We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beware first not hotel its a hostel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Q4 Hotel
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware first not hotel its a hostel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is not organized they assign more than one person to a bed and dont know who is sleeping where. There is no privacy. The room I stayed at was freezing cold even with the little heat source on. I would not recommend this Hostel to anyone. Pay extra and get a real hotel to stay in. I have stayed at many other hostels and they were much better than this place. The only good part about my stay was the night staff because they were very good with getting me a taxi to the airport. Beware!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves2bthrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
8
26
121
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hostel is in a convenient location and close to the Queens Plaza and Queensboro Plaza stops. That's about where the good things end. The noise didn't bother me but I'm a very heavy sleeper. Three things worked against Q4 to make it unsatisfactory. First, the only climate control in my room was a heater/air con that is centrally controlled. It is also installed near the top of the ceiling directly above one of the beds. This resulted in the person on the top bunk being extremely cold or extremely hot and the person on the bottom bunk being the exact opposite. Second, there were only two outlets in room. With four people who needed to charge phones, computers, cameras, etc this makes for a painful charger tango. Third, the beds and pillows are sealed in plastic coverings to prevent bed bugs. While I totally appreciate the effort to prevent a bed bug infestation, this amounts to sleeping on a fabric covered plastic bag. Which leads to a lot of noise and a lot of sweat (even when you're completely frozen in the bottom bunk).

The only bright spot was getting breakfast and snacks at Cranberry, a little convenience store/hot food place about a block away. It has just about all the foodstuffs you would need and is fairly cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed only 1 night in a 6 dorm room and in general it was a good choice. You'll need earplugs to sleep. There was no breakfast but there is a nice kitchen and lounge. Also you can find breakfast nearby. I didn't like that they charge the luggage room after the check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IoSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

pluses:
Very close to multiple subway line stops, easy access from JFK and manhattan.
Hostel is new, all furnishings are new.
The lounge downstairs was a nice place to hang out.
Helpful boards listing various activity possibilities
CoinOp laundry machines in basement.
Good Wifi everywhere, although sometimes slow probably due to everyone using it.

Minuses:
No elevator. Had to drag heavy bags upstairs.
Noise. The 7 train elevated track is very close and runs all day and night. bring the earplugs.
it's a hostel. The cramped 6-person room I was in had very little floor space for luggage.
It was hard to access my luggage without blocking the entry/exit to the room.
Strangers come in at 2AM and would pack up and leave at 5AM. Bring the earplugs.
I wouldn't spend any more time in the room beyond sleeping and showering, unless you're with friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel looks fancy and modern but that is not what a traveler cares about. There is no individual light for each person in the room, which means if someone shut the big light, everyone else needs to do their things in the dark. There is no closet or place for the people at upper bunk to place their stuff. I heard my roommate dropped off something at night more than twice, which was really disturbing. And plus, for the people at upper bunk, there is no plug to use. Toillet and shower are in the room which I don't like it either because of the layout of the room. I slept very close to the shower room. People who came late and use the shower woke me up. And the shower does not have enough shelter and hanger to put clothes and stuff. The only good thing is probably its cleanliness. I really don't enjoy the stay here and don't know why the scores got so high. A youth hostel is far better than this..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJo520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

10 minute subway ride from Central Manhattan, clean, helpful & polite staff, new, relatively safe and good value - this ticks most of the boxes. Yes, it is noisy - what's with all the car hooting in NY?! But there's a big jar of ear plugs on the front desk, and once those were in I had a decent sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 773Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here, the only thing I didnt like was i thought the bed and pillows were uncomfortable. There was no free breakfast but generally a nice place to stay, It is clean and close to public transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Long Island City/New York Manhattan View
Courtyard Long Island City/New Y...
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#21 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Property: Q4 Hotel
Address: 2909 Queens Plz N, Long Island City, NY 11101-4009
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing