We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay...”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for four nights during our first visit to New York. We had read the TripAdvisor reviews and took the word of others who had stayed there. We are glad we did - it was a nice, clean hotel very close to all of the action for a reasonable price. Because you have to take the subway back and forth to the hotel, consider buying a seven-day subway pass for $29 instead of paying $2.25 per trip (it adds up quickly if you are there for even a couple of days). Although the area looks a little dicey at first glance, we had no problems or concerns during our stay, even when returning to the hotel late at night. It was a quiet location, great after a tiring day exploring the city. The room was very small but adequate and the bathroom was a good size. There was also a safe in the room but it did not have a fridge and I thought it would (our room only had one double bed). Our only complaint was that the phone in our room did not work. Despite at least three requests, the phone was never fixed. Not a huge deal, but just an annoyance. There is a little store on the corner that sells a variety of sandwiches and cakes (the cheesecake was delicious!) I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank You for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn - LIC.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you had to face as a result of some technical problems with the phone that we were not able to address during your stay. That problem has been rectified and we hope that you consider this as an isolated incident and consider staying with us again on your next visit to New York City. As you rightly pointed out, we are very conveniently located just a block away from the NYC Subways and just minutes from Manhattan. With Free Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi we hope to make your stay even more comfortable. Very soon all our rooms will feature Flat Screen TVs and HD programming as well.
Thank You again for choosing the Comfort Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 531 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was my third trip to NYC. (visits with my son) My previously used hotel in the area was booked. I decided to choose the Comfort Inn after reading Tripadvisor's reviews. I was very satisfied; it will be my hotel of choice for my next trip. I found the area to be very safe--one short block to the subway (Q,N,7). I never felt nervous walking to the subway. Yes, it is in an industrial area, but on a one way street, 24 hr.small eatery on corner. The rooms are, indeed, very small. If you plan on staying in the room long, this may not be the place for you. It was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had a small issue with tv, fixed immediately. The price was right. The breakfast room is small, but we never had a problem with seating. I have already spoken to other family members about staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patirooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The location is great if you need a cheap place to stay that feels safe and clean. Staff is very nice. Be aware that the beds are very small and the room is also very small. The bed size was definitely not a full size, it was about as big as a twin and a half, I've never seen beds that size. While it is true that there is a view of a junkyard, it is not unsafe feeling. Just an industrial area. The first night we stayed there the noise from our neighbor was terrible, the second night we were there it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewilhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I recently moved back to Manhattan after seven years in the SF Bay Area. His job is in Midtown. We knew there were several modestly priced (by NYC standards) hotels in Long Island City, Queens. They are a reasonable subway ride into Manhattan under the Queensboro (59th St) bridge on either the N/Q or the R. We stayed for three nights at the Days Inn a few blocks away but the noise (both from the subway/elevated train and other guests) was excessive. We moved to the Comfort Inn. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very accommodating. We asked for a quiet room - we got one on the top floor. There was never noise from other guests. While the elevated train was nearby, the building was solidly constructed and the sound was not a problem. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was sufficiently large. The breakfast bar was more than adequate and well-stocked through the entire cycle. An attendent kept the breakfast room clean and welcoming. All hotel employees were friendly and professional. The room was small but sufficient. The price fluctuated a bit during our stay due to occupancy levels, but it was still on average 1/2 the price of a comparable room in Manhattan (two miles away). The only complaint --- Not enough selection on the TV channels. We stayed for over three weeks until our apartment was available in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Its closer the subway station with is a must have in NY. The staff are kind. And that's all. Rooms are badly cleaned and it is sourounded by dumpyards that make, at least, an unpleasant view on the bedroom window.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luizclaudiotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience. We take pride in being one of the cleanest hotels in Long Island City and most of the reviews shared by our guets will confirm that.
If any cleanliness issue is brought to our attention, we take prompt action. Your satisfaction is our top priority.
As any NYC resident or frequet traveler will tell you, there is not much that can be done about the scrap metal yard (not dump yard) across the hotel, Our location in terms or proximity to Manhattan is unbeatable and we take pride in the comfort and services offered to our guest.
. Long Island City is the fastest growing neighborhood in NYC and it is undergoing a lot of beautification profjects and is quickly becoming a hub for great hotels.
We hope you will consider staying at our hotel on your future visits. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn with 12 other family members back in June. We chose this hotel becuase of its proximity to Midtown, subway access, and the cruise ship docks (about 15 minutes away). This hotel also had a complimentary breakfast and some limited free parking (6 parking spots). The combination of location, money savings (free breakfast and parking), and good reviews on Trip Advisor also prompted us to pick this hotel. We were not disappointed. We were able to aquire 3 or the 6 parking spots which saved us well over a thousand dollars in parking costs between the 3 families during our 10 day stay. The rooms, though small, were clean and well maintained. Nice soft beds and linens. The only complaints we had about the hotel were a sluggish toilet (that didn't want to flush) and the breakfast bar did not have creamer or half and half for coffee. Overall a great value and location for anyone looking for a nice place to stay when visiting New York. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel to spend a lot of time relaxing in- this may not be the place for you. We spent most of our time out exploring the city's museums, sites, and sounds and for the limited time we spent in the room- this hotel was just right!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a great hotel, in an excellent location.
The rooms are a reasonable size, especially for New York, clean, with very comfortable beds and office chair. There is NO EVIDENCE OF BED BUGS. Free wi-fi internet access, which worked very well with my cell phone, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel, and two PCs (with printer) are available in the business center downstairs.
The staff here are excellent, friendly and very knowledgeable. They all make you feel at home.
One very short block from the hotel is Queensboro Plaza subway station with the N, Q and 7 (including 7x) lines. One stop on the N or Q line is Manhattan, and Times Square can be quickly reached on the 7 line. At nearby Queens Plaza subway station, the E line is good for accessing JFK airport (via AirTrain JFK) or Penn Station (for Newark Airport).
The hotel is close to a very good laundromat, "Express 1" at 21-39 45th St, with helpful staff and a pleasant environment.
I would definitively return to Comfort Inn, LIC.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomtomone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank You for sharing your reviews. We are glad that your stay at our hotel was a comfortable one. We apprecaite you taking the time to write this review and I am sure other NYC travellers will also appreciate the details that you have shared about our hotel amenities, transportation options and more. We hope you consider staying with us during your next visit to NY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#27 of 34 in Long Island City
1,871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#31 of 34 in Long Island City
1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#16 of 34 in Long Island City
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 34 in Long Island City
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 4224 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-4217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: $99 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing