We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ay Si - CLOSED

El Ay Si
Cuisines: American
Description: Great american comfort food with a southern flair.
Restaurant details
Description: Great american comfort food with a southern flair.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went here for Sunday brunch with our son who lives in the neighborhood. The restaurant is cozy (or small, depending on your viewpoint), but the food was excellent, service was great and the prices were outstanding for New York. Also, each meal came with either a Mimosa or Bloody Mary, both of which were very good. We had the mac and cheese which was made with several cheeses and bacon, french toast and traditional eggs with potatoes. All were delicious. Definitely will become somewhere we go each time we visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, good people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. The menu is small and focused. I came here with a Groupon and didn't expect much. But I was wrong. The pulled pork tacos are excellent. The service is excellent. The space is really small.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fashioncory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and margarita”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

You definitely need to go there if you live in the area. Try the roast pork and Mac/cheese. Also their drinks are pretty good too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mergen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food at El Ay Si is flavorful and creative. The Chicken Fried Chicken is great, and the Pork Belly with Apples is unreal. Do yourself a favor and eat here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, ambience and the food hit the spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My friend and I came here and had a groupon and was welcomed graciously. There were no separate menus or restrictions for having a groupon. (yippee) The place is small and quaint but cute and reminds you of a little spot in the Caribbean. The staff were down to earth and cool. The music was great and it was really a cool vibe. The food was slamminggggg. I had the fried chicken, mash potato's and string beans and ate very crumb from my plate. My friend had the pork tacos with salad and she devoured hers. I tasted her and it was really tasty. They only accept cash and the only negative thing I can say about this place is that there is a lack of parking. We had to drive around for almost 30 minutes before we found parking, ughh.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ay Si also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing