We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient property in Queens and adjacent to Manhattan...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    406
    172
    52
    40
See reviews for
323
284
58
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for a week for business. It was modern, clean and staff was great. The view is fantastic and there are plenty of places to eat in walking distance or their shuttle drivers will happily take you. Restaurant on the ground level was excellent Italian and not too expensive. I will stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate it and look forward you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stay in New York City frequently and in the USA a lot. I booked this trip with two nights through Expedia and 8 nights through the hotel directly. I wanted to ensure I had a great view of the city including the Empire State Building and checked this with the hotel prior to my arrival.

When I arrived I checked in and was required to pay an extra $50 per night as a deposit despite them having my credit card details. I've never had this happen before. I was also told they had merged the two "stays" together so that i wouldn't be disturbed when the booking changes after two days. Then I was told the restaurant was downstairs and breakfast served up until 10am. I asked if breakfast was included in the room rate and told yes it was. We went to the room to discover a view of a power station and unattractive buildings. The room itself is very nice and comfy but the view was poor and I certainly could not see the Empire State Building.

The first morning we went down for breakfast at 9.45 to be told the restaurant was closed for breakfast for the day despite being told otherwise. Another guest was also having a similar problem.

The next day we went for breakfast and was charged $31 for it as the restaurant, who are a different company said it isn't included in the room which the reception then confirmed despite being told otherwise on check in.

After the first two nights we were also called in the room at 11.30 and asked to check-out. I explained that we had a further 8 nights here booked directly with the hotel and the chap said we had to physically come down to check out and re-check in again. I was not happy about this and eventually he saw on his computer that the original receptionist had checked us in for the entire stay. He apologised for disturbing us but a quick check beforehand would have saved annoying me and causing this argument.

Sad to say I won't be staying here again, I've stayed in lots of better hotels which have been significantly cheaper and the "view" isn't worth the extra money. I've got two other parties staying here at the same time and I feel embarrassed that I suggested they book this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do strive to make all our guests happy and apologize for the glitches. We understand we may not be the right hotel for you and again are sorry you did not have the experience you were looking for. In regards to your breakfast, Even though we do not offer free breakfast nor advertise that we do offer it, the 31.00 breakfast charge was removed from your bill as a courtesy of the hotel and restaurant. There may have been a misunderstanding and we do apologize for the communication error as our agents do say we offer breakfast downstairs in our restaurant, but it is not complimentary.

We do have view rooms, but do not advertise them as views of the Empire State Building. We boast views of the Queens Borough Bridge and Upper East Side of Manhattan and the developing part of LIC area.

Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay. Still reasonably new, and only 10mins from Manhattan on the subway. They are only too pleased to pick you up from the subway on return (and drop you in). Picked us up in the middle of a snowstorm - awesome service, and a great relief at the time.
Really the only reason we didn't give excellent was because they couldn't provide us with plain tea bags, only herbal teas. Some ordinary breakfast teas would have been appreciated. Having said that, the little coffee maker was great - really easy and quick, with nice coffee.
Don't expect a beautiful view, it's really quite industrial, but a nice view of the bridge.
Surprisingly quiet considering how close it is to Manhattan.
I'd definitely return, and also recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank figleaf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We really appreicate your review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you staying with us in the near future. Thank you again very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#9 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Property: Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Address: 44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing