We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed with the quality of the hotel. Staff were very helpful and polite, the rooms were nicely furnished & spotless (hotel is practically brand new). You can sometimes hear the subway cars but we actually found it quite soothing (certainly quieter than any Manhattan hotel!)
As tourists, we were not sure about the location of the hotel at first, but with a Metrocard we could catch the subway and be in Manhattan in 20 minutes. There are 2 stations nearby - 39th Ave and Queens plaza.
The immediate location around the hotel may not seem brilliant, but we always felt very safe and the area is undergoing a lot of regentrification.
I would score the hotel highly on value for money, especially compared to Manhattan hotels. The complimentary breakfast was also a big plus.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexsim2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    155
    51
    16
    17
See reviews for
124
116
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This small, but lovely hotel was staffed by friendly and efficient personnel who not only "go the extra mile" but are also efficient and businesslike. The front desk staff ( Jo, Jasmine, Terrance...to name a few) and the breakfast attendents, Jessy and LIsa) as well as an operations Manager Curtis) made me feel like I was at home! The only drawback was lack of food service for lunch and dinner, but I was out every day and most all evenings...so for me it was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have fantastic view of the City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Adressing some prior issues cited in reviews: This hotel is not in Manhattan, granted, but it is just off the access to the Queensboro Bridge on the Long Island City end, and less that two blocks from the subway. The lobby, rooms and whole property are up to date and clean, with a modern feel and while the breakfast was crowded, the staff kept up.

It is hard to find owing to surrounding one way streets - the hotel will give you specifics if you call, but even these can be bit confusing. It's a straight two blocks from the Queens Plaza subway and about that to the 39th Street stop (Queensboro Plaza stop is further away).

It was the closest level 5 Marriott to downtown, with 10-15 minutes subway rides to midtown stops.

And from the looks of construction (across the street, though no noise on a long holiday weekend) the area may be on the verge of gentrification, at least in terms of businesses).

Room Tip: If the construction is still going on, you might want to ask for an upper floor or to face away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is the place you end up when you try to redeem a Marriott reward night - Marriott has put all Manhattan properties, no matter what quality level, off limits to its card holders for the annual reward night.
The new Fairfield Inn has comfortable rooms but its desolate location is a distinct drawback. It is close to the 39th Avenue N and Q station (you can hear the trains rumble from your room). While breakfast is included, don't bother and take the train up to Jackson Height/Elmhurst for lots of great options. The hotel had a sign that showed the "waiting time" for different breakfast hours - a green/orange/red scale that was as off-putting as it was insulting (only the very early hours promised a non-wait breakfast). Why not work on improving the situation instead of posting such a stupid sign? In any case, if you like your morning meal, better not to bother at all.
The good staff is prompt and courteous and there is nothing wrong with the rooms: a comfortable bed, good shower, nice TV.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epices6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 4 day visit! I read previous reviews before deciding to book this hotel and I'm very happy with my decision. I was with 6 other family members and they were happy as well! This hotel is a $15 taxi ride or $2.75 subway ride(1block away from hotel) to Midtown Manhattan. Subway is very easy... Take E train to Penn Station, Soho, World Trade Center & more!

The hotel is located in an area just over Queensboro bridge. Not much going on, (reason for 3 on location) but it looks like an upcoming area. It's CLEAN and offers a continental breakfast of Bagels, Muffins, Toast, Fruit, Yogurt, Cereal, & Make-it-yourself Waffles. Coffee/Tea/Hot Chocolate avail 24/7. This was fine for me as I ventured out to other areas for brunch and finer dining anyway.

The front desk and staff throughout the hotel were very warm & friendly. There is a small bar in lobby area, the bartender Terrence offers outstanding 4 star customer service!!! He's very informative goes above and beyond to provide quality service. This hotel is very lucky to have him in my opinion. Thank you!!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay & best part is paying half price of Manhattan hotels!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venus222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Fairfield Inn in Feb 2014. We are happy with our stay there.
Pros:
1. short distance to Manhattan by subway, 5 minutes shuttle ride from Hotel to Subway then 15 minute train ride to Times Square,
2. clean room, clean bathroom with sufficent bathing supplies
3. good breakfasts, lots of food variety, sufficient tables to accomodate guests
4. good shuttle service to and from the 33rd street subway. Shuttle schedule is frequent, runs every 30 minutes
5. helpful staff. Willing to answer questions and show us the way to avoid traffic when we check out
Cons:
1. The hotel is located in an industrial area, with no resturants or retail stores around.
2. Insufficient under-ground parking spaces. There are only parking spaces for 8 to 9 cars, but there are free parkings on the streets nearby

Overall we are very satisfied with our stay in Fairfield Inn at Long Island. The price is good for a hotel which is close to Manhattan. We will certainly return if we come to NYC again.

Room Tip: 7 days unlimited MetroCard costs $30 ppl. We did not buy it. Instead we buy 1 reloadable MetroCard f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean, the staff was okay. Was supposed to have breakfast there but the "breakfast man" was out that day so they had just oatmeal, plus it wasn't kept tidy. I have never stayed at the Fairfield brand of Marriott and from this experience I'll stick with the Courtyard and Residence Inn brands of Marriott.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tibby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. We do serve breakfast every morning for our guest. It is our goal to make sure our guest leave the hotel 100% satisfied. Your comments will help up maintain and continue meet our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Address: 2927 40th Rd, Long Island City, NY 11101-2801 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing