We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Long Island City
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed March 25, 2013

it was a Great hotel , Staff was very friendly to us. parking little bit tricky its NYC so you have to expect that. . Rooms are Very clean , And the Breakfast is good. I would recommended this place to family and friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and we appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the red roof hotel. Your comments are very welcome and we will share with our staff, were happy that you enjoy your stay , and we hope to see you in the future and we will make you feel “at home away from home”

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Long Island City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 597 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our stay in hotel was fantastic! We were here in March 2013. I must say "thank you" for general manager Ignacio Fonseca - was really very willing, everytime. The hotel is good located and staff is very kind. For travelling in surroundings is good to have a shuttle. It is free in this hotel and is ready everytime you need! When we get back from Denver, CO, se we took our stay in this hotel again. Thx for everyting!

Room Tip: We had a room in second and in third floor. Both were good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sykyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about us . We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
we hope we see you soon again .
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a great hotel for visiting NYC on a tighter budget (without going for a hostel). Considering you're getting a private room, bathroom, breakfast, and great wifi; this is a great value.

There were definitely maintenance problems: one lamp didn't work, the toilet was clogged, and the doorknob on the bathroom was falling off. Very clean and excellent customer service however.

There's a few convenience stores and chinese resturaunts nearby. Very easy walk to and from the subway. I'm sure to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceancron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Queens Red Roof. Please accept my sincerest apologies for inconvenience with the light bulb and the door handle. and also I will like to you know we are working on this problems, so our next guest or in your future stay don’t experience this problems, I hope you notice were on the renovation process, so we can serve you better in the near future

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

While on a road-trip across the north-eastern USA last summer, my mom and I spent 3 nights in this hotel.

I researched hotels in NYC for hours upon hours, trying to find the best bang for my buck. Eventually, I decided on the Red Roof Inn (At the time I believe it was still known as the Queensboro).

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station through a residential neighbourhood, and about 12 minutes from the time you walked onto the train and walked off it in Times Square. The room was pretty tiny (typical for NYC) and the beds were pretty hard, but I paid $109/night and it was clean, felt safe, had in-room wifi, a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Plus they served free continental breakfast every morning (only until 9am though - too early for us night-owls) and free off-street parking. The lady at the front desk was an absolute gem, completely taking us under her wing with regards to restaurant recommendations and how to navigate the subway system (which, by the way, is no where near as intimidating as one would expect!).

Being in a residential neighbourhood, we did feel fairly safe even late at night when walking back to the hotel from the subway stop.

My only complaint (aside from perhaps the beds being a little too hard for my preference) was that when we tried calling out for delivery, it was constantly busy. We had the distinct impression that it was the hotel disabling the function of calling out. Eventually we gave up trying to get through and walked to one of the two restaurants we were trying to call. When we got there, there was a guy talking on the phone so perhaps that was why we couldn't get through, but I'm not sure that it was a coincidence that both restaurants we were calling had constantly busy phone lines. We could have just called using our cell-phones I suppose, but being from Canada, that would have cost an arm and a leg. Not a big deal though, we just walked!

I would definitely recommend the Red Roof Inn to anyone willing to sacrifice a bit of time (for traveling to Manhattan), space and bed comfort. Besides - when you're in NYC the last thing you'll be doing is sleeping or hanging out in your hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest review. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel location is perfect for either leisure and business. The staff are courteous and warm. The front desk service and subsequent customer relation rendered by the General Manager, Ignacious Fonseca was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Csnet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you and ,we I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Hotel Queens ,Long island City

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for a night in March. The hotel was a little tricky to find, even with GPS. We lucked out with a parking spot right on the street in front of the hotel, but we were staying on the weekend. Those spots will get your car towed after 7AM during the week! The lobby was pretty spartan, and the carpets and furniture looked a bit worn. The front desk manager was very friendly and helpful--made us feel very welcome. Our room was quite nice...flat screen TV, mini fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer in the bathroom. The mattress was pretty firm, but not uncomfortable, and the room was very clean. We had a minor problem with the shower curtain in the bathroom--the rod was starting to come out of the wall and droop, so the curtain kept sliding open. Breakfast was available in the lobby in the morning. Nothing special--cereal, toast, bagels, yogurt. There was a waffle maker for fresh waffles if you want. All in all, a comfortable though not luxurious night's stay in South Queens, close to the subway and the LIRR station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merrill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof. I’m glad you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. We apologize if our appearance was not top notch at the moment. We also please take our apologies for this inconvenience about the shower rod, but we do working this item to make sure don’t happen again, our carpets will be replace in the next few weeks, I hope you notice all the renovation in our hotel . Besides that, we are glad you liked your stay here. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope that by your next visit Changes would have been made regarding the small inconveniences you experienced.
I hope we see you inthe future again soon

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Haven't stayed at a Red Roof Inn before. I was very surprised how modern the room was. It had a flat screen TV, fridge, and updated rooms. Lights were above the beds for reading in bed. Plugs all were accessible for all our electronics. (No pulling out of desks or crawling on the floor, trying to reach a plug.) Beds were comfy. I liked it so much, I booked another Red Roof Inn for our next stay at another location during our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gemtravel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof. I am glad your stay at our hotel was so pleasant. We hope you have the same experience on your next visit to one of our hotels.We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
840 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 33 in Long Island City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Island City

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: $132 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling for business or leisure, the Best Western® Long Island City is the ideal place to call your home away from home. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, limited complimentary parking for compact cars only and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western® Long Island City is located 20 minutes from Manhattan, New York City, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the United Nation Building. We are minutes away from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), 30 minutes from John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and within walking distance to the MTA station (subway). Our 24 hour Guest Services Agents are available at the front desk to assist you with any questions or information you may need. We welcome the opportunity to call you our guest and we hope that you make the Best Western® Long Island City part of you experience in New York City. Newly renovated June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Best Western Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing