We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Long Island City
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
kraft4a3
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with 8 year old son. Needed a hotel between Citifield and Manhattan. It was a half mile walk to the convenient 7 train. The walk was safe even at midnight when returning from Citifield.

Service was good. Room was clean. Showers an AC/Heat worked. Some fixtures broke but didn't effect functionality.

We slept well. Breakfast was just enough to get us going. Free wifi worked well.

We spent little time at the hotel so it was just good enough to serve its purpose. If you are looking for a great place to spend time this not the hotel for you. If you need a place to sleep and shower it will meet your expectations.

People we dealt with were friendly and helpful.

Found a safe place to stay and we were happy. A little traffic noise due to location, but I am a light sleeper and slept fine.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kraft4a3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    202
    127
    69
    66
See reviews for
165
177
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

i've been staying at this hotel for a long time now, never had a problem.... breakfast had no plates, no fruit, no yogurt, and no juices. how can that even be acceptable by Red Roof?and my microwave and my refrigerator was not working. my complaint goes to the MANAGER i believe his name was Sanjay. i don't know where they found this man im sorry to say but i never met such a rude uneducated hotel manger in my years of traveling, not only to my husband and I but even to his own employers you can see on the outside the way he belittles them and talks to them as if they were nobodys im disgusted that someone can talk to their own workers in such way. especially when there is eyes and ears everywhere. ive asked to talk to the manager several times during my stay and he just brushed me off and pretended he was on his cellular device he walked by me about 5 different times knowing i was waiting to talk to him and didn't even look my way, he treated me as if i was not a paying customer or even a person at all. he uses the front desk as his messanger instead of being a MANAGER and hearing what we had to say. he did not care at all. he does not greet anyone or have any hotel hospitality. the front desk people were very nice i checked in with Bianca very well mannered i had a reservation but it was not in their system we were very upset since we made it in January im happy to say she did everything she could to put our reservation in the computer when they were sold out and did get us the room we booked for. she handled everything very well being that when we checked in it was very busy in the lobby and she was on her own, she kept calm and was very friendly this is what guests look for, followed by luiz very funny guy. i always come to this hotel and everything always was on point until our last stay a manager is the face of the hotel. why would red roof hire someone with no customer service skills is beyond me you can not have someone like that working with people traveling from allover. i will not be coming back to this hotel, we had the worse stay here,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lAUlawrson411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is great value for money. Walking distance from station to Manhatten with free shuttle service available to station. Unlimited hot drinks 24 hours and good continental breakfast make this hotel a really good base for exploring New York City. Free wi fi and communication package. The staff are so friendly with nothing too much trouble - particular mention to Luiz on reception who goes the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. We will use this hotel again when visiting NYC

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Free parking, SWEET! This hotel was clean and the staff was super sweet and funny!!!!! They offer free shuttle from certain times to the 7 train that runs into the city (which is not a long walk if you miss the shuttle times! its in a nice area). I was super scared when i booked my room and was super excited when i arrived and the room was really clean!!! The only complaint i had was that the room was a little musty smelling like a leak had happened and it was not caught for a wile. I did not have the breakfast so i have no comment about that!!! I would recommend this hotel!!! I am a picky person when it comes to hotels as i have worked house keeping and know how things work and what normal people dont look for! Its a good price :).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxjustkiddingxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, NH
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We had been to a Red Roof Inn in So. Deerfield, MA in February and the property was very good. So when I looked for hotels in the NYC area that were a good bargain I booked it. Sorry to say I made a mistake. We guy there 25 minutes before checkin and they would not do a thing for us. The room was small and had few amenities. The bathroom was awful, could not close the shower curtain. The subway was much further than they said in their add. There was a shuttle to it but it did not run in time and stopped at 7:00pm. The breakfast was only fair and there was no place close to walk to eat. My suggestion is to really check any place out more thoroughly before you book.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luckycatGoffstown_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This property is a bit hard to find but once you get there it is pretty good and for the price a great deal. Limited parking . Close to Expressway. Fairly decent breakfast. rooms appear recently updated. I thought the staff was very helpful. If planning to be in Mahatten a lot not the best location but for Brooklyn and east of Manhatten a good deal. Would stay there agan . paid 75 a night on Hotwire for 2 night weekend stay. FOr NYC that is a bargain

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, overall the hotell standard is OK. The rooms are clean, lots of hot water in the showers etc. short walk(10 min) to subway(40 lowry street) and a great diner (petes diner)

The Subway takes you in to the center of manhattan, grand central/times square.

The breakfast on red roof inn is OK!

friendly staff, and helpfull reception!

Room Tip: if you can choose room, choose one not on the ground floor, it could be a bit noisy when people came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 33 in Long Island City
1,696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City View Inn
City View Inn
#28 of 33 in Long Island City
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#31 of 33 in Long Island City
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Island City

Property: Best Western Long Island City
Address: 3805 Hunters Point Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-1915 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling for business or leisure, the Best Western® Long Island City is the ideal place to call your home away from home. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, limited complimentary parking for compact cars only and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western® Long Island City is located 20 minutes from Manhattan, New York City, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the United Nation Building. We are minutes away from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), 30 minutes from John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and within walking distance to the MTA station (subway). Our 24 hour Guest Services Agents are available at the front desk to assist you with any questions or information you may need. We welcome the opportunity to call you our guest and we hope that you make the Best Western® Long Island City part of you experience in New York City. Newly renovated June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Best Western Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing