We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

La Quinta is great. Staff is very accomadating and rooms are clean. Hotel is a short ride away from the city and best of all subway is locAted 1 block way from subway. All you have to do is step outside hotel and walk acros the street to nearest subway. For the price la Quinta is the best and most economically. I stay at other hotels in the area la Quinta will. Always be my first choice if your looking for a budget hotel with all the amenities of the city ths should
D be your first choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    319
    179
    72
    70
See reviews for
241
236
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The ATL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Cleanliness is a relative term, so I'm going to use the "college student" scale of cleanliness. My two college student age children couldn't even tolerate the conditions at this hotel and checked out early. Many stains on the sheets and pillow cases (and pillow cases were not supplied for some of the pillows). They asked for replacement sheets/pillow cases and they were equally stained. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank C-Stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a hidden gem in New York. Whether you're on a budge, or you just want to avoid the hassle of staying in Manhattan; this hotel is for you. It's located on the 7 line on the subway on the 40th street stop. It's only about a 10 minute ride over to Times Square / 42nd street station. From there, there are numerous subway connections if you need to get other places in the city.

The rooms are cozy and clean. The staff has always treated me nicely, and I've never had a complaint. I always look to book this property first if I am headed to New York for a personal trip. Sometimes the rooms can be a bit loud if you have noisy neighbors. That isn't something you can control.

Getting to this property is really easy if you're using mass transit. From JFK, you can take the air train over to the Jamaica station and then catch the E-train. You would make one train swap at Roosevelt and then catch the 7. Total time is about 35 minutes. From LGA, you can catch a quick cab ride.

Room Tip: The proximity to the city and the cost of the rooms makes this a hidden gem in the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlabranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a great value for NYC trips. There is easy access to the 7 line which goes directly to Grand Central Station or Times Square (about a 20 minute ride). The neighborhood has nearby places to eat and we always felt safe walking from the subway to the hotel at the end of the evening. Our room was clean and comfortable and though not fancy, it did included a refrigerator and coffee maker.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms near the stairwell as the doors can slam shut with a bang. Few people use the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Saturday night's a full house on Queens Blvd's La Quinta (and 35% more expensive than Sunday night, too). "Clubbers" (mostly young wanting a crash pad after a night of clubbing in Brooklyn and Lower Manhattan fill super convenient places like this. Think clean, but with a rock hard bed, the Long Island Railroad passing outside the window, a dead light bulb and a dead neighborhood. Save this for when your "can't find another" category. A big plus is the nearly new and, by comparison, elegant McDonald's next door and, if you have wheels, ample overnight street parking and the hotel's own dozen-car lot out back.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces south, not facing the LIRR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Handyman301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

For the value, this is a good hotel to stay at, by all means this is not a 5 star. Was there for busness and it's a quick hop to Manhattan, on the 7 line. There are a bunch of places to eat along Queens Blvd. If you don't like the Free B-fast then there ae other places to eat at. A safe place to stay, rooms were small, but clean, front desk was very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We only live about one hour from Manhattan, but my husband and I were looking to get away for a weekend without the kids. My friend who grew up in Jackson Heights recommended La Quinta. Park your car (yes there is a small lot with limitted parking, but this is NYC - parking is limitted everywhere! and there is also additional street parking. The number seven train is two blocks away so we used the subway all weekend - hate driving in NYC especially at Christmas time. The area underwent a revitalization several years back. There are many very nice and reasonably price pubs and restaurants and diners in walking distance all along Queens Boulevard. (Always cross with the street lights n New York!!!)You can save a lot of money by eating some meals in the neighborhood as opposed to NYC. The room was small but clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering the 7 Train was across the street. (Be aware that there is on going track work for the 7 train on weekend - it's not a big deal)Just some things to mention - this is not a five star hotel. Some people rating this property complained about the free continental breakifast. Are you kidding? It's free and yes the coffee was terrible. But you don't stay at this hotel if you are looking for some awesome dining experience. You stay here because you need a safe, clean room at a reasonable price in a lovely neighborhood that is close to everything the greatest city in the world has to offer. We are going back with the kids and grandma this weekend to do some more sightseeing.

Room Tip: I believe the options for rooms are two doubles or one king. No sofa beds or suites. Some have ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamarie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#27 of 28 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#23 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Property: La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Address: 3718 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101-1726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing