We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
windsor
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I chose this motel for its location and value for money based on other people's reviews. It was in a very convenient location for getting the train into Manhattan for sightseeing each day. The free breakfast was a bonus as it set us up for the day, there was enough choice with bagels, muffins, cereal, toast,fruit etc. I would recommend this motel if you want good value, which this is for a NewYork hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsormiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    197
    61
    32
    11
See reviews for
75
140
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went here for Gay Pride. For the price we paid (about $120 per night), we thought it was "quality." Everything was basic, but clean and comfy. The neighborhood was definitely safe, even though it was a bit gloomy with the old buildings. At night it was quiet. Easy, quick access to public transportation. Customer service was nice enough, didn't encounter any issue.

Just picture that you are staying in a 3-4 star hotel, minus the fanciness (e.g. flat screen tv) and size (walking space was 2-person wide). Everything else was great! If you are looking for a safe, clean and relatively inexpensive place to stay, then this is your best bet. Only con is that it's a big far away from the heart of NYC; expect 25-35 min of public transportation each way. BTW, the diner nearby is delicious and serves an awesome amount of food for the price!

Room Tip: Didn't have any issues with the lower-level room (below ground). May actually help with the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n89thanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I would recommend this hotel highly,its priced affordable ,close to all modes of commutes in to the city.Its very clean and a continental breakfest is served.But most of all they go out of the way to make each person who enters the door to feel like a guest in their home and they attend to your every need.This staff and management are all about the guest from the smiles to there helpfulness.I myself had a chance to experience one of the nicest gestures from this team.They made a rather sad day for me to one of the nicest gestures I could have received and you dont find that just any where.So if your looking to find a great hotel and feel as if you arrived home check this hotel out ,you will be pleased and save on money as well.Additionally the rooms are large and and very comfortable as well,5 stars is my review.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different floors and they all were perfect and if you wanted anything the staff woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewels1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you have stayed at other Quality Inns you will find this one very similar. Actually, I found it better than most Quality Inns - it's a newer property, breakfast is above average, and the staff is more professional. You are in NYC, though so the rooms are smaller (though surprisingly big), the rates are higher (of course), the staff is more curt (but professional), and there is train noise (but minor, no worse than a highway). Our room also had some other minor issues, but fewer than most Quality Inns. Location is very convenient to Manhattan and much cheaper. You are very close to 5 subway lines and not far from a 6th so it's easy to go anywhere - the subway stops are much closer to the hotel than the MTA map would suggest (get a Queens bus map to see for yourself). Traveler tip: take the NQ line one stop north to 36th Ave for some great South American restaurants (on the east of the line) and Indian restaurants (on the west side of the line)!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the 100s - they are in the cellar or too close to most vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red10dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights on my recent trip to New York and I booked it on the strength of the mostly positive reviews about the value for being so close to Manhattan and I wasn't disappointed!

Flew in to LaGuardia and after transferring to the subway it was a simple trip down the 7 line with the hotel less than ten minutes' walk from Queensboro Plaza station. There were two other subway stations in the vicinity, 39th Avenue and Queens Plaza, so transport links were great. It took under ten minutes by subway to Times Square at the end of 7, and was a (very!) brisk 35 minute walk straight to Central Park over the Queensboro Bridge as I did that one morning.

Room was spacious and clean, towels were plentiful and it was equipped with a fridge and a safe. Breakfast was provided each morning, a continental style with pastries, croissants, bread, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee and a large selection of glazed and unglazed donuts. The area the hotel is located in isn't particularly nice nor interesting but I felt perfectly safe. There are a few shops on Queens Plaza such as Subway, Dunkin Donuts, a couple of other fast food places, some banks and some convenience stores so handy if you fancy a snack on the way to the subway.

I would definitely recommend this place to others travelling to NYC and who are put off by the sky-high Manhattan hotel prices. For the sake of a short subway ride you can save $$$$ at this great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finnsnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are travelling on a budget, this is a hotel worth looking fore. Stayed there 10 nights. VERY clean, very helpfull staff, overall no problems at all. We were worried about the transport to Manhattan, but the subway is just around the corner.

The area around the hotel was not supernice, but we allways felt safe and secure. Although, if you want to party late, i would recomend to take a cab to the hotel.

So overall, looking for a clean and "cheap" place to stay, this is a good choise!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Property: Quality Inn Long Island City
Address: 3003 40th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing