We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Decent Hotel, close to downtown NYC, but strange area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Chicago
1 review
“Decent Hotel, close to downtown NYC, but strange area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I got a good price on this hotel compared to any hotels in Manhattan and overall I was pleased with it. It seemed fairly clean and not too outdated. The breakfast was a nice bonus and free WSJ. It is only about 2 blocks from the 1 train stop and then maybe a 10 - 15 minute ride into Manhattan. So it is a fairly convenient location and certainly more affordable than Manhattan hotels but just be advised that there is nothing around the hotel. There are a couple of other hotels in the area, but I think this area of Long Island is undergoing a renovation and they are building parks and new buildings but for now it is basically parking lots and some empty buildings. I didn't walk around the area a lot except to and from the train stop, but the only other thing I saw to eat/drink was a small diner. So don't expect to find a Starbucks on the corner right now but if you want to only use this hotel as a sleeping spot at night I think it would be fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverviolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    196
    61
    32
    11
See reviews for
74
140
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Pros: Room is decent sized for a couple and clean.

Cons: The rooms have satellite tv and it happened to rain the days we stayed and guess what? The tv stopped working. Great.

It was late and time for bed. I turned off the tv and there is this bright blue light at the corner of the tv. It was unbearable to sleep when you can see the bright shining light with your eyes closed. So my boyfriend had to put a sticker on the light just to sleep because there is no way of unplugging the tv. Nice.

We were on the 3rd floor. Each morning you can hear loud noises from each room door closing and people talking. Very clearly. Wonderful.

Breakfast. Oh breakfast! I'm not expecting pancakes and scrambled eggs and bacon but all they had was 3 kinds of cereal, coffee, apple/orange juice, bagels, donuts, croissants, petite pastries, & toast. Breakfast ends at 9am and there's an employee that is standing there waiting for 9am so that he can rush and take everything away. There were limited seating and whatever that was left over, the guests had no choice but to take it.

Staff. They were not customer oriented. How can I help you? Checking in? Can I get your credit card and ID? Here are your keys, your room is on the 3rd floor. Goodbye.
o_O that's it? okay...whatever, you have a nice day too -_-

Room Tip: If you're looking to stay at a fairly decent room on a budget, this might be the one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and efficient. The location is very convenient to get on the sub-way. The price was excellent! The room had a hair dryer, small refrigerator and coffee maker.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison_MNBilliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

What is the definition of hotel quality ? (In no particular order)
1. Fresh Towels
2. Fresh Blankets
3. Clean Room
4. Clean Shower
5. Hot Water
6. A Working AC/Heating Unit
7. Clean walls/ceiling
8, A Comfortable Bed

What is the definition of a lack of quality at a hotel?
The Quality Inn in LIC

I just returned from a business conference in which I stayed at the QI and I am so glad to be home. Our reservation was booked ahead of time at $150/night. Interestingly enough their website price is $100/night and they do not honor or meet their own website price. The manager did give us a AAA discount for 10% off. More importantly, the room I stayed in had stains on the ceiling, broken lamps, broken wall outlet plates, dirty carpet, ripped bed sheets, an uncomfortable bed which can only be compared to a hospital-type bed, dirty tub floor, old dirty towels, a shower in which it takes 2-4 minutes for hot water to run, and an air conditioning/heating unit that takes an hour or so to kick in. Consequently, I would suggest to run, not walk, away from this hotel. I highly suggested to my company, whose training facility is right across the street, to not continue to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank CraignKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My son booked this hotel after we researched "hundreds" of them. I wasn't too sure about it as it looked like it wasn't in a desirable neighborhood. When we arrived it was great for the price. We never "felt" like we were in a bad area. The hotel was clean and service was friendly. It definitely served its purpose as we were only in the room to sleep. Downside was it was very noisy. Other than that it was great

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

not in the nicest area but clean and pleasant hotel a couple of subway stops from manhatten. breakfast is fine though not much in the way of seating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perdidostreetstation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We arrived hours before check in and were able to leave our suitcases here with no problems. The front desk guy was nice but gave bad directions to manhattan. No problems checking in. Room was decent size and clean, no bed bugs! Front desk girl in evening gave great directions and we found the subway 2 blocks away that will get you to many tourist destinations with no problem. Although we were nervous about neighborhood late at night, had no problems. When we returned to our room at 3:00 pm the second day the room had not been cleaned. When we asked for more towels at the front desk the man was very rude and said he didnt have any, and to go get some off the housekeeping cart on the
5th floor.
Other then the staff not being so friendly this hotel was great for the price and the location to the subway!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Property: Quality Inn Long Island City
Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing