We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rates but otherwise not special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Long Island City
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good rates but otherwise not special”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Room and hotel staff were adequate but the room had a strong odor of cleaning fluids
that I would have preferred not to experience. If you choose to take advantage
of the complimentary breakfast, go early since it gets very crowded (I declined).
Suggest you confirm the room's location relative to the freeway that is just
outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure how you could find anything better here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertz314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies but unfortunate we have a small breakfast area, and we looking on different options to fix this issue, about the odor from the cleaning chemical, we will make sure don’t happen again and make sure the housekeeping let breed the room.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,

Ignacio Fonseca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    200
    125
    69
    65
See reviews for
159
177
44
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We found a coupon for a room while enroute to new York ........their website said they had parking, we arrived around midnight after an exhausting car ride...they wouldn't honor Thor coupon and all the parking was full. Ihad to park 3 streets away and walk. I was a little on edge because I encountered a drunk who was trying to break in someone's car. Then while at the front desk someone came in to complain about parking and desk clerk told them the same thing he told me.."park on the street then in the morning move to the parking lot when someone leaves" the lady turned to leave and the desk clerk held up his hand palm up and said "what you want to do park in my hand?" Our coffeepot didn't work either...however, on the flipside, housekeeping was great and the a/c worked great....we paid$59 more a night than advertised but we were too tired to go anywhere else....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftigal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Queens Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience about the parking lot, but unfortunately we do have a limited amount of parking, and we can’t guaranty space for everyone, and about the coupon is available depending on or occupancy.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

truly yours,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our stay was less than satisfactory. Despite some irritating things, due to the comfort and non postage stamp sized rooms, I was ready to give a better rating than I'd seen. Things went down quickly.

When the reservations were made, we specifically asked if there was luggage drop off available before check in, and were told that there was. Upon arrival, we found that this meant leaving bags unattended and unsecured in the lobby. No thanks!

Next, the continental breakfast did not have nearly enough food for a full house of individuals. An hour before breakfast was over, they were out of waffle mix…and milk...and most things. Even cereal was out as an option. They changed the milk about 10 minutes before breakfast was over.

The shuttle did not run on time most days.

The wifi didn't work in our first room. I didn’t mind sitting in the lobby, but the AC either wasn't on or was incredibly low, when the city was having record heat highs at night.

Finally, here is my true complaint. We were NOT notified that there would be construction RIGHT OUTSIDE OF OUR ROOM. They are redoing the hallway floors…in our hall and in front of our room…in the morning…when guests were sleeping.

We requested a room change. The first room had a queen that was super comfy. The king upgrade was hard as a rock, but at least the wifi worked.

After the room change, we asked for room service, since we'd switched in the a.m. after more sleep and showers. That didn't happen.

We did receive a night back upon request, although it still isn't showing up on our account correctly. We have the adjusted amount on a receipt. I hope it isn't a pain to get it corrected if need be.

Also, we stayed in Manhattan the last time we visited. Staying in the Queens are made transportation a little more of a pain, but the walk to the local station went quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience about replacing the carpet at the hallway , but this type of jobs has to be done during the day, maybe start a 9:30 am is to early we will take on consideration in the future,

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

truly yours,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Brandon, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I took our twin grand daughters and a friend of theirs on their first visit to NYC, July 12-16th. We stayed at the Red Roof Inn Queens because we could find no comparable accommodations in Brooklyn, my former hometown. Close to expressways, LGA airport and subway (and Brooklyn). One room with 2 queen beds could accommodate us. Valentino at the front desk was very helpful in arranging free shuttle service to subway, ride to airport when we left and suggestion on where to go/eat locally. Driver also very helpful, as was the housekeeping staff. They kept room clean (three teenaged girls, you know what I mean). Had no problems with WiFi and it was free! There are two very good restaurants around the corner. One is Ecuadorian cuisine. The other, the WilliamsBurger, is excellent. Some of the best wings I have ever had and a Tuna burger to die for. I love to cook and eat so I am not kidding here. Very good breakfast served free to guests and service begins at 6:30am. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Oh, and the price was right, You get a lot for your money. The best bargain we have fonund in many years to travel to NYC. And do not be afraid by its location. It's 10 minutes via #7 train to Grand Central Station. Train begins run to Flushing at Times Square.

Room Tip: double queens and double doubles at back - very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel was just perfect it near JFK airport and with a car rental they provide free parking. It's 4 block or 15 minutes walk to # 7 train to Times Square in Manhattan. Morning complimentary breakfast was so so for I only eat Bagels of Red Roof Inn. The hotel is always full and busy (European Tourists) with free Wi-Fi. The hotel is in Long Island City, Queen just across Manhattan.

Room Tip: Room facing the parking (rear) Room facing the freeway(front) cemetery
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexhelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof, .

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

we were looking for an affordable place to stay while visiting our son and his wife in Long Island City. We stayed here for five days near the end of June. Our room was at the end of the hall on the ground floor so it was very quiet. The room was clean, the furniture was older, but everything worked fine. One of the reasons we chose this motel was for the free parking, which was limited to a small fraction of the rooms. We found a place every day, but sometimes it was tight. There were two things we didn't like. The breakfast area was not very big and on the days we were there it was very crowded with large families with lots of kids - not the fault of the Red Roof Inn. It is also about a half mile to the subway. They have a shuttle but it fills up fast and stops about 8pm. We walked back from the subway around 11pm and didn't feel uncomfortable walking in the neighborhood at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Picked this hotel for my friend simply because it's affordable and close to my home. Didn't expect much but turned out that we were happy with everything pretty much. The room was old and dark but clean. No yucky smell. The cleaning staff really did a great job.

Bed was comfortable. Hot water. Refrigerator. Microwave. All we needed were there. Never had breakfast there but they do provide basic breakfast items like cereals, yogurts. Juice and coffee available the whole day.

Parking lot at the back but it's also easy to find street parking. They also provide shuttle service for those who are not driving. Quick check in and check out. Friendly staff. I don't really have any complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn ,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 32 in Long Island City
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
City View Inn
City View Inn
#29 of 32 in Long Island City
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 32 in Long Island City
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 32 in Long Island City
1,674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#25 of 32 in Long Island City
1,796 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Island City

Property: Best Western Long Island City
Address: 3805 Hunters Point Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-1915 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling for business or leisure, the Best Western® Long Island City is the ideal place to call your home away from home. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, limited complimentary parking for compact cars only and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western® Long Island City is located 20 minutes from Manhattan, New York City, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the United Nation Building. We are minutes away from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), 30 minutes from John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and within walking distance to the MTA station (subway). Our 24 hour Guest Services Agents are available at the front desk to assist you with any questions or information you may need. We welcome the opportunity to call you our guest and we hope that you make the Best Western® Long Island City part of you experience in New York City. Newly renovated June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Best Western Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing