We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice farm to table menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sage General Store

Sage General Store
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice farm to table menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Very quaint atmosphere with 2 for 1 beer and wine during happy hour to 7 pm. They use organic chickens and a wood burning oven for a very moist and generous entree served with their creamy Mac n cheese. My daughter and I shared this with a very generous roasted pear salad. They have some vegetarian and gluten free options. My husband had the skate fish schnitzel which was delicious. We shared a slice of butterscotch and pecan cake served with a caramel sauce. Recommend it if you are in Long Island City. Take the Court square stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraGlenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

nice quick yummy breakfast sandwich on our way out of town. Would definitely stop here again when in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
187 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Twice the Price of a Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We ate here on recommendation of our daughter who had seen it on TV. The name is misleading as it is not a store in any way. It's website was wrong also about the hours it was open so call first. We were seated promptly and my husband ordered a raspberry lemonade on the urging of the waitress. $4 for a small mason jar and NO refills! Not worth it, not that tasty, bland and sweetish.

I tried the $28 3 course meal of a simple salad, 1/2 a roasted chicken with mac-n-cheese, and cream filled cupcake. The salad was simple indeed, fresh greens dressed only in what seemed to be lemon juice. I am used to that and enjoyed it but my husband did not. The chicken was moist and tasty but, to be honest, at twice the price of the diner up the street, it was not twice as good. The mac-n-cheese was creamy white with fresh basil leaves and bits of tomato. It was very good. There was no bread offered. I ended with a cream filled chocolate cupcake which was a good basic cupcake.

My husband had the blueplate special which was chili with rice. It was an ample portion but not the best chili I have had, a bit bland with finely ground beef. However the price is not special, and was not listed beforehand, at $18. My husband was shocked.

Because there is a diner across the road with prices half what these are I don't think I would choose to go here again except for the mac-n-cheese, available by itself for $14. New York is an expensive place and with so many restaurants and fantastic street food to choose from, as a tourist I would use that money elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Labpyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A gem in Long Island City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My son read about this place and suggested that we go. I am SOOO glad that we did! A quaint, quiet, old timey looking place with impeccable food and fine service. I had the mac and cheese (so creamy), my wife had salmon ( done perfectly), my son had prix fixe roasted chicken (moist/ tasty), and his girl had salad and polenta ( polenta was creamy, moist, tasty). We will certainly be back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clifford K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprising Find L.I.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you're looking for an exceptional yet casual restaurant in Long Island City, look no further than Sage General Store. My friend and I stumbled upon this restaurant during an afternoon NYC walk. Enticed by the rich colorful dishes of the diners, we made it a point to come back for a meal. A meal worth the trek outside the city boarders. FYI an easy subway ride too. The staff is friendly and courteous, and the food, fresh and savory. It's nothing fancy, but probably the ideal place to find scrumptious sandwiches, savory salads, and desserts. If you're a runner like I am , take a run from NYC over the 59th St. Bridge and indulge in a cup of coffee and a bakery treat. You can always run across the bridge with your new found energy, or hop on the 7,E,G, and M back home.

Well priced, great for friends, work lunches, brunch, and to-go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aroundjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage General Store also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Sage General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing