We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNDERWHELMING EXPERIENCE”
Review of M Wells

M Wells
Price range: $16 - $106
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A world-class neighborhood steakhouse that leans left-of-center and meets most desires with a grand raw bar, grass-fed and heritage meats, peak produce and a tank of live Long Island trout. Plus cakes, homemade ice creams and classy desserts, stellar spirits and cellar of special wines. A mom-and-pop restaurant with a flare and a focus on taking good care of everyone.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

I thought food was less than ok specially for the price and the excellent reviews i read.
the porterhouse was very small but the meal as whole was tasty. The appetizers were tasty but small and prize. I though the service was poor as well. The waiter forgot our drinks and he also had little knowledge on the menu. We went on a summer Friday night and there were plenty of tables available.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank helencR5655QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 85 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

When we travel from Texas to visit our daughter in Long Island City, we never fail to walk a few blocks to M Wells to savor it's excellent offerings. On our last trip we went there twice in 5 days. Whether it's a romantic dinner for the two of us, or a family meal including our daughter's 5 month old twins, the staff is very accommodating and attentive. It's becoming a family tradition! Manager Aaron Weeks does an impressive job. Catherine & Bob E.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

$45 for a la carte' strip steak, that was < 6 oz and quite fatty. Had asparagus that was swimming in salty soup. "Naked" oysters were placed on crackers with awful dressing. Waiter was un-attentative and quoted no tip, but noted "hospitality" charge.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erickU60PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

The menu at M. Wells. Steakhouse. is hardly what you would expect. By my count, there were only 2 steak dishes on the menu, and then there was duck, scallops, trout, chicken, pork chops (on special), and a few other items. The decor is welcoming and interesting, with an open kitchen to watch from most of the tables. The food and ingredients were high quality, and locally sourced, with the caveat that the chef on the night we were there was pretty heavy-handed with the salt. The result was that my duck leg and my husband's pig's head (yes, another option), both tasted quite similar, largely due to the salt content. Desserts were excellent, and the service was very good, with knowledegable and helpful waiters.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

located in a quite street, great atmosphere in an old garage. great and professional staff. the food is delicious and well presentated. good wine list. the prices are high but it's totally worth it.

Date of visit: April 2016
2  Thank dimitrovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Wells also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to M Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.