We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Testaccio Ristorante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Testaccio Ristorante
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My favorite place in LIC! The pizzas and salads are a must. Great atmosphere and superior service. LOVE LOVE the grilled calamari.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality food in an unpretentious restaurant. Much rather be here than in any high price, high fufu place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Quality food in an unpretentious restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised to find such great food in this location--not that it was a bad neighborhood. We walked around after dinner and enjoyed a great view of Manhatten. We actually found this restaurant by searching reviews on our phones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abuelabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good dinner. Found out wine is $5 at the bar and $10 at a table. Too late.The bread pudding for dessert was excellent though small to share.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Billyeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great italian pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice Italian restaurant located on Vernon. Some great pasta dishes if you are craving some italian. Also great for happy hour at the bar with some good value wines and yummy appetizers. Another local favorite of mine. Atmosphere is good too whether it be for an afterwork dinner or date!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller4Good_Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
899 reviews
665 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Testaccio is absolutely amazing... in all aspects!

My fiancee and I wanted to have our rehearsal dinner here, with our main reason being that Testaccio is in close proximity to our venue. After our initial tasting experience, our minds were blown out of proportion and we were left dazed and speechless. I can't wait until the actual rehearsal dinner day itself.

We selected the $45/person party menu and were pampered for the next two hours. Our server, Denise, was immaculate and we were assured that the same impeccable service should be expected on the day of. The manager would check in on us every so often as well and make sure that everything was taken care of and to our liking. Food kept overflowing on our table, and I swear this was a complimentary tasting for six people, not two.

I was surprised with the bread assortments. They were delicious. The salad was fresh and the Antipasto del Testaccio was interesting and unique. Super thin crust pizza, baked in a brick oven imported from Italy, was fabulous. These items would be refilled to our guests until all the entrees have been fulfilled.

Denise and the staff started us off on the Ravioli agli spinaci and the Lasagna al ragu', spinach/ricotta ravioli and veal lasagna, respectively. These were outstanding dishes, and I was delighted. I'm a huge fan of ravioli and lasagna and they put the perfect ingredients on it to make it tons better than expected. I never expected Testaccio to top these plates next with the Ciccia al pepe rosa and the Filetto di merluzzo al basilico, skirt steak and codfish fillet, respectively. The skirt steak was cooked in a delicious seasoning/sauce. It was tender and juicy. It came with sauteed spinach that really caught me by surprise. I never expected to enjoy spinach this much. The fish was just as amazing, if not better, and was cooked to perfection. All these entree dishes at the tasting were only half sizes of what would appear on the day of, but the portions were still huge.

Dessert was clutch. The Tortino di cioccolato e caffe' is a dark chocolate and espresso flan with rum caramel sauce and whipped cream. Wow. I was in paradise. We were already full and dying in our seats, but we killed the dessert in an instant because it was just that good.

I highly, highly recommend Testaccio. Great owner, manager, and servers. Awesome food. Lovely decor and a pleasing ambiance. Perfection...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Testaccio Ristorante also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing