We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Steak”
Review of Water's Edge - CLOSED

Water's Edge
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 1 block West of Vernon Blvd.
Transit: Subway (3 blocks) 7, E, F, G, to 23rd & Ely, Long Island City, Queens
Description: Water's Edge offers spectacular panoramic views of the New York City Skyline, world-class decor and renowned cuisine. Our landmark venue sits upon the East River leaving the breathtaking views etched into your memory. The combination of superb cuisine & unparalleled service is sure to impress even the most discerning of guests.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful Steak”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great ambiance, good service but terrible food. The 14 oz New York strip I had was extremely tough to cut and chew. My jaw still ached the next morning from the effort to masticate that steak. My companion did enjoy her Seabass, though.The server did not charge for dessert after informing him about my displeasure with my steak. It was my first time dining at the Edge, and probably will be my last time. But for those who enjoy romantic evenings with a beautiful view, then this place will suit you well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hkterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    55
    29
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had mixed first impressions of this place. The long walk from the subway made me a bit uncomfortable, the neighborhood was kinda sketchy, however the lot was filled with BMWs and Lexus' so it must be nice, right? We had a groupon for the seafood appetizer for two with drinks. We also ordered a short rib ravioli. The food was great and the view can NOT be beat. This was a high end (expensive) place, but a good value with the discount.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KC10156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great view on Manhattan”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The restaurant almost seems like an insider tip, as it was not very crowded on a Saturday evening, despite its incomparable great views on the Manhattan skyline.

We had the halibut and the swordfish there, which both were pretty good.

I ordered flowers from a local florist to let them be set on our table, which I arranged with their manager Kathy.

The mostly rather young waiters have been very nice.

Outside they have a landing stage, where you can go up to the water and again enjoy the view on the Manhattan skyline.

They don't have their water taxi anymore, so it is difficult to reach the place from Manhattan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good with a Groupon”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place has ambience from the front door to the end of he meal. I was a little nervous when I first pulled into the parling lot, industrial area & very dark. However we were lucky enough to have a table that overlooked the NYC skyline. It was beautiful, however the staff wasn't to friendly. Im not sure if it was the fact that we were using a Groupon or not. The food I have to say was good, portions small (but that comes with "Fine Dining" term). The Groupon was for a seafood appetizer raw seafood platter and 2 drinks (drinks - good, stong). In addition to the Groupon we ordered Rib Eye to share, then molten cake for dessert.

Bottom Line: Food good
Service: ok
Price: $$$$
Will I be back, probably not

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peekaboo912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining ? Not so fine”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family and I read about this online we live in malverne, and thought it would be a nice change to eat out with a scenic view. We called around 4pm and they told us they had nothing open till 8:30pm. We got there around 8pm and the restaurant was more then half empty. We were seated in the back near a table that was so loud it was unbearable and we asked to move. The whole staff is Indian which created a weird vibe considering this was not an Indian or ethnic restaurant. We were given bread that was of the same quality of wonder bread, very soft with a hint if garlic. We ordered the baby lettuce salad for $10.00 it was literally 1 lettuce with 1 cucumber wrapped around the bottom stalk. The menu is limited, and there are no specials. Our glasses of water were not refilled once all night until we asked. My family and I ordered the fillet minion and lamb. The meal was terrible, obviously nothing was cooked by the chef, or freshly made. It was all pre-made and just simply warmed up. They knew we were very un-satisfied and gave us a "complementary glass of champagne on the house", which when we asked the kind, the waitor admitted it was just sparkling wine. We were given a 50% discount off the bill, however we are 100% positive that we will never return. I'm writing this review to encourage you not to go, no matter how appealing the view looks. It's just not worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge also viewed

 
Long Island City, Queens
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing