We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Glitches, but no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Glitches, but no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room wasn't quite big enough for two large single beds, but we made it work.

The hot water wasn't working when we arrived but was taken care of promptly.

The bathroom had a broken bulb but it was soon replaced.

The safe stopped working but was quickly fixed.

Little things. Not the kind of things to bother me.

Clean, bright, modern, comfortable, affordable. Good wifi, good water pressure, iPod speaker dock, interesting neighbourhood with some great restaurants less than ten minutes walk and, just around the corner, the Manhattan skyline. Very helpful and flexible staff, taxis arrived quickly, $25 to LaGuardia.

I like it.

Room Tip: It's generally a quiet neighbourhood and the windows are good. Rooms on the high floors have vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and do apologize for the minor glitches. We are very happy to see that those issues were corrected promptly. We very much look forward to having you back with us and just so you and our future guests know we do have larger rooms that you can book if you feel that room was a bit tight for you. The large rooms are at a higher cost, but I think will meet your needs.

Thank you again so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    406
    172
    52
    40
See reviews for
323
284
58
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very uncomfortable bedding and pillow. The walls were thin. The front desk "confused" my reservation though they had it up on their computer. The front desk couldn't give me a clear answer to my questions or problems. Did not feel welcome and I do not want to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and are sorry you did not feel welcome. Our goal is to make all our guests feel welcome. We hope you will try us again. As you see by our other reviews an unwelcoming experience is not what we provide on a consistent basis.

If you would be so kind to contact the hotel and let us know what room you were in as the bedding and pillow comment comes as a great shock to us. We get mulitples of inquiries as to how to purchase the type of mattress and pillows all our guest rooms have. We would like to know what room that was so we can inspect it and see if there is an issue of some kind.

Thank you so much for your feedback and we wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. I stayed there with my son for 3 nights because he was moving to NYC and we had to look for an apartment. When we checked in the staff was very friendly and called us once we got to our room to make sure it was satisfactory. Every evening and morning they greeted us and asked us about our day. They were very friendly and if we needed any help or suggestions, I am sure they would have been more than happy to help us.
The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.
The last day we were there, we went into Manhattan. It was very easy from this hotel. They do have a shuttle but we walked to the subway stop.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hath7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you shared you experience with everyone and we very much look forward to you coming back to see us when you come visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was convenient for my business trip in Long Island City. Decent food in the area but a bit secluded if you don't know the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Our neighborhood is quite ecelectic as we like to say. We are in an up and coming area, but there is a lot to do in our neighborhood, from a beautiful water front park to a multitude of Museums and Art Galleries. We are also just 3 blocks from the subway and 1 stop from Manhattan.

We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights. On the first day there was a problem with the shower, but we immediately got a new room with a top view to Manhattan. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us everywhere, it couldn't be better!
The rooms were clean and what we really liked was the coffee/tee machine in the rooms. Hte rooms are rather new (I think max. 2 years old)
It is not far to the subway station (~5min) and there is also a shuttle bus which brings you directly to the station you want.
We would recommend this hotel. The friendly staff and the beatiful hotel for a good price are the main points for our recommendation. If we come back to NY, we would again stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do apologize for the hiccup on the shower, but am happy we rectified it to your satisfaction. As a matter of fact for all our guests we are about to celebrate our 1 years opening anniversary on April 5.

We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Wyndham Garden for 2 nights and it was wonderful! The room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk clerk didn't really say much when we checked in but check us in quickly. The subway station is very near by to the hotel, and whatever line you take to get into the city it is only 2 or 3 stops away from any major landmarks you want to go to. On our second day at the hotel we were on a tight schedule and we didn't have time to go find a restaurant to have breakfast, so we ordered room service and the food came in a fairly in time and the good was very good. The only problem I had at the hotel they miss charged me for my room service but before we checked out they slip a copy of the folio with the expected balance. The front desk staff was able to fix the problem with no problems. But overall this was a great stay for a hotel in NYC. If and when I can I will be sure to come back to this hotel or let anyone I know to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esolyankee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are sorry for the minor hiccup you experience, but glad we corrected it to your satisfaction.

We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#9 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Property: Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Address: 44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing