We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming INN in a New York Blizzard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Long Island City
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming INN in a New York Blizzard”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had been driving for 8 hours when we finally arrived at Red Roof #771, Long Island City. Fortunately at about 3:45 that afternoon we had called at made reservations for this Inn. Due to the Blizzard we had only driven 151 miles in that 8 hours so were very ready to get out of the car and settled in to a warm comfortable room. Never having driven in the actual BIG APPLE before, we drove by the Inn once, but GPS brought us back around and we spotted the glowing RED ROOF sign. There were NO parking spots due to the deep snow, so I went into the desk to check in and ask about parking. Ignacio Fonseca, the GM went outside in the snow, got into the car with my husband and guided him to a parking spot, even placing an official parking permit in our window. How's that for a truly kind and friendly Inn manager!!! The Inn was at about 95% occupancy due to the storm but we had a comfortable, clean and warm double room. Loved how the heater worked-- could be set to come on or go off automatically. Unlike many motel rooms. In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious waffle breakfast with strawberry sauce, prepared in the Inn breakfast room by a lovely Russian/American lady. We would recommend this Inn to anyone traveling in New York City. Excellent staff and place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneDeeSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Ignacio Fonseca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    198
    125
    69
    63
See reviews for
156
175
43
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The Red Roof Inn was really nice. I loved how comforting it was. It was quiet and felt very safe. All the staff were really kind and the manager Ignacio was also very helpful. The rooms were well cleaned too. The best part was the breakfast, i loved the waffles, they were so delicious. I had a great stay at the Red Roof Inn!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avenel, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the Red Roof Inn on my last visit. The service was really good and the employees were all very friendly. You can tell they work as a team and as a family to provide the best quality service possible. My favorite part was definitely the waffles at breakfast! They are huge and delicious! The manager, Ignacio Fonseca was very attentive and helpful along with the front desk workers. The cleanliness was great, I felt comfortable. Everything was neat and organized. I am definitely coming back soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avenel, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My experience at the Red Roof Inn was great! I went to stay for the weekend with a couple of friends and the rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. The location was really good as well. It was close to a restaurant i went to and it wasn't too far from the train station. The hotel was quiet and felt very peaceful. The manager, Ignacio was also very kind. The price was was really worth it. My stay at the Red Roof Inn was fun!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Red Roof Inn was really nice. Not far from the train..extremely quiet area. Clean and peaceful. Brian, the shuttle driver, was extremely pleasant and helpful with a wonderful personality. Great person. I would definitely come back here. It was a pleasure to meet someone genuinely interested in knowing that I wwas going to enjoy our stay and when I left, he was just as thoughtful. The front desk staff was extremely nice as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle...nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaTorres51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Location is awesome. Short 10min stroll in a safe neighbourhood to the Subway station. Hotel is a little tired. We booked 2 rooms as we are a young family of 7 visiting New York for the first time.
We traveled in Dec 2012

1x room smelt aweful....from mildew, we later noticed that the carpet was still soaked, must have been from the previous people. When we first walked in the room they had an industrial blow dryer on the carpet. After 2 days of complaining we were finally moved to another room. Late that day I noticed that other people were in the room..there is no way that smell would have gone by then.

Staff were hit and miss....not exceptional but also not too sour. The dining area is quite small.
Nothing is cheap in New York so besides the negatives we did enjoy our stay...and if we ever have the opportunity to go back the RRI is good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the $29 weekly Subway pass.....best value Carry enough coins for the phonebox at the Subway sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
Please take my apologies for any inconvenience, but we was on process to remodel our hotel, now we just have done part of renovation I will like to invite you to stay again with us, I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#28 of 31 in Long Island City
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
City View Inn
City View Inn
#30 of 31 in Long Island City
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#24 of 31 in Long Island City
1,777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 31 in Long Island City
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Island City

Property: Best Western Long Island City
Address: 3805 Hunters Point Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-1915 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling for business or leisure, the Best Western® Long Island City is the ideal place to call your home away from home. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, limited complimentary parking for compact cars only and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western® Long Island City is located 20 minutes from Manhattan, New York City, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the United Nation Building. We are minutes away from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), 30 minutes from John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and within walking distance to the MTA station (subway). Our 24 hour Guest Services Agents are available at the front desk to assist you with any questions or information you may need. We welcome the opportunity to call you our guest and we hope that you make the Best Western® Long Island City part of you experience in New York City. Newly renovated June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Best Western Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing