We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review From Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Long Island City
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    200
    125
    69
    65
See reviews for
159
177
44
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in April 2013. The general reception area was undergoing refurbishment, which was slightly off putting - however, staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and average sized with a fridge and microwave. The lamp in the room didn't work however.

Breakfast was your average continental style breakfast - finishes serving at 9am and everything gets locked away at that point. Coffee/tea etc available all day though.

The area is safe and a nice walk from 40 st station which will take you straight into the City.

Overall great value for money, with a little room for improvement!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelmay847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you and I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof, and please take our apologies about the inconvenience of the light didn't work but we do take actions so this problem don't happen again..

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

and I LOVED our stay at the Red Roof Inn. We visited NYC to run the half marathon on St Paddy's Day, so most of the hotels were booked in the city. We found Red Roof via Trip Advisor, the rates were good & we went for it. Having never been to NY myself, the entire journey from Seattle was new for me. We arrived around 3:30 in the afternoon...took a train & then a subway, then hoofed it to the Red Roof, having got off the subway at the wrong spot,we had a pretty good hike to the hotel. We finally made it, after a long, COLD walk.....but fortunately greeted by a gentleman named Valentino, who was very friendly & very accomodating. Our room was small, and yes, the hotel was under some renovation in the lobby area....no big deal. The room was clean & perfect for what we needed. It wasn't the Ritz, but that's not at all what we expected. What is WAS, was a cast of characters that were absolutely GREAT...right down to Toni (aka Super-T) & Eli, our shuttle drivers. They took very good care of us, both late at night, and the morning of our marathon, at 4 AM.... And can I just say that the bed was the MOST COMFORTABLE bed ever!! We covered a lot of miles on foot during our 7 day stay, and that bed was a little slice of heaven. Our maid service gals were delightful, and very understanding of our crazy schedule..... we visited a LaQuinta just to see about pricing for when we come back in December... they were not friendly, the lobby smelled nasty, & we definitely appreciated our Red Roof after that. Ignacio, the general manager was so gracious to us...really, everyone was awesome. We look forward to planning our "pre-Christmas" vacation & most definitely will go back to the Red Roof Inn. Thanks to all for making my first trip to New York a fabulous one!! xoxo Christie & Robert from Seattle

Room Tip: Our room was located on the side right on the Freeway, across from a large cemetary and honestly, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online response I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and from the beginning they were renewing the corridor. We asked for a different room, since our room was super close to it .They wondered and guaranteed to be finished with the work in a few hours so that we won't be bothered by any means. They were not even finished, when we left the hotel at the fifth day. At one night I complained at 2 am in the morning, because they were not stopping and used loud machines. The attached picture shows the view out of my room door at 2:20 a.m. I did not pay for the last night.

Also the staff was not very friendly. At 9 a.m. the breakfast lady came to the super tiny breakfast room and complained why the people are still having breakfast. Officially the breakfast closes at 9 a.m. and the hotel staff is really forcing this. Come on, we were on holidays. Even some other staff colleagues told the lady to calm down.

The wi-fi was not working in the first two days.

For this price ($153) I expect better quality in service (even in New York). The room itself was ok. After all I do NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room close to the breakfast area. The waffle machine keeps beeping whenever a waf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Queens Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.for do this type of work over night , but we are really sorry for this inconvenience .

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Room is OK...(they boost that the rooms were recently remodeled...but it appears that means they put in a new refrig & microwave...and facelift types of things...
My trip was extended by 4 days and I'm going to move hotels because of the night manager at the front desk was a complete [--] JERK...he lives up to the other reviews about the hotel that say the same thing...No One had anything but bad remarks about him...I'm overlooking the fact that he has the personally of a wet mop..On Travelocity, the hotel states, and I quote, they "have a Free shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel"...That's a BIG LIE...Rooms should be cheaper...considering almost the entire ground is under construction...you have to walk through a big mess every time you come in...the only time I was greeted by a friendly person at the front desk was when I arrived the first night and I haven't seen that girl back...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Queens Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked this inn as an overnighter before we flew home. Reason being it's nearer the airport than Manhattan and we would be able to avoid the peak hour rush traffic. Have no regrets at all. Though tired-looking (it's currently undergoing refurbishment), the room we had was clean and spacious enough for the three of us and our many pieces of luggage! Everything works, so no complaints there.

What really bowled us over was the service. The staff were really friendly and helpful; especially Miki at the frontdesk. Leaving our luggage there until it was time for departure was no problem either. Miki was most efficient in securing us a taxi to take us to the airport.

Complimentary coffee, tea and snacks are available for guests round the clock at the lobby. The location of the inn is also within walking distance to 40th St subway. Overall, quite happy with the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.We hope we see you in the future again .


Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I based my decision to stay here on the reviews I read here, and I have to say I had mixed results. First of all, the rooms are tiny. If it was just me, or me and my wife, it would have been OK, but for a family of four, we could barely move around, and it was difficult to find room for our stuff without it covering the carpet. The bathroom was also tiny. The first night we arrived, the internet was down. When it came up, there were times when we couldn't get in because of too many users. Not acceptable. The lobby was undergoing renovations, which will be good for those to follow, but annoying for us. My biggest annoyance was that I booked the room largely because it claimed to have two queen sized beds. This is NOT true, they are full sized beds, which makes it tight for four adult-sized people. The breakfast area is tiny and we usually had to bring our food back to our room. We had a hard time getting hot water for showers in the morning. The rooms were dated and beat up, but I expected that.

Now for the good: The people were very friendly and helpful when needed. Also, it is in a great location for getting around. We were visiting to look at colleges in the Bronx and Queens. We wanted to be able to drive to the colleges, but take the train into the city, and we couldn't have picked a better location. The parking lot is small, but we never had a problem finding a space. The train station is about a 10 minute walk through a good neighborhood. A few reviews noted that the neighborhood was a bit sketchy, but that couldn't be further from the truth. We walked back to the hotel late at least two nights and never, for a second, felt uncomfortable. Times Square is four or five stops away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor, we are very sorry about the inconvenience you have when you arrive to our hotel, the internet is been upgrade to a better service now we actually install a brand new equipment so your access will be more efficacy, about the renovations of the lobby we apologies about the mess but there is no other way to do work like this, we try to do the best way so they don’t affect to our guest.
I hope we see you again in the near future and we will do everything is possible to serve you better.
Thank you for stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 32 in Long Island City
982 reviews
0.3 mi away
City View Inn
City View Inn
#29 of 32 in Long Island City
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 32 in Long Island City
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 32 in Long Island City
1,673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#25 of 32 in Long Island City
1,794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Island City

Property: Best Western Long Island City
Address: 3805 Hunters Point Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-1915 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling for business or leisure, the Best Western® Long Island City is the ideal place to call your home away from home. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, limited complimentary parking for compact cars only and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western® Long Island City is located 20 minutes from Manhattan, New York City, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the United Nation Building. We are minutes away from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), 30 minutes from John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and within walking distance to the MTA station (subway). Our 24 hour Guest Services Agents are available at the front desk to assist you with any questions or information you may need. We welcome the opportunity to call you our guest and we hope that you make the Best Western® Long Island City part of you experience in New York City. Newly renovated June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Best Western Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing