We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Long Island City
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
north reading ma
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Haven't stayed at a Red Roof Inn before. I was very surprised how modern the room was. It had a flat screen TV, fridge, and updated rooms. Lights were above the beds for reading in bed. Plugs all were accessible for all our electronics. (No pulling out of desks or crawling on the floor, trying to reach a plug.) Beds were comfy. I liked it so much, I booked another Red Roof Inn for our next stay at another location during our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gemtravel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof. I am glad your stay at our hotel was so pleasant. We hope you have the same experience on your next visit to one of our hotels.We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    200
    125
    69
    64
See reviews for
159
176
44
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel is nice and great value. Little hard to get in when you drive GPS don't help much, but once inside it is great. Breakfast is good and fresh. Dinner places are close by and good varity. Rooms are looking good new fresh paint, and a lot changes from my last visit to NY, staff is nice and friendly they know how to help,special when the parking lot is cover by snow,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eduardo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof. We aplologize about your troubles getting here but we always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At this time I would like to extend the opportunity for you to share your experience with others,TripAdvisor is one of the top travel review Internet sites that allows travelers to read and write reviews about hotels nationwide. Your review can help others make their choice of hotel with confidence. I hope I see you again in the future.

Thank you .
Ignacio Fonseca
General Manager
Red Roof Inn .
Long Island, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

- third floor including room reeked of fresh paint, my clothes that I never unpacked smelled of paint when I got home
- loud staff outside of room for majority of morning
-staff made no attempt to clean room which wasn't very clean to begin with...random mysterious stains throughout room
- overnight desk manager, Remi is Rude and unprofessional on the phone and in person. Experienced this myself and then watched as he was nasty to other customers who called in to request information. Who hired this man? (Reservations were made online for the wrong night accidentally, when speaking to him within 20 min of booking and explaining the situation, his response: "that's not my problem, why are you calling here about that, sell the room to someone, you know every hotel has the same policies"; I'm sure they do, and policy is policy, but I bet they also know how to speak to their customers with respect and understanding.
This was an emergency stay, ended up booking 2 nights, one of which wasn't used)
- took over 40 min to find a spot that I'm pretty sure was illegal anyway
- front entrance sliding doors broken- had to set all bags down and manually pry doors apart and push them back together.....?
- hallways messy and cluttered with large bags of garbage and laundry in the middle of the afternoon
- careful leaving! Hotel located on a busy off ramp, crossing the street is an adventure in car dodging
+ microwave / fridge / coffee in room, very convenient
+ beds comfortable, lots of extra pillows
+ breakfast lounge was well stocked and staff was friendly

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Queens Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.about the situation with the night manager,but Im doing my best to correct this incident ,and make sure don't happen again.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel in mid-December; spacious room with microwave and refrigerator, coffee maker and a spacious bathroom and always very clean, as was the room.
At any time you can have a cup of coffee to be taken in the lobby, staff always friendly and helpful, the morning a hearty breakfast with a variety of bagels, muffins and jams, yogurt and cereals, plus the ability to make the waffles, coffee good, only downside fruit juices, watered down or not present two days out of four.
Well located hotel with the opportunity to take the bus number 67 down entrance to the hotel and then the subway or the bus B52 and be in downtown Manhattan in 40 minutes, or 400 meters on foot and by subway or B52 being at the center of the world, Times Square in 30 minutes.
The area is very quiet and there are interesting shops, pastry chef from the European to the well-stocked supermarkets and at a good price.
I think it's a good choice to visit NYC at low cost

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Savetta60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At this time I would like to extend the opportunity for you to share your experience with others. TripAdvisor is one of the top travel review Internet sites that allows travelers to read and write reviews about hotels nationwide. Your review can help others make their choice of hotel with confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Let's face it, you are only reading this review because you have already seen that this is a very affordable hotel. Please do not let any of the prior reviews discourage you from checking this place out. The staff here is beyond great! I came for New Years when every room was booked and the front desk, being very busy, still took the time to go over a subway map with me and even write out directions on paper so I didn't have to carry a bulky map around. Our room was plenty big and very clean. When we first checked in the fridge wasn't cold and there was no tv remote..... But get this..... I turned the knob in the fridge and asked the front desk for a remote and BOOM! Everything was fine! Maybe others should try such crazy things before they write a bad review! Breakfast area is kinda small but so what, just go make your own waffle in the waffle maker and eat it in your room if there are no seats down there. They also have fresh juice, cereal, coffee... If you want the four seasons treatment, go pay for it at the four seasons, I'll be here with a smile on my face and a few hundred extra bucks in my pocket!

Oh yeah, the train to time square is just a few blocks away and it's only a 9 minute ride. They will even drive you there!

As for the bed bug claims... Not one sign of a bite on myself or my wife! This is NYC though and even the finest hotels have had problems with bed bugs! It is a problem that has nothing to do with cleanliness.

Thank you for reading my review. I know it's a little long but I felt compelled to speak my peace after reading negative things about this place. I would recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonesthegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At this time I would like to extend the opportunity for you to share your experience with others,TripAdvisor is one of the top travel review Internet sites that allows travelers to read and write reviews about hotels nationwide. Your review can help others make their choice of hotel with confidence.
Thank you
Ignacio Fonseca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here last week and was totally disappointed. First our confirmation said we were in a upgraded room, but they gave us a standard room. When I inquired why not the upgraded room I was told they didn't have any available. The man at the front desk was very rude. I asked to speak to a manager and he said she wasn't available. I said I would wait. Finally she was availabe and said she would see what she could do. We got the proper room after she cleaned it herslef. The room was decent, at the time but now looking back I'm sick to my stomach. When I got home I noticed bits appearing on my arms BED BUGS! I read it takes a day or so for them to appear. The bed was hard as a rock worst bed ever.

Also during our stay they advertised a shuttle to the subway well... Only one of our four days the man was actually there. We had to carry our bags to and from the hotel. When asked for the cabs number they gave us a towncar service which wanted to charge $30 for a short trip.

I will never stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. Your better off at the days inn up the road!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumbleberry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Queens Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.
I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,

Ignacio Fonseca
General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is really nice, the rooms are big enough and clean. The only problem for me was the breakfast. Honestly, it was almost nothing to eat... :(
The location is really good, it took me 7 minutes to get to the train station, so I was in Manhattan in max. 20 minutes. I was alone so, at the beginning I was afraid of coming back to the hotel at night, but the neighbourhood was really safe and quiet. So, I used to come back every night around 12 or 1 o`clock and nothing bad happened :)
It`s a great choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Best Western Long Island City, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At this time I would like to extend the opportunity for you to share your experience with others. You can post information about your stay at our hotel on www.tripadvisor.com. TripAdvisor is one of the top travel review Internet sites that allows travelers to read and write reviews about hotels nationwide. Your review can help others make their choice of hotel with confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 32 in Long Island City
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
City View Inn
City View Inn
#29 of 32 in Long Island City
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 32 in Long Island City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 32 in Long Island City
1,793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 32 in Long Island City
525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 32 in Long Island City
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Island City

Property: Best Western Long Island City
Address: 3805 Hunters Point Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-1915 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling for business or leisure, the Best Western® Long Island City is the ideal place to call your home away from home. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, limited complimentary parking for compact cars only and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western® Long Island City is located 20 minutes from Manhattan, New York City, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the United Nation Building. We are minutes away from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), 30 minutes from John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and within walking distance to the MTA station (subway). Our 24 hour Guest Services Agents are available at the front desk to assist you with any questions or information you may need. We welcome the opportunity to call you our guest and we hope that you make the Best Western® Long Island City part of you experience in New York City. Newly renovated June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Best Western Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing