We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    442
    197
    60
    49
See reviews for
365
320
63
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

There are lots of things to say about hotel and its neighboorhood. I will try my best.

Hotel is so near to Manhattan, there is a subway station from two blocks away from hotel, approximately 7 minutes walking distance, there is also free shuttle from hotel to station in each thirty minutes. First station in Manhatton is Lexington Avenue and second one is 5th Avenue. After taking air train in the JFK, you can go to hotel directly with E train.

Do not spend so much money to stay in Manhattan because hotel is very clean, comfortable, cheap, new... Also hotel staff are very friendly. They are always ready to help you.

When you have a look location of the hotel on the map, you can think that it locates in a dangerous environment, but truth is different, stayed 10 nights with my wife and almost turned back to hotel at nights and did not have and see any problem at the around.

There is a PC on the lobby, and wifi in the hotel. You can use PC freely and can take print out if you need. There is an ice machine in the fourth floor. There is a weight on the lobby, you can need it before go to airport after a huge shopping in NY :)

I hope my comments help you to choose a right place in NY.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilyas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

We appreciate you sharing your excellent experience with everyone and really hope you can come back and visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there 10 nights during my stay in NY. I chose this hotel because it was closed to Manhattan and seemed to offer great comfort comparing to other hotels (for the same budget in Manhattan). I was absolutely pleased with the room and the staff was very welcoming and helpful.
The room was of a decent size, with a king size bed, 2 bedside tables, flatscreen tv, air conditionning, a small safe, and a nice bathroom including a shower. Everything was cleaned everyday.

Positive points :
- it's a very decent price for the location and comfort.
- Only 1 subway stop from Grand Central in Manhanttan. If you can't be bothered to walk to the station (5-10mins walk), the hotel provides a free shuttle bus every 30 mins that takes you there. Because we were only 2 girls, we always took a cab to go back to the hotel at night and from Grand Central, we paid a maximum of $15 per ride.
- There are many nice restaurants and take away 2 mins away from the hotel. (Italian, Cuban etc...)
- If you go for a walk by the East River (5mins walk from the hotel), you will find yourself in a very nice area, garden like, offering a great view of Manhattan.

Negative Points :
- they should totally do something about their breakfast. We were told it was served at the restaurant of the hotel. We got there one morning and were not offered a table but a bag with a disgusting croissant, a muffin, a granola bar and a rotten orange.... $8 for that. We had to eat in our room or at the bar because the tables of the restaurant were only for lunch or dinner... even though it was 9am and the restaurant was empty.
- the air conditionning is by the bed. Considering the window can't really be opened, we had to use the air conditionning to get some fresh air in the room and if you're on the bed, you get that cold air straight in your face. I got sick after 3-4 days.
- the wardrobe was too small for me and my cousin to unpack both suitcases.

All in all, i would totally recommend that hotel if you want to stay in NYC with a decent budget and comfort. Though, if you are very fussy about breakfast and determined to have it at the hotel, or need a lot of space in the room, i doubt this will be a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

We appreciate your feedback and are in the process working out improvements with breakfast. We have a multitude of options in the neighborhood for breakfast and our shuttle brings guests right by those places and the subway is right near all those options as well. Should our future guests need a larger room please note we have higher level roomtypes that can be booked at wyndham.com for a higher price point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you plan to visit Manhattan not spending a crazy amount of money and not beinf in a seedy hotel for the price you pay this is your hotel.

Located in Long Island may be something that discourages you to consider this hotel. Do not do so. The hotel is 500 away from subway and only two subway stops away from 5th avenue and 53th street. No more than 5 minutes. Excellent location even though you are not in Manhattan.

Hotel is new, clean and with reasonable room space, not small and bigger than same option in Manhattan. Lobby is small but desk employees are helpful and courteous. Views are very good. When you get out of subway and walk to the hotel views of skyline of Manhattan are very good.

Neighborhood can initially scare you considering it has an industrial look. When you take a closer look you realize that it does not seem dangerous or with suspicious people. Breakfast locations around hotel are good and with people going to work and it is when you understand that the area is a working class area. I definitely verify when after renting a car and trying to pick up my family from the hotel it was impossible to park because all parking spaces where occupied with people working in the area and you remember that the hotel had parking space, a plus for this hotel also.

Take this option or consider it carefully if you plan to visit Manhattan, want to stay in a very nice, clean and new hotel and do not want to pay Manhattan crazy prices for the same quality.

I plan to come back to visit Manhattan next year and my first option will be for sure this hotel.

Room Tip: Take this option if you do not want to spend too much money to visit Manhattan. Do not be discourage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

We are so happy that you shared your experienced and shared such an accurate and well thought out detail about our hotel and the neighborhood. This will help all our future guests understand that they are staying in a real NYC neighborhood with easy access to Manhattan. The neighborhood as you stated is mixed use with both Industrial, Corporate and HIGH END Residential so we are quite a safe are and again very happy and grateful you shared your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Property: Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Address: 4429 9th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-7002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing