We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel; more like a lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Pros:
Location: Located in a "quiet" corner near subway station. Very easy to get to Manhattan. There are a number of different types of restaurants within 10 minutes walk. Ask the reception, they will guide you.
Price: Reasonable compared to hotels in the city
Clean and modern hotel
Cons:
Not a 3 star hotel; more like a lodge. Very small. Appears much bigger in the pictures
Beware of the Manhattan view claim. We paid extra for Manhattan view room but got a room on third floor with no view. On pointing out that we had paid extra for the view, we were told - "sorry, that is the only room available". In my view this amounts to cheating but the hotel staff do not think so.
Cleaning staff was OK but forgot to refill supplies. On request, these were provided immediately.

Overall, would we recommend this hotel? NO. Would we recommend the area? - YES. You would be better of to look for some other hotel (a bigger one) in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Insist on a higher floor room, if you have already booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugjerry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can. We are sorry if there was a mix up on your room type. We would reduce the rate if we did not provide you with the room you booked so I am curious to know what room you were in. If you would like to email me your name I can investigate this further.

For our future guests, the hotel is far from anything like a lodge and we are definitely a 3 star brand new modern appointed hotel. Please see other reviews for accurate description of our hotel. We strive very hard to make sure all our guests are happy and will investigate and compensate should we not meet our own high quality goal nor provide what was booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank jcb4255
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Timo J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were looking for price and quality for 9 nights on New York City. Manhattan hotels kept us away for its prices. So we managed to be in the Wyndham in a very good bedroom, very clean, quiet at all times from Apr, 8th to the 17th, great staff. It's a 7-minute walk to the subway line. We got a 7-day unlimited subway pass and that was GREAT. When I come back I'll deffinately stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLDCardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

Be sure to come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very nice and modern hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Very close to a subway station, so Manhattan was just a few blocks away!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank ingridvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is in a very silent area, just 3 block walk (5minutes) to the subway and in less than 10 minutes you are at the timesquare. It's also possible to use the hotelshuttle to the subway station.
The room was very nice and clean and we could see Manhattan from our room.
It was no problem to deposit the luggage in the hotel at departure-day. The staff was very helpful.

We enjoyed the trip and can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
1,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
803 reviews
1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#3 of 34 in Long Island City
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Four Points by Sheraton Long Isl...
#22 of 34 in Long Island City
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#8 of 34 in Long Island City
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Address: 4429 9th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-7002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: $114 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing