We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and useful”
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Q4 Hotel
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice and cheap hostel, with clean rooms, shower and toilets. The location is useful and there is sufficiently quiet. The tube is near, and there is ten hops to Penn station, not more. I am highly recommending this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoshi_Stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Q4 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 262 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

After loosing ZIP112 in Williamsburg, this hostel brings a similar cleanliness (wich is the most important quality for me), big dining area with well equiped cooking utilities. The decor is also nice. It has a good quality-price value. I was in a 4-females dormitory with bathroom, and it was awesome, and I slept really well (the noise of the nearby train didn't bother me). Minus= the neiborhood is boring with a couple of hobos walking by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ness_116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A great little funky and modern Hostel, located conveniently just across the river on Queens Plaza. The hostel would have only been 5-10 years old at my time of visit, and was very clean with all modern fixtures and amenities. Staying in a dorm room for 8 people, it was a comfortable fit, with more than enough room to move about the room. The common room was decked out with table tennis, a snooker table and a common kitchen -- which was great for getting to meet people. The travel time into the city was minimal, with a train station located just 5 minutes walk down the road. It is a bit external to the hustle and bustle of Manhattan island, but for that reason, it's a great place to come and clear your head after a big night out on the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was in town visiting friends and needed a cheap place to sleep for the night. What I got was definitely better than I was expecting! I have stayed in hostels before, and they are hit and miss as far as cleanliness goes. The Q4 was VERY clean and comfortable. Everyone in the room I stayed in was friendly and quiet. And the hostel itself seemed quiet. Loved that there was a bathroom in the room and not down the hall. Also, the location was pretty great, right next to the subway line and a 10 min ride into Manhattan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hostel was a god send to us after a terrible stay at the Jazz hostel on Amsterdam Avenue on the Upper West Side. The hostel is short walking distance from both Queens Plaza and Queensborough Plaza subway stations with easy access to the city. There are some nice places to grab breakfast and lunch right across the road. The area is quiet and the building is modern. We had arrived earlier in the day and stored our luggage at the hotel free of charge. When you check-in, you are assigned a bunk bed and given an individual towel which you have to return or face a $10 fee (you can swap it for a fresh one at the desk.) The staff were very friendly and we were given a dorm on the ground floor. The dorms were clean, modern and had big shower rooms. However, we arrived quite late, everyone in our dorm was asleep and the big light was turned off, it was unfortunate that we had to stumble around in the dark. They have computers that you can pay to use on each floor and I think they had free WIFI. Luckily we were on the ground floor as there is no elevator for luggage. The beds weren't the best but they were in better shape than some we had stayed in. I am a heavy sleep and even though my partner is also, he had the air conditioning unit right next to his bunk which was loud and the temperature control was never quite right, he was cold quite a lot. The kitchen and lounge areas are very nice, there are modern facilities and big sofas to chill out on. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hostel but the time we did was nice and we had no problems. We had to pay to store our luggage on the day of check-out but it was only around $4 a case. I liked the location, you got better value for money than in the city and the area was nice.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room, its a long way up the stairs with your luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is not organized they assign more than one person to a bed and dont know who is sleeping where. There is no privacy. The room I stayed at was freezing cold even with the little heat source on. I would not recommend this Hostel to anyone. Pay extra and get a real hotel to stay in. I have stayed at many other hostels and they were much better than this place. The only good part about my stay was the night staff because they were very good with getting me a taxi to the airport. Beware!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loves2bthrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hostel is in a convenient location and close to the Queens Plaza and Queensboro Plaza stops. That's about where the good things end. The noise didn't bother me but I'm a very heavy sleeper. Three things worked against Q4 to make it unsatisfactory. First, the only climate control in my room was a heater/air con that is centrally controlled. It is also installed near the top of the ceiling directly above one of the beds. This resulted in the person on the top bunk being extremely cold or extremely hot and the person on the bottom bunk being the exact opposite. Second, there were only two outlets in room. With four people who needed to charge phones, computers, cameras, etc this makes for a painful charger tango. Third, the beds and pillows are sealed in plastic coverings to prevent bed bugs. While I totally appreciate the effort to prevent a bed bug infestation, this amounts to sleeping on a fabric covered plastic bag. Which leads to a lot of noise and a lot of sweat (even when you're completely frozen in the bottom bunk).

The only bright spot was getting breakfast and snacks at Cranberry, a little convenience store/hot food place about a block away. It has just about all the foodstuffs you would need and is fairly cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 33 in Long Island City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Address: 2909 Queens Plz N, Long Island City, NY 11101-4009
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range: $43 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing