We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel has the perfect location to the City. It was very clean and comfortable. We wanted a nice place to sleep not to hang out - it fit the bill. I see that someone else commented about room 508- my room. It does face a junk yard but while its not attractive, we didn't mind. It was a good value. Safe neighborhood and one block from the train (number 7 to Manhatten) . The staff was super helpful to. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and location. It will be our pleasure to be of service to you again. Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    241
    93
    20
    15
See reviews for
106
169
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I am orginally from NYC and now live in Palm Springs, Ca for 9 years. I visited NYC one week ago and stayed at this hotel. It is a clean, efficient hotel with a helpful staff. The rooms are small but cosy and very clean. My room, #508 looked out upon a junk yard. The neighborhood is ugly but very safe and the hotel is located near all the subway transportation one could need to get quickly into Manhattan. There is the Queens Borough Plaza station and Queens Plaza subway station. The train ride into Manhattan is about less than 10 minutes. Twenty five minutes to the World Trade Center. Broadway 15 minutes. I noticed that the clientel staying at this hotel seemed to be high end very experienced travelers; Europeans, Middle Eastern, Indian, South American and of course American. You can take the number 7 train to Jacksons Heights (10 minutes) and visit all the international culture and restaurants there. I would stay there again as a former native New Yorker. By the way, there is a complimentary breakfast buffet service in the morning.

Room Tip: I feel all the rooms are the same. They are not noisy eventhough there are the subway lines and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyPalmSprings_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad that you chose to stay with us on your trip back to NY and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to NY. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I arrived super early without even thinking about it, very sleep deprived. The Front desk personal checked me in early without my even having to ask, so nice! He was very polite, he actually suggested information. The hotel felt good when I walked in. When I opened the door to my hotel room I was so happy. It's very cozy and immaculate! Small, but laid out roomy. It's fantastic for a budget hotel. Very quiet. I will def recommend this to everyone;} There are healthy affordable deli's just across the street and around the corner. Free delivery too! The Train is just around the corner, easy. More train lines are 3 blocks over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are thrilled to know that you were pleased with the hotel. We hope that you continue to stay with us when your travels bring you to NY. Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Not the best Comfort Inn. It was a solid "OK" but nothing more. Room cleanliness and furnishings not up to standard. Breakfast area is so small, plan on eating in your room. I've generally had better breakfast offerings in other CI's. Very small room for 2 double beds, difficult for more than 2 people to be comfortable if you have luggage and are interested in cramming more than 2 people in to one room.

The location is great for getting into Manhattan, and despite looking a bit trashy in places it seems safe, and is being revitalized extensively. Hotel is near a commercial area with a few fast food options and convenience stores, and is very close to a subway station. So very convenient and much cheaper than hotels on Manhattan.

I was expecting this hotel to be better than the nearby Quality Inn, but I was surprised in that I would rather stay in the QI again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offbeatopenhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found our hotel to be convenient. Unfortunately, as is the case with most New York City hotels, rooms tend to be on the smaller side. Over the next few months, we will be updating and renovating different room elements. We hope that the changes will make your next stay with us more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked this hotel based on a reference from a friend and the reviews here and were not disappointed.
The obvious pro of this hotel is the distance from a Queensboro Plaza, its a 1 minute walk and it takes about 10 minutes to get to Manhattan. The room was very clean when we arrived and the maids did a good job bringing fresh towels every morning and keeping the room clean.
The breakfast is pretty standard and I've seen much worse, if you don't like what they offer, there is a Subway, small Supermarket, Hamburger Joint and two sandwich/mix of everything places within 2-3 minute walking distance. On that note the area where the breakfast is, is very small and there are only 3-4 tables, but we just brought the breakfast up to out room the one time we couldn't find a place to sit and that was it.
The area around the hotel is nothing special, but it is safe and I had a random act of kindness when a woman told me that I had a bill sticking out of my pocket. At least we felt safer there than in some streets in the big city.
The room size was fine compared to many hotels we have gone to in Europe with bigger price tags, don't know what the standard for rooms size in america but it was plenty enough for two persons and the bathroom was very clean and roomy.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, just talk to them and they will help you out, everything we asked for was done quickly and right.

The overall experience was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC on budget.

Room Tip: We had a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you and your friend who recommended us. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, room, cleanliness and service of our staff. We hope that when your travels bring you from Iceland to NY again, that we can be of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was very disappointed with this hotel and the service that we received. The maids that clean rooms wear masks over their faces. Never seen that before. You'd think that management would indicate that maybe this would scare off some guests. I asked two maids that were working together why they were wearing them and they indicated that it was because they had allergies. Both of them? Really? Interesting.

No extra towels (only one large towel per person), ceiling peeling in the bathroom.

The phone in our room didn't work and when I brought it to hotel staff's attention the response wasn't really adequate. They indicated that the phone may not be able to be fixed but they would try and that if we wanted we could move rooms (that's a big hassle) but needed to notify them before 12pm. We didn't want to move because it would be a big hassle. No one ever came to try and fix the phone.

The rooms were WAY too small. Beware. I stayed in a room for 2 which was only appropriate for 1. I would suggest staying at a competitor hotel in Long Island City.

The bonus for this hotel is its proximity to the metro station. It also was quieter that I expected given some of the other reviews about noise.

Room Tip: don't choose room 401 (seemed very small compared to the other rooms on the floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiagaraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We try our best to remedy any maintenance issues that are brought to our attention on a timely basis. If we are unable to fix it, we offer to change a room. Understandly this may cause an inconvenience for which we are terribly sorry.
As for the housekeepers wearing masks, they feel it necessary to do so since they are constantly exposed to cleaning solutions and solvents, and others may indeed have allergies. Wearing a mask is common practice amongst cleaning staff and we have not seen it deter any of our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The breakfast was terrible, absolutely garbage. "Hot" breakfast meant stale cold bread and cold eggs (disgusting) and warmed but not cooked sausage patties. DON'T EAT THE COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST! Grab a cup of orange juice or apple juice and spend a few bucks somewhere that you won't puke from. But otherwise, good amenities, great space and comfort, and tiny but usable fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingProgrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection. The breakfast is served as per franchise standards and is purchased from approved vendors. Choice Hotels International has extensively researched their breakfast spread via guest feedback and Choice properties, such as ours, provide breakfast as per these standards. We will share your comments with Choice Hotels and our management team. Thank you for your invaluable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#20 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 42-24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing