We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Short stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Lago Vista, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

So we only stayed here one night due to being rewards customers and the location and easy access to Times Square, but I was completely disappointed. I dont think this was up to LQ standards. The room was tiny, cold, horrible mattress (seemed broken). When we checked in we were given a room, opened it only to find someone else's luggage. SCARY. All I could think was what if they give someone a key to my room. The women behind the counter was helpful in finding right train to take to get to 911 memorial, but other than that cold greetings. No elevator to ground level, and you either have to carry luggage to 2nd level to get it to elevator then to room or have employees assist with luggage lift, which they seemed put out if you asked. Don't think this room was worth $193.

Only pro is location to very convenient train 7 to Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrocha16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    320
    180
    72
    72
See reviews for
244
237
53
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here during my 5 nights visit to NYC, and was surprised how good the hotel really was. Of course the hotel is located in Queens (20-30 mins from Times Square), but if you are travelling on a budget you can't afford a hotel like this to the same price on Manhattan. The rooms were good, and we were upgraded because our heater did not work. There is a Subway station around 100 meters from the hotel and also a bus stop just outside. The breakfast was primitive, but there was a lot of restaurants in the area. I will absolutely book this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jerome, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

La Quinta Hotel, Queens , New York City: from March 2 to 5, 2013

Our last stay in New York brought us to this hotel. It is located in Queens and is about 3 blocks down from the nearest elevated subway station (40th Street – Lowery Street) which is served by the 7 train. The 7 provides direct service to Manhattan to one of 2 stations – 42nd Street-Grand Central and 42nd-Times Square. From there you can catch other subways or buses or walk to get to the destinations you choose.

The hotel itself is located on Queens Boulevard. If you have a room facing Queens Blvd, it can get very noisy, especially during heavy traffic times. Our room (525) was almost at subway level, giving us a clear view of any train that passed by. That of course, meant we could hear the trains as they travelled to and from Manhattan. Keeping that in mind, it is probably best to keep the window closed all the time so you won’t hear traffic noise from cars, trucks and buses and their assorted horns, and the rumblings of subway trains. Request a room on the back to avoid all the traffic and subway noise if you’re a light sleeper.

There are, however, 2 important points to note about our room. We had Room 525. The window did not close well, was not properly installed or was not properly insulated. At night it became rather cold in that room, so we had to boost the thermostat to 72°F (much too hot for me) and then the room got too hot. There was no middle. The other point is the walls. They are very thin so you hear every noise from the rooms adjoining yours. A blasting TV or a fight at 2 am is not welcome.

That said, the room is rather well appointed having 2 queen-sized beds, a TV with remote, a telephone, 3 lamps, a desk and chair, and a mini-bar (empty). It has a full bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower. The amenities (soap, skin creme, shampoo) are replenished daily. We had our towels changed every day, and it seemed that the bed-sheets were also changed daily. It was a clean room in a clean hotel and I was quiet satisfied with my stay there. The bed was comfortable, and was welcome after spending all day walking in, and taking subways, around Manhattan.

Breakfast is included in the cost of your room. It is served buffet-style from 6 am to 10 am in the area on the first floor. Although the eating area is rather small, we were able to get tables each morning. Breakfast includes doughnuts, bagels, English muffins, breads, with creme cheese and jams, cereals and juices (apple and orange) along with milk and chocolate milk, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. The hot breakfast is limited to egg patties and sausage, neither of which I cared for due to their lack of taste.

If you drive to NY, be aware that parking space is limited at the hotel, but it is free. It is literally “first come, first served” . If you can, leave the car at the hotel and take the subway to get where you want to go. We were always Manhattan-bound, so taking the subway was the obvious and most sensible choice.

I cannot rave about this hotel or any other I’ve stayed at in New York, but I would return to La Quinta. It served its function well, being a place to store our things, shower and sleep. The staff were pleasant, friendly and very helpful. After all, you are in New York and you are there to see and enjoy the city and visit its attractions. You don’t spend your time in your hotel room staring at its four walls.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy - ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrd450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at La Quinta for 3 nights and we had booked 2 rooms since we were travelling with friends who have 3 kids.
The hotel is conveniently located about 3 blocks from the subway station at 40th and Lowery St.
There is a Mc Donalds next door and many little place where you can eat decently for less than in Manhattan.
The personnal of the hotel is very helpful and friendly and the plus was (at the beginning) the free parking.
When we arrived we were assigned adjoining rooms without asking. There are no communicating rooms but I thought it was nice that even without asking they had put us together.
The rooms are clean, rather large for NYC since normally we hardly have enough place to go around the bed. The bathroom seemed to have been redone recently and since we were at the front of the hotel, the noise level wasn't too bad.
I do recommend though if you can to ask for a room that gives inside and not on the street, because of the rumble of the subway trains.
There is a breakfast offered with choice of breads, doughnuts, cream cheese, jam, egg patties, and sausages. Regular beverages like tea, coffee, milk and "tang type" orange juice.

The only drawback is that the "No smoking" policy didn't seem to be enforced too strongly. Mind you, the staff, cannot go too strong on the customers, and even after complaining, there were still people smoking in their rooms for the 3 nights we stayed there.

I will go back to this hotel when in NYC.

See the pictures for a better idea of the rooms.

Going to Manhattan is easy via the Train # 7 3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that give to the inside instead of the street because if you are in front the subway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montrealeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and don't really have any complaints except for the poor breakfast although I wasn't suprised. Good rates and overall a good stay. Few minutes walk to subway into the city, has a great diner 2 blocks away and a lot of various business etc close by on queens blvd.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylesmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very reasonable rates, clean, easy access from the expressway and a quick train ride into NYC. Near the middle of Queens, close to Jackson Heights & Woodside. Walking distance to the train and some excellent and reasonably priced restaurants. I will stay here again. You can't beat this place if you are looking for close, cheap, safe, and decent accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
5 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Positive Facts:
-Walk for 5~7mins and arrive at Line 7 33rd St Station
-Ride Subway from 33rd St Station and arrive in Manhattan in about 15~20 mins
-Quite a few restaurants, pharmacies, local grocery shops within walking distance

Negative Facts:
-Parking space is limited (can park no more than 20 cars) and no reservation is available. Meaning if you arrive on an not so lucky day, you will have to find your own parking somewhere else, where most parking lots are metered during the day.
-Broken lamp, radio and TV remote in the room.
-Slow and tiny elevator
-Stayed for 4 nights with a group of 4, had to request for 2 extra sets of towels every single night. I asked the reception: 'We are missing 2 sets of towels every day, can you do something?'. The answer is: 'Don't worry Sir, you just have to give us a call and we will bring them to you'.
-Tiny breakfast room. Very limited breakfast choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenshoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#25 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#28 of 28 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Property: La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Address: 3718 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101-1726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing