We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent and close” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent and close”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is a reasonably priced, close to Manhattan hotel that is a very short walk from the subway. The hotel was clean; the rooms were modern and comfortable. The bed was above average. Granite counters in the bathroom and a shower with good water pressure. Large flat screen TV. Breakfast is about what one would expect for the price, but the bakery items were a step above average.
The neighborhood has been changing into more residential area which will continue to improve it over time. A gas station with hot food is next door. The nearby Chinese and Mexican restaurants are less than ideal in appearance, but the food was very good at both. The Mexican restaurant’s staff was fun and helpful and the items on the menu went well beyond Mexican food. Both restaurants are about two blocks away toward the plaza. Dunkin Donuts is a few doors down. Just across the plaza a new Checkers hamburger restaurant about to open. There is a Chase Bank branch with a very helpful staff, and an ATM with a security guard.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgorwoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    253
    97
    20
    15
See reviews for
110
175
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Comfort inn - lic crescent rd.

Location: great location ,right off the 7 and 1min walk from queens plaza subway.

Food: good selection little places to eat, a few pizza spots,chinese, subway, taso deli

Room: one king suite
Large room, clean bathroom , flatscreen

Cons:
Hotel seems a bit older. The room smelled like pee and hallways small. Right next to subway and backs to an alley, so you can hear your neighbors the people yelling in the streets too.

Price: The regular rates for this hotel are average. I would book here again if needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lospec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelousas, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I've stayed here before when I traveled solo. I used priceline and when I arrived, everything was fine.

This trip, not so. I priceline (name your own price) all the time and have never had any problems with room requests unless the hotel is packed. Comfort Inn was not fully booked. When I requested 2 beds, the man at the front desk snidely said that since I paid such a low rate, I would have to 'up grade' to 2 beds to the tune of $40/night. He was quite nasty about it as well. Had he had a better attitude, I probably would have taken it better. He just seemed like an unpleasant fellow. I ended up sleeping between my 15 year old son and my fiance. That was pleasant but it's the chance of NYOP priceline. **The other front desk guy was quite friendly and pleasant.

We then had to go down to get towels and cups since there weren't nearly enough towels (even for 2 people). The hallway smelled like old, musty dog and the room wasn't much better.

I can't complain about the view or the subway. We weren't there for the view but we did appreciate the close proximity of the subway.

The breakfast was pretty good with plenty to chose from considering it's free and it's pretty much exactly what you expect from a continental breakfast.

The proximity to Queens Plaza subway station is great. You couldn't get much closer. The neighborhood has always been fine for me but is a bit desolate at night so even though I lived in NYC for many years, I still walk with a purpose when coming back late.

Overall, it was a fine enough hotel the first time but crap the second.

I might stay again if the bed preference wasn't an issue. Although, by the time we paid for the 3 of us to get to and from the city, we should have just paid the extra to stay in the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuggleTonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to know that you are a repeat customer, and would love have you stay with us again.
When it comes to booking rooms through Priceline, you have the option to select the room type you would like, or bid for a room. When you bid, Priceline will take the lowest priced room, which happens to be a single bed room. If you need to make the change to a higher priced room, then a fee will apply.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered at check-in. We hope that you find it to be an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

I was two 1/2 blocks from the metro, so I feel, even in the later evening hours, as long as I walk with a purpose, I can probably make it to the hotel unscathed. The hotel pictures show a treadmill. The front desk said "we have no treadmill" and low and behold, there was empty floor space where a treadmill once was. Breakfast wasn't bad. There was some lite yogurt and hard boiled egg for protein. Overall not bad for the price to sleep and have breakfast.

Room Tip: Queen beds are on the opposite side of the subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at Comfort Inn Long Island City, for ten nights while visiting New York for Macy's Thanksgiving day parade and lighting of the Rockerfeller Tree. We chose this hotel mainly for the price, much cheaper than staying in Manhattan so more to spend on other things.We had a twin room on the 7th floor. The hotel was very clean, comfortable beds, and a offered a decent enough complimentary breakfast, the staff were all very pleasant. We used the subway to get into the city. Queensboro Plaza station is on the doorstep and only took about 10 minutes to get to and from Times Square, we usually came back late, never before midnight and never felt unsafe.in the area. I would stay here again, it is a good hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debby-anny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel over Thanksgiving weekend, because we could not find any decent lodging in or near midtown for under $350/nt. At under $150/nt, this hotel is everything we could have asked for. Queensboro Station is 1 block away, Queens Plaza station is 2 blocks away. It was easy to get anywhere we wanted to go. Friendly and helpful staff (good directions), clean rooms, comfy beds, hot showers, fast and free wifi. There is a deli on the corner, but little else in the area, but then we were only in the room to sleep, shower, and change clothes. If you look at a subway map you will see that this hotel has quick access to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and other midtown hot spots. Honestly, I prefer staying in midtown for an affordable price, but if nothing is available, I would gladly stay here again. Every dollar I save on my room is a dollar I can spend on shows and food.

Room Tip: Our friends found their room on the bottom floor noisy, so stay on 2 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darwinmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Chose this hotel while visiting NYC as a tourist and to go to the Macy's parade. Clean and comfortable, room was modern and very clean. Front desk staff helpful. We were able to park our car on the street (free) right in front of the hotel -- can't beat that. Area felt safe, easy walk to subway. Breakfast offered lots of variety. A great value -- we saved hundreds

Room Tip: Typical city noises -- we travel with a white noise machine and nothing bothered us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#21 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 42-24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing