We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel - great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely hotel - great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2005

This is a little gem. Staff was great, very friendly and accommodating. Lobby was glowing and room was very clean. Nice soap and shampoo. Shower faucets a little hard to figure out - had to call to desk clerk (pull out the ring - you'll see).

Breakfast nook with continental breakfast was very nicely stocked and a pleasant place to sit. Other travellers that joined us were tourists, US and foreign, and business travellers.

Our 8th floor room had a fabulous view of the Citibank building and a glorious sunset. (If you stood to look out the window, you could see the junkyard. So sit down. You've had a long day.)

The neighborhood was a little seedy but I felt pretty safe. Take the usual precautions, you're in NYC.

The Comfort Inn is a half block from the elevated Queensborough Plaza "R" train station - if you are at the back of the train coming from Manhattan you can almost see it from the station.

And the Queensborough Plaza station is 5 min from Manhattan (E 59th St) - and in range of anything you want to do in Manhattan. Go the other way on the subway to Broadway or 30th Ave and you have your choice of excellent Greek, Indian, Italian and other ethnic restaurants, most very affordable.

We never would have been able to stay in NY if not for this great place. With AAA discount, less than $130. Great place, great staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    241
    93
    20
    15
See reviews for
106
169
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2005

Rooms were clean, staff friendly, price was great. This is one of the less expensive places to stay in NY, if you do your research then you will know this! The only downside to this hotel was the lack of parking. There are spaces on the street, but you have to make sure you take everything out of your car! leave nothing on show. My car sat there for two days without any problems.

The train/subway is literally 1 minute from the hotel, absolutley ideal for getting to and from the city (goes straight into grand Central or 5th Ave).

The rooms werent huge, but you dont go to NY to sit in your rooms!! They were certainly big enough.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dunkatronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Comfor Inn in Long Island City from July 24-30, 2005. I have been to NYC 4 times and I lived in Greenwich Village during the summer of 2000. Everytime I have been to NYC, the rooms are smaller than a typical hotel room in other parts of the country and sometimes they are a little dirtier than other hotels as well.

This was not the case at the Comfort Inn. Granted, the size of the room was the same small size I'm used to in other hotels in the city that are under $200 per night, but the room itself was very clean and tidy, especially the bathroom, which my wife was pleased to find out.

There is a continental breakfast every morning and the staff was the most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered...anywhere. Everyone from the people serving the breakfast to the desk workers to the cleaning people, they were all very courteous and very professional.

As every other review has stated, the subway is right around the corner from the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful in helping people figure out what train to take and any other info for a New York newbie. Plus, the security guard that was always on duty made everyone feel a little safer. The area looks a little scary if you are not used to city life, but there was never a time that I felt in trouble or anything. My wife and I walked from the subway to the hotel at many different times, including 3am. Never once did I feel in danger or anything. Also, I recommend the pizza joint in the corner. I think the sign says Fried Chicken, but their pizza is great and only $.99 per slice.

All in all, the hotel was great and made for an excellent vacation. Even though we were not staying in Manhattan, the hotel was close enough for us to go home and rest for a couple hours before going back to the city and having dinner or a show or whatever. Hope this helps you in your decision making...

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jordy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Comfort Inn in Long Island for three nights in July 2005. This was our first time in New York and I wasn't sure if stay outside of Manhattan was the right choice but it really turned out OK.
The Comfort Inn in Long Island is just one block from the Queensboro Plaza subway station (lines R,W and 7), and when I say one block I mean that you don't have to walk more than 1 minute to get to the hotel! The area around is a little scary, that's true, but we felt always safe during the day and we did avoid to come back late at night: anyway 1 minute of walk wouldn't be a big deal. I don't think that cabs aren't going there, we actually didn't take any but we saw some running around. The hotel is new, the staff friendly and there always was a guard at the door. The room was tiny but reading at the reviews it seems to be pretty common in New York; however it was clean and nice. The breakfast is adeguate and coffee is available all day long. I didn't gave full rating only because they don't have air conditioning in the hallways and we felt really uncomfortable while waiting the elevator or just walking in and out.
We didn't see many restaurants in the neighborhood, we always ate in Manatthan (5th ave is just 2 subway stops away). I may suggest to get the MTA weekly pass: all the subway/bus rides that you want for 24$ (it's valid 7 days from the first use). We took the MTA transportation also from the LaGuardia airport to the hotel, it took 40 minutes and didn't cost anythigh besides the weekly pass. (Take bus Q33 to Roosvelt Avenue and then subway line number 7 to Queensboro plaza).

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 42-24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing