We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to have this hotel in NY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice to have this hotel in NY”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pros :- Next to the subway station
3 stop away from Times Square
Budget hotel in NY city
Cons :-Rooms are really small. Literally the room is ending from where it is starting
Breakfast would be improved by providing some hot breakfast
Wanted to checked in early. But they said there is no room available and previous night guest has
Not checked out. But when I ready to $30 for early check in fees they room was available with in minutes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhabani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    223
    68
    33
    13
See reviews for
87
171
51
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I understand that NYC is a pretty expensive place but the amount we spent to stay for 4 nights at this hotel we expected a little more.
The rooms were small and no place was left after we have kept our 2 bags.
Breakfast should be better with some hot food like eggs omelets etc.
Location was an advantage just 5 stops away from Manhattan which was the only advantage.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SailiJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I liked this place:
- Has a private bathroom (and a bath tub + hot water :)
- Budget friendly
- Breakfast spread (not luxurious but has yoghurt, cornflakes, waffles, croissants and bakery products, fruits, juice- vegetarian spread in all)
- Location (close to 39 avenue on N - 1 block as well as Queens Plaza on R - 3 blocks under the bridge). It was 15 - 20 mins away
- professional and helpful staff
- utlities for guest within the hotel (iron, tea maker and tea and coffee puches, mini fridge, folding table, executive chair and desk, vending machine for late night hunger pangs)

Room Tip: USe the subway to get there - it is easy(unless u have heavy luggage around) - a great set of restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginsnroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Parking lot is inadequate. OK if you get to and from hotel via cab/limo. If you drive they usually fill up their tiny lot fast. Rooms are fine. Noise from hallway can be annoying. Since there are few rooms per floor it is not too loud too often. Free breakfast is fair. No hot waffle machine. Fairly tasteless buns. Coffee fair. Staff is friendly in spite of all the shortcomings. We had no choice to stay due to a death in the family so we had to stay here a few nights for the wake/funeral. Main road outside is under repair for a good stretch of the way, not sure when paving will be finished. I use the Choice Hotel chain a lot (Comfort Inn) so I don't know if Quality Inn caters to folks with requirements less than what I get at Comfort Inns.

Room Tip: Go to the higher floor. The elevator is vey slow but at least you will be above the lobby/parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and I have been impressed. Well I have just stayed there for five nights and I have to report that the hotels even better. Last time I gave it four stars but this time FIVE stars.
Checking in was easy and the receptionist very very friendly and informative. The lift is quick and once in the room I did a detailed check for bed bugs. I can state that there was no sign of any bed bugs. The room was very clean and it was cleaned every day and sheets changed every day and I am glad to report that this happened later in the day and not early in the morning which often disturbs guests.
A plasma screen along with plenty of cupboard space and even two telephones in the room. A better quality swivel chair up against a desk. Now a carpet is a dead giveaway if a hotel is clean or not. Well the carpet in my room was clean. The bathroom was what was expected. The shower was powerful. A powerful hairdryer was in the bathroom. ironing board with iron for those last minute necessary jobs. There was a box of tissues and this also let's hotels down when the box becomes empty. In most cases you would have to phone reception and request some more tissues. The cleaners did their job and that phone call was not necessary.
Breakfast in NYC is not cheap so when you are offered a free breakfast you think this will be pretty poor. Not at this hotel because the free breakfast was of good variety, fruit, donuts, toast, cereal, juices, croissants, waffles and the coffee machine is pretty good too.
Why stay in overpriced Manhattan when you can get the N or Q subway train right into Manhattan and even Times Square within five stops. When you have had enough of the crowds just get the N train back to more peaceful Long Island and the sanctuary of this very very good hotel.
Now people that have read my reviews in the past will know I do not give very good to excellent reviews that often.
A mention has to be given to the staff of this hotel, friendly? Yes. Informative? Yes. Above all the atmosphere was friendly and safe in a very safe area.
The only down side was a very arrogant German guest who took my toast out of the toaster and dumped on a plate with her fingers without even asking anyone and there was no one waiting. This of course does not reflect on a very very good hotel. Highly Recommended.
Why do I think it deserved a five star...The breakfast is even better!
Final point get a metrocard because the subway is a four minute walk from the hotel and the best deal is $31 when purchased from the subway station and this will last you 7 days on all subway and buses within the NYC transit area for as many rides as you want. Nearest subway 39Av and use mainly the N train.

Room Tip: Just don't bother booking through a third party. Deal direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reviewerUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Let's not kid ourselves, this is not a 4 star hotel with lots of frills. It is a fine choice for a clean, affordable room, near to Manhattan, with the added bonus of free street parking. Access to Manhattan is very easy by car or by subway. Having the opportunity to park your car on the street overnight for free is a big bonus in NYC, too.
My brief stay at the Quality Inn was perfect for my needs. Comparable rooms in Manhattan would easily be $100 more per night plus having to pay a handsome premium for parking. I was happy to have the option to stay in Long Island City and save the $$$. After being greeted by a friendly staff at check-in, my room was not fancy but clean & above expectations. The elevator and hallway had a few scuffs and signs of wear, but my 6th floor room had a comfortable bed, plenty of room to unpack and enjoy the view of the many elevated trains passing nearby. Noise was not an issue for my sleep, but I could certainly hear the sounds from the outside in my hotel room.
The neighborhood is very busy. This hotel is very near the entrance to the 59th Street bridge to Manhattan, so there's lots of vehicular traffic, plus there's several schools, a church & other hotels plus all the subway passengers heading to and from the station nearby. Personally, I like being in an active area. I never felt uncomfortable walking around in the neighborhood at any hour of the day or night.
If you need to stay in NYC on a budget, you'd be happy choosing this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#23 of 31 in Long Island City
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Property: Quality Inn Long Island City
Address: 3003 40th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing