We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, not much else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

To keep it short...no high speed Internet, no waffle station or muffins at breakfast (btw Sunny Delight does not qualify as juice). Pluses are that it was quiet and conveniently located 3 blocks from the subway and from there just 7 stops from midtown Manhattan. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mleitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    314
    178
    71
    67
See reviews for
235
234
52
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friends and I were looking for an affordable yet decent option for New York City. We knew we would have to stay outside of the city. This hotel is right off the 7 train which brings you right into Times Square so it is very convenient. The hotel is older and it shows a little, however it was still a decent place to stay. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and they served breakfast in the morning (NY bagels mmm)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When this hotel first opened in Sunnyside Queens, I was ecstatic! Nice clean place, 10 minutes from the city, and a cheap and clean alternative for my friends to stay without breaking the bank…and Jacuzzi tubs, did I mention Jacuzzi tubs???

With each passing year, the cleaning staff gets sloppier; the front desk gets more disinterested in the guests, the maintenance crews allow more and more levels of disrepair in the rooms.

They’ve got a great location, and the guests be dammed.

Can it be this bad you ask? An example if I may:
Rented one of the Jacuzzi suites ran into the following:
-cigarette burn on the tub and desk chair
-wire like mesh exposed between the tile next to the tub, where the carpet and tile meet (sharp ends exposed).
-tub plug broken, so once it shut to fill the tub, it could not be open again to drain. Called the front desk, guy showed up with no tools, but a thick razor blade which is all he had. I unplugged the tub myself, and he was upset that I needed to keep the razor. I contacted the front desk about this…seemed disinterested.

A week later I contacted the CEO of the company, who then referred me to the VP of Ops.

Each time I called he answered, then hung up on me…three times in as many days.

If you need a great location for a decent price, and don’t mind filth and staff disinterest, please stay here.

But right down the road, much better options.

Room Tip: I truly can't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comfieslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is not the place to stay. It shows queen beds when you register but the beds are only doubles. The staff is not helpful. There are only about 15 parking spaces and after that you are on your on to find a place to park. The breakfast area is so crowded that you can not get to the food. The food is not good so you should eat somewhere else. There were not enough towels and they were of poor quality. It is near a subway stop which is a plus but not worth the other issues that will confront you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1985Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very dirty and unkept.
Breakfast was gross, as I watched him throw out trash, pick his nose then replenish the food without changing the gloves he had on.
Hotel staff did not speak english. This is less than basic. One example: As you do the checking there is no "Welcome to La Quinta" only a cold "Hello". As the hotel is totally run by people from India, this may be a culture thing, however they should realize we are in the USA. We could not communicate with any of the staff, only an occational person at the front desk. This is total not up to "La Quinta" standards. The only positive was the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank Teafortwo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I chose this hotel based on its proximity to the subway (a few blocks) and La Guardia Airport (a $25 cab ride or a subway and bus ride). The neighborhood is not in the touristy part of the city, and seems to be where the working-class people live. I had trouble taking the subway to the hotel, as the Sunday schedule was disrupted due to construction. It did pass by the famous graffiti buildings at 5-Points though, and it would have been nice to hop off and take a look if I wasn't so tired. Hotel staff was so absorbed in work when I greeted them that they didn't return my greeting at first. They were quietly efficient though, and were helpful with my questions about transportation and places to eat. They willingly called for a taxi to take me to the airport, as they told me the subway and bus rides could take about an hour (there is no subway that goes all the way to LaGuardia, though there IS one to JFK airport). I requested a quiet room, and was given one in the corner in the back, on an upper floor. The only noise was from my neighbor, who slammed their door repeatedly as they were leaving in the morning (the noise was made worse because it was a corner room and their door was right next to mine). I was glad there was a nice McDonald's right next door, though I could have had a continental breakfast in the hotel. A diner was on the other side of McDonald's, Wendy's a few blocks away. The green grocer a block away had amazingly cheap fruit and trail mix (compared to California prices). A couple 99-cent stores nearby. In my hotel room, there was a thin white curtain across the whole window, but the thick brown one was installed so that it could not be closed. I had to stretch the two edges of it together and pin it so the light wouldn't blind me in the morning, and so that I would not be on display after dark. Wi-Fi was good. Batteries in my TV remote seemed dead, but I was too tired to ask for replacements. I felt safe walking to get dinner in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if that is what matters to you. See if any have curtains that can be drawn acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Can't comment on the rooms.....never got that far, however customer service at desk and on 800 number proved to be a complete waste of time. Had a voucher for a free 2night stay, booked with 800 rep, flew in from MN, took $40 cab ride to be told rather rudely "our hotel doesn't except vouchers". Called 800 number, talked to supervisor was told "Sorry, not sure why they are saying that, please hold". After over an hour of being on hold and told sorry we opted to head to our faithful Hilton properties. I give it negative stars if possible......so disappointed......thank you LaQuinta!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reposmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#27 of 28 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#24 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Property: La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing