We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel short metro ride to Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel short metro ride to Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel located around 15 mins away from the main sites in Manhattan.Felt safe walking back at night. Good value for money however new york state tax is added on top of advertised price. Clean and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    314
    178
    71
    67
See reviews for
235
234
52
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
328 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice last year, was reasonably satisfied given the location and price in new york area. Stayed a night by redeeming the reward points and paying $60 since I don't have that many points. Was hoping to try The Verve but as always no room was available even booking 2 months ahead

We took a red eye flight into JFK so after breakfast we drop by the hotel to try our luck if we can check in but no chance as told the hotel was full. Then we came back again at 1pm and the room was still not available for another hour or so.

One of the lights in the bathroom was not working, we called the front desk at least twice but it never get fixed even at check out time. The room with a king bed was really small with little space to move about after the luggage. There was no microwave in the room and the cord for the coffee maker is so short that it almost toppled over with the wrongly placed power socket. Given a choice I would look elsewhere next time in NYC.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the location of this hotel is amazing. It is two blocks away from the train station for the 7 train. It is perfect if you are staying out late, and coming back without being scared. However, the hotel needs to work on its service.

Let me start with the room. Usually, when you enter a hotel room, I know the air is on otherwise it is too stuffy. We got the room in the basement floor, and the air was not on. Result? A stuffy room in which you cannot even open the windows. I don't think the cleaning crew vacuumed the carpet properly because I could see things on the floor, which we didn't put. It was there when we arrived. It was too late when we checked for me to go and complain to the front desk.

Next morning, breakfast. Again basement floor. The layout is cramped. I am not an interior designer but I can definitely put together a layout which won't create immense crowding. The breakfast options are very little. Yes, I know it is a complimentary breakfast, but I have seen better. They do not restock the food items if they run out. Overall, I regretted going to the breakfast area in the morning.

Would not be recommending or coming back to this place. It is a shame considering the amazing location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazineyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle (Thornton) Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 7th April. I was a bit perturbed about some of the reviews but all I can say is if you really want to save some money to spend in Manhattan then this is the place to stay. We found all of the staff to be very friendly, the rooms clean and adequate, the included breakfast was good and if you wanted you could take it back to your room if you could not find a table. You could also use the kitchen (micro-wave etc) after hours. There are plenty of eating place very close bye and oh you must try a take out meal from the Butcher shop just up the road and across from the laundry (it was also very cheap). The 7 train from the Lowery St station is a short 5 minute walk and only 15 mins to time square and only $2.50. We will definitely stay there again when new we visit the Big Apple.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is just three blocks from the "7" elevated train, which is just a short ride into Grand Central Terminal and Times Square. Twice we were able to return from Manhattan for a break, shower and change under two hours. Although wifi is slow and their breakfast's orange juice is actually Sunny Delight, I would come back here. Book early for better pricing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafaborrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is a good place to use as a home base while seeing New York City. It costs a fraction of what a similarly appointed place would cost in Manhattan. The subway (actually an elevated train here) can have you at Grand Central Terminal in a few minutes and Times Square is another couple of quick stops. Our room was not all that quiet, facing the subway and picking up a lot of street noise on Queen's Boulevard, but after a couple of nights we barely noticed it and as the bed was comfortable, we slept well. Breakfast was pretty basic but we supplemented it with extra fruit and Turkish snacks we bought up the street near the 40th Street subway stop. The coffee machine was available all the time, so we had something to wash down the baklava we bought on the way back to our room at the end of the day.

Housekeeping was a bit weird. Every day they left only one washcloth and every day we had to go to the desk and ask for a second one. The bed was made when we arrived but every day after that they just left the blanket and bedspread folded at the foot of the bed. The TV was also left on most days when we got back.

The front desk staff was pretty friendly and helpful in getting tickets and airline boarding passes printed. WiFi was slow at times but usually worked well.

A couple of subway hints: The hotel is pretty much equidistant between the 33rd Street and 40th Street stations. Both involve a lot of stairs so you need good legs. During morning rush hour a lot of people get on at 40th so the train is crowded. A lot of people get off at 33rd, so it was easier to get on there. There are more restaurants and markets near the 40th Street station. That Turkish market is called "Old Castle Fresh Farm".

Another subway hint: Hauling luggage through Penn Station, Times Square or Grand Central is a major hassle. If you come from Newark Liberty Airport you can take the PATH train to World Trade Center and get on the E train. It is the start of the E line, so getting on should be easy. Transfer to the 7 line at Court Square. This involves a fairly long walk through the station but very few stairs and a moving sidewalk for part of it with an elevator to get you to the platform for the 7 line. reverse it to leave. However, there is weekend construction being done on the 7 line and connections don't always work, so check the MTA website!

I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit New York City.

Room Tip: It may help to Ask for a room not facing Queen's Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tyrarex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#27 of 28 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#23 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Property: La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Address: 3718 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101-1726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing