We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price in a location very close to Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Long Island City
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good price in a location very close to Manhattan”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good price in a location very close to Manhattan. We came to this hotel through Hotwire and it was a great pick. Very good priced, very close to town, a little bit far from train station but management solved it by having a free shuttle! Luis at the front desk is a great guy always trying to help!
Would go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliasRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    198
    125
    69
    63
See reviews for
156
175
43
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived at the red roof inn at 11.00pm and were met by friendly check in staff. When we went to our room we could smell dampness but we were that excited to be there after a long journey we left it. In the morning we went to breakfast which was very busy. We just got a couple of yoghurts and took them to our room. The room was dusty and needing a hoover and clean.
We generally left the hotel about 11.00 and did not return till very late. It's a great location and a good neighbourhood, some good pubs and takeaways close by.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, however, the only suggestions I would make would be that the rooms could be cleaner, ours certainly had not been hoovered properly the whole time we stayed and that breakfast finished too early at 9.00am when we were still sleeping from the night before. We also had housekeeping chap on our door at around 8.00am on a couple of occasions.
New York was amazing though and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: get a room at the back if traffic bothers you, it was not a problem for us though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
Please take my apologies for any inconvenience, I will definite I will have our housekeeping department take action’s on the cleaning part, I will do all my best to have rectify this issues so we can serve you better on the future , I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm going to try to make this more subjective and objective and as non-judgmental as possible. They got my name and email address wrong on the reservation; the first room they had for us was unprepared in that the beds were unmade; the room we moved into had mold in the bathroom; the room's phone jacks were falling out of the wall; some of the switches were out altogether; the room's curtains were not properly hanging; that room's toilet kept running; the room's sink leaked out of the handle when turned on; the room's clock and phone did not work; the room cost roughly $200 for 2 people for one night with all of this stuff present. I can say more but I'm afraid the rest of it will come off as an opinionated rant and won't accomplish my objective of successfully ruining this red roof inn's reputation.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel aside from this one, for the price of this one, if you pay ten to twenty dolla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
Please take my apologies for any inconvenience, and am sure I will take care this issues personal so this don’t happen again, I hope you give us the opportunity to serve in the future, and I sure that time will be much better, so our hotel be in your future plans, I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Located near the highway this hotel was easy to find with our rental. We dropped our luggage, drove the car to LaGuardia and grabbed a taxi back to the hotel (around 20 dollar, tip included).

The rooms are not big, but large enough for just the 2 of us. When you have more than 2 suitcases, the rooms might be too small. Everything was clean!

While the breakfast itself is good (waffles, toast, muffins, cereal, yogurt, etc.) the room is way to small. There are only seats for about 20-30 persons.

The hotel is located 10 minutes walking from the 44st Lowery St. metro (Line 7), which will take you to Manhattan in around 10-15 minutes. We always felt safe while walking from/to the metro. If you prefer to take a taxi, the staff can arrange a taxi for you.

Overall, this hotel offers good value for your money. It's a bit further from all Manhattan-based attractions, but it's much better for your budget.

Room Tip: Need a taxi? The staff can help you with that. If you want to pay with a creditcard, don't forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EwoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location is excellent. There is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station; however there is a shuttle service provided, if needed. The manager and staff are courteous and very accommodating. The rooms are spacious, and always kept clean. Breakfast is served daily and the food is nutritious. This Inn, is quite nice, and I have enjoyed the many times that I have stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A clean comfortable space, ideal base for nyc, but the area itself is quite nice, Plenty of places to get cheaper gifts and loads of stores to get bits you've forgotten or some munchies. 10 min walk to subway and we felt very safe even late at night. There is a shuttle but you need to make sure you book it at reception.
Although the wifi is free in rooms the computer at the reception area charges and you will be charged if you wish to print

Room Tip: Petes diner does awesome breakfasts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gapster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service, but at am glad you have a great experience stay at our hotel .

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Right next to the highway its extremely noisy at all hours of the day and night, there are NO curtains over the windows just $1 blinds that do nothing. Staff was rude and inconsiderate, one of them was sleeping at the front desk when I went to talk to them about the no curtains. Not enough pillows in the room, given a 3/4 bed when booked a queen. Horrible horrible hotel do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morty56scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn ,
I will make sure this issues at the rooms you stay will be fixed. But just to you know we on the process to start our second face renovations , so we can avoid all this issues ,your comments we will share with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#28 of 31 in Long Island City
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
City View Inn
City View Inn
#30 of 31 in Long Island City
333 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#24 of 31 in Long Island City
1,775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 31 in Long Island City
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Island City

Property: Best Western Long Island City
Address: 3805 Hunters Point Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-1915 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling for business or leisure, the Best Western® Long Island City is the ideal place to call your home away from home. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, limited complimentary parking for compact cars only and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western® Long Island City is located 20 minutes from Manhattan, New York City, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the United Nation Building. We are minutes away from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), 30 minutes from John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and within walking distance to the MTA station (subway). Our 24 hour Guest Services Agents are available at the front desk to assist you with any questions or information you may need. We welcome the opportunity to call you our guest and we hope that you make the Best Western® Long Island City part of you experience in New York City. Newly renovated June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Best Western Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing