We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good price for NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Q4 Hotel
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
338 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very good price for NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

No breakfast. Price is good. Clean and very near to the metro. Is that all you for enjoy New York in the budget.
Expect a lot of noises in the rooms from the trains and traffic jam outside. bed female dorm insuite for example was 43 dolares per night. You cannot find this price in a hostel in New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
7
24
112
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pro: A really nice clean hotel that is in a great location. There are 2 stations within walking distance and time square is only 4-5 stops away. Transport running 24hr makes it easy to get home at anytime! The hostel was a bank originally so the downstairs/vault has been converted into the kitchen/common area. There's a projector, table tennis, pool table as well as a large tv with cable. A great place for hanging out and meeting others. It can seem pricey for a hostel but this is the cheapest decent accommodation in NY. Free printing of boarding passes too.

Con: The wifi is free but signal is very poor, computers cost to use as does luggage storage ($5 a day). Beds are really soft, way to soft.

If these things were different then I would have gave it 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here with two of my friends for two nights, and overall the experience was great. The rooms were very clean, and the common area downstairs was nice. One of the negative things that we found that was there was only one overhead light. We were in a room with 4 bunk beds and it would have been great to have small lights on each of the beds, for more control. For example, when we got back to our room each night there was a different girl sleeping in the extra bed and the room was already dark. It made getting ready for bed a bit awkward, It is a small thing but i think would make a big difference. The staff was very helpful and even printed us a map for places to go for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateduncan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

its nice, clean,very basic. Rooms have clean bathrooms and comfortable beds.
they have a dowstairs common area with full kitchen and tables, tv and lounge area.

Very appropiate for single new york traveler, specially if you are in college and watching your $$. Very unique characters you get to see.

Metro station less that 5 minutes away in walking distance.

The only bad things is that the metro is so close you could hear it all nite, not good if you are a lite sleeper, but we were so tired when we got to bed that I couldnt ever hear it! lol

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJOCER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Q4 for 6 nights. Our room was # 303 - train tracks view. A private one, ideal for a couple.

The first night was a noise nightmare, since the train track is almost inside the room. The building is very well located. It was a bank before not conceived to be a hotel. You MUST HAVE your earplugs on ($1 at front desk ) to get a good night of sleep.

The staff is well informed and very kind.

The room looked very clean until I checked under the bed, but don't worry, what the eyes don't see the heart doesn't feel.

For $130 a night I expected to get at least a hotel size soap, but not.

The kitchen, amenities and the board info are all great.

Overall, it's not that bad but it's not that good too, its Ok - 5/10.

NYC its awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupiotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hostel is new, staff is great, nice facilities (two common areas with kitchen, fridge and microwave), really close to Queens Plaza subway station (15 minutes to manhattan) . Just buy a pair of earpluggs and it will be the best value for money option.

Room Tip: Better get a 2 or 4 persons room and buy earpluggs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_UIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hostel was great, we only stayed for one night and had such a good time. Rooms were immaculately clean, staff really friendly - overall was brilliant. When booking we questioned the location but it is next to the subway straight to manhattan - great alternative to get good accomodation in the city rather than mediocre overpriced stuff in the city!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollamallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Property: Q4 Hotel
Address: 2909 Queens Plz N, Long Island City, NY 11101-4009
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing