We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very modern hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Q4 Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very modern hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a very modern hostel located a short subway hop from Manhattan. We stayed during summer last year just after the place opened. The building is a renovated old bank, they even have the vault as a chill out space in the basement. There is fee wifi throughout the place for guests. The staff were a little cold and not too friendly but the price of the place more then made up for it. AVOID rooms at the front of the building as the overhead 7 subway line will keep you awake all night! The place has full air conditioning although it can sometimes be turned off by reception, make sure to get them to switch it back on. The hostel/hotel is popular with European back-packers and you'll get to meet a good bunch of fellow travelers.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the building, avoid the front and east side due to the noise from the overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamusDublin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
8
26
121
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

On my stay in New York City, I stayed at two different hostels, both of which are highly rated. The other one was actually more highly-rated than this one, and the prices were the same.

Two words: no comparison. Q4 was better in every single way: the staff was friendly and helpful (and there was enough staff to help all the guests), the rooms were clean and new, the hostel has an en-suite bathroom (not something you had in New York hostels, or indeed most hostels in the world), there was a large common room and plenty of space to store food, a locker, etc. But really what bought me was the en-suite bathroom.

The location is also excellent. People often complain about this hostel's location, but in fact since it's so close to the subway it couldn't be better placed. There are a number of lines going from Q4 to the city, and it's also very close to the line to Roosevelt Island, from where you can take the cable car with an awesome view of Manhattan (for me it was the first time view).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was the first time I ever stayed in a Hostel and it wasn’t all that bad. The rooms were clean and so was the restroom. The staff was great and accommodating. Though located a ways from all the sites in Manhattan you still are able to access them easily with a subway right across a couple of streets. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafaelcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was very clean. The decor was also modern and updated. We had a room with a private bathroom, and it was clean and good-sized. The shower was rather spacious. The only downside is that the above ground subway was very audible from the room, so it is definitely important to bring earplugs and even then it was hard to sleep through rush hour in the morning.

The common room in the basement is great. The kitchen has been updated and there's more than enough dishware/fridge space/cooking utensils available for everyone. There is also a great large, dining room table with a TV, ping pong tables and a lounge area. The fact that this room is in the basement means that the noise in the common room is not audible in the bedrooms.

There is a grocery store about 10 minutes away by bus, and a small convenience store across the street for any emergencies. The subway is right next to the hostel and it is a direct line to downtown Manhattan. The location is therefore great - and the costs are much cheaper than in Manhattan!

Room Tip: Try and see if you can choose a room that is more on the interior or farther away from the above gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggie_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

could not have been happier! stayed here for 4 nights with a friend. great staff, clean rooms, lovely design throughout, great communal kitchen/entertainment area and all just a few stops from new york city centre. very relaxed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was clean and the staff friendly but be warned, the hotel is right next to a railway line which can be noisy - when I asked to change rooms I was told the hotel was booked out but they were helpful in offering earplugs.

Upon viewing the evacuation plan which has the size of the rooms displayed on the back of the door, we had the smallest room on level 3 - no elevators. I was disappointed as I had booked 5 months in advance. The location is lousy with a 30 minute walk to the nearest grocery shop. There is NOTHING in the immediate area.

Staff come and go into your room at any time to empty your bin or check for leaks so I didn't feel our stuff was safe, we had a private room with our own bath/toilet (very tiny). I would not recommend really if staying in NYC.

Room Tip: select another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

A nice alternative and affordable to hotel, clean, spacious, close to the train, close to manhattan, a superb lounge area and affordable rates!! It does not look like a hostel but an actual hotel! In the lounge area they even had nice hookah like intimate lounge. :) If you want a nice place to stay then go to the Q4 Hotel. It was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misssunshine1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Long Island City/New York Manhattan View
Courtyard Long Island City/New Y...
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#21 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Property: Q4 Hotel
Address: 2909 Queens Plz N, Long Island City, NY 11101-4009
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing