't bother booking through a third party. Deal direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reviewerUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#22 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#8 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
0.7 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Property: Quality Inn Long Island City
Address: 3003 40th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing