We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel within easy reach of NYC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel within easy reach of NYC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here in early December for 4 nights. The rates were more reasonable than midtown Manhattan. The hotel is very clean with king-size beds. Our mattresses were very comfortable because they were on the firm side. Lots of pillows, too. There is ample lighting in the room. Lots of outlets are available on the nightstands or at the desk which makes it easy to recharge your tablet/laptop/phone while using it. Our bathroom was very clean with a good shower. Good towels, too. Also, there is a mini-fridge, safe (on the small side), iron and board and hairdryer. The hotel provides the usual good breakfast which included hot scrambled eggs, make-your-own waffle, cereals, yogurts, bagels, muffins, fruit (apples and bananas), juices and coffee. The breakfast area is well-monitored and supplied.
The hotel staff is personable and very helpful. They will valet your car and I don't know what they charge as we didn't have one. We used the subway to get into the city and it is very convenient. The hotel is between 2 stations and the closest one is one long block away. It is a 2 minute walk. It gets you to the R train which services midtown and the lower west side. Transfers (free) are available to all other lines so you can get to literally anywhere in the city. The best way to travel on the subway is via Metro-card. It is the cheapest and easiest-especially if you are taking multiple trips. It is refillable and you get a 5% rebate credited to your card when you fill it with $5 or more. You can buy it from vending machines at any station or some stations have a staffed ticket booth. It is about a 5 minute ride to get to the first stop in Manhattan (59th and Lexington) and only about 5 more minutes to get to the Times Square area. Hassle free-no need to park a car and pay the exorbitant parking fees.
Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor (say 10 and above) as the hotel is next to the elevated train and it can be noisy. We had no problem with this (6th floor) although you could hear it.
Tip: Since you can't call for a NYC cab (the cheapest way to get to the airport), there is a service that we used that worked nicely. It is called dial7 car service (dial7.com). We reserved a car (Lincoln sedan) online and he came right on time. He got us to La Guardia in less than 15 minutes. Good driver and clean car. It cost $34 plus tip. I had seen some mixed reviews online concerning this service but we had no problems at all.
Tip: If you don't want to use this service to get to the airport you can also take a cab-you can't call for one but you can hail one on the street. A cab to LGA from the hotel should cost $20-24 plus tip. It is definitely cheaper than the car service. We used the car service because we went with the sure thing instead of hoping to flag down a cab. But next time I would hail a cab because on Northern Blvd. (just steps down from the hotel front door) I discovered that there are bunches of them driving by on that street.
We really enjoyed our time in NYC and staying at this hotel was convenient, comfortable and reasonable. We would definitely consider this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms to avoid the elevated train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    155
    51
    16
    17
See reviews for
123
116
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I hope this hotel keeps realizing that its lifeblood is the shuttle van that takes the guests to, and picks up from the 33/Rawson #7 train station. It is what makes this hotel a viable candidate for commuting into Manhattan. They try to run the van every half hour, but I applaud them for putting an extra service for the morning and evening rush. Generally figure on ten minutes to take the van to the subway. Yesterday, I decided to walk it and from hotel door to train door -walking at a brisk pace with no stopping --it took me 23minutes. Is it worth it? The train takes you directly to TimesSquare or port authority where I needed to go every day for five days. The Fairfield near Times Square was charging over $300/night, in Long Island City I paid less than half that, saved $750. Is it worth saving that to take an extra half hour per commute each day and get some exercise to boot? For me it was. Now caveats: if you walk it could be desolate and lonely. It was my only time ever in New York walking on a street alone. The neighborhood is "industrial" zoned and there is a "correctional" institution on the way walking down vanDam street. When you get to the 33st station it is five flights of stairs to walk up and down. NO ELEVATOR. so if you have baggege keep that in mind. The hotel? Yeah I liked it. Breakfast with warm eggs , sausage, waffles, bread, muffins, cute containers of soy milk, yogurt, fruit&fruit salad etc. the maid did a great job cleaning and making up the room for five days, and dropped new amenities each day. Free wifi, and lots of outlets. My room had a great views of Empire State Building and silver cup studios. The hotel has 12 floors, the higher floors have better views...a hint you have already guessed.

Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewguySFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed @ FF Inn for Thanksgiving/Macy's day parade. The rooms were very nice, but small. Space is expencive in NY. This property is very close to the subway. If you are coming from Times Square take the R. Go to the Queens Plaza not Queensboro station. The breakfast is typical ff. The staff is nice. I felt sorry for the breakfast attendant who was working by herself on the day after Thanksgiving. Everything was empty. There is really not to much around this property, but you are probably going to NYC not Queenboro.

Room Tip: We had a 11th floor, and we could still hear the trains, so ask if they have rooms that you cannot h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine1234089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This property is new and exceptionally clean. Upon arrival, the staff was very warm and helpful. The room was small, but, for the price and location, this was not a bother to me at all. The hotel offers free breakfast from 6-9am. The breakfast does include hot items, as well, which was a pleasant surprise! It is also noteworthy that the hotel is very close to the subway, being only 1 1/2 blocks away from the 39th street station. Yes, you can hear the train go by every few minutes, but, as a New Yorker at heart, I actually found the train calming as I went to sleep. Also, to note, the hotel is in an area of LIC that is undergoing HEAVY construction right now. There are new buildings popping up everywhere. this isn't very pretty to look at, and may seem like this is a bad neighborhood, but, it's a work in progress to improving the area. I give this property 5 stars and hope to stay again in the near future!

Room Tip: Rooms with a city view, if you can get them, are a nice value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed with my wife in Aug 2013 on a business trip. Services were good especially the breakfast, but unfortunately marred in the end.

When we check-out we were given a billing summary. We were told that we do not need to make additional payments since everything was paid in advance at the time of booking and we did not avail of additional services during our stay. However, after our return home we got another billing summary by email showing that the hotel had charged us US$100 for loss and damage. No explanation was provided. How can the hotel feel free to use our credit card without our knowledge and without explanation for what we are being charged for? We don't expect such things from a chain like Marriott right?

Now I have to make runs with my credit crad company to resolve the disputed charge. Business travellers surely don't have time for such hassels. This is unfortunate!

In addition, a copy of my wife's passport was taken to open a membership account with the Marriott group and we were told that we will receive an email. Never heard from them!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we were looking for a hotel for a weekend in NYC, Manhattan hotel prices were sky-high. Long Island City was a good alternative at a much better price point. Manhattan is only a few subway stops away with a number of lines available. There are 3 subway stations within 2 blocks of the hotel - the walk is easy and safe. With a $30 unlimited Metro card for up to 7 days, it was very easy to get to and around Manhattan. This hotel is also well located for economical transit to JFK using the subway and AirTrain.

The hotel is somewhat new and well maintained. Self-serve breakfast is included, with some hot options. The staff was wonderful and could not have been more helpful. The hotel is located near elevated tracks with trains running through the night, and the train sound can be heard in the rooms. The noise didn't interrupt my sleep, but light sleepers might notice it.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again as a value alternative to Manhattan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel714CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
370 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went to visit our granddaughter in LI City and this location was conveniently located to her new apartment. Excellent service from check in and bellhop staff right to check out. Continental breakfast included with stay had a great selection. Muffins, Bagels, bread, cold & Hot Cereal, juice, yogurts, waffles and even scrambled eggs and sausage. The room while not spacious was clean and the bed very comfortable. The individual heating & cooling controls were all working properly and we were able to control the temperature to our taste. They offer protected valet parking which is best during the week due to parking restrictions. On the weekends you can safely park on street in front of hotel, we did and car was fine. Excellent value for the room, TV and channels offered, free internet and breakfast. Will definitely stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickandPaulineP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Address: 2927 40th Rd, Long Island City, NY 11101-2801 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing