We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of Z NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Z NYC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Check in staff really friendly and helpful; we stayed for 2 nights. Great views of Manhattan and the Queensboro Bridge from the room (10th floor). Room nice and clean, and bed comfy. I had ordered a bottle of champagne and strawberries for my partner for his 50th which he celebrated whilst there. It was very nice, bottle was chilled, strawberries not quite what I had hoped for but my partner was really happy so that's all that mattered! Voucher for 2 drinks at the rooftop bar which was really nice. We used the shuttle into Manhattan the following morning which was really good. Coming back we had to wait for the first group to be taken back, no problem really because the hotel is literally just over the bridge. Renovation work was going on in the hotel, but it didn't really affect us. Would recommend Z Hotel to people looking for a boutiquey place, but also would recommend staying in Long Island City when visiting New York; location is excellent! Nice memories!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    529
    164
    74
    50
See reviews for
173
720
60
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Staying in Manhattan is noisy and crowded and expensive. My daughter and I were in NY for educational purposes and we needed a decent hotel for 17 nights that we could afford AND would want to stay at. This was that hotel! Here are the great things about it:

1.) Terrific and helpful Staff - all of them nice, pleasant, and helpful.
2.) New (built around 2006-2007) and clean.
3.) Quiet -(hard to sleep in Manhattan with sirens and horns and garbage trucks all night)
4.) Convenient to City - Shuttle every hour into Manhattan on the hour and every hour out on the half hour.
5.) Good Food - the restaurant is not five star but it is very good.
6.) Safe neighborhood - mostly movie and tv studios and some warehouses. Person of Interest films directly behind the hotel.
7.) Every room faces Manhattan and the views are incredible.
8.) Reasonably priced - we got a great deal.
9.) Rooms are small - like European hotels, but have good layout. Beds are comfy.
10.) You can use the phone to call anywhere in the state, US, or world, for free!
11.) The rooftop has an incredible view and a huge bar with a DJ. It is party central.
12.) Free Wi-fi for all guests.

Here is where you need to be flexible:

1.) The shuttle is popular and sometimes is full so you either have to wait for the next shuttle, go the metro or use a cab and the hotel will reimburse if they order the cab. So business travelers be early to catch the shuttle.

Suggestion to Hotel: get a second shuttle to take people to the metro in the morning hours and pick up from the metro in the evening hours.

2.) While the restaurant and food are good, the menu is limited. I think if they could work a deal with the studios and get some more dinner business they might be able to expand the menu. Manhattan however, has thousands of restaurants and many are delicious.

3.)There are no coffee facilities in the room. Coffee and Tea are complimentary, but sometimes guests want their drink while they are in their PJs.

Suggestion to Hotel: Put Keurig coffee makers in the rooms. There were nights where a hot tea or mornings when a little coffee would have been awesome. Or have some available for guests that want them and ask for them.

4.) The rooms have storage for short stays, but for longer stays like ours it was a bit limited.

Suggestion to Hotel: Put Wall Shelves in on the Television wall for storage.

5.) The rooms are only 1 Queen, or 1 King, or two Twins. It isn't really designed for families unless you get multiple rooms. If you have two kids, this probable isn't the hotel for you.

6.) The nightlife on the roof can get loud - if you want piece and quiet stay on floors 8 and lower.

As you can see the items to be flexible over aren't really show stoppers unless you are traveling with a mentally rigid person.

This is a great find and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheatreMomSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The view was amazing! The staff was amazing! Restaurant renovation not so amazing... Shuttle, not so amazing. We waited for back up shuttles twice which put a big dent in our time. Hotel offered no compensation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igor M, Front Office Manager at Z NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest (msdmarti),

My name is Igor and I am the Front Office Manager at the Z NYC Hotel.
I would like to thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you've enjoyed the views from your room and service provided by our staff, it was disappointing to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with our shuttle service.

Our complimentary Z Shuttle bus makes hourly trips from the hotel to Midtown Manhattan and back every hour from 7am to 11:30pm. Most times there's enough space for all of our guests at any given time, however during busy season or whenever there's a larger group of guests than the shuttle can accommodate, we provide back-up vehicles to ensure all of our guests get to the city. We are also advising our guests to consider using the subway (metro) system, which can be faster at times. Certainly for our guests who are in a rush, we can arrange private car service to get them to their destination.
The complimentary Z Shuttle Bus has been a great amenity for our guests, unfortunately at times New York City traffic can be unpredictable. We do our utmost to accommodate our guest and provide the best possible service.

Still, we would love you to stay with us again when you're back in town. Please feel free to contact me directly at 212.319.7000 for any assistance with reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at The Z NYC for 4 nights in march for his birthday. I walked into the lobby for the first time to check in and noticed that the bell hop had long dreads, a blazer and Jordan's on, I knew we picked the right hotel!

Parking was no issue, the friendly concierge directed me to a pay parking lot a few blocks down and we left the car there for a reasonable price.

The hotel offers a shuttle to and from Manhattan every 30 minuets from 7am-10/11pm (check times to be sure). This shuttle is a fun little school bus with Z personality!

This hotel was the perfect mix of 'cool' and luxury. It is beautifully decorated, Manhattan view's from every room (which is more breathtaking than I can describe), delicious restaurant/lounge (which turns into a fabulous club at night) and a rooftop lounge with more wonderful views of Manhattan and Long Island City!

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and recommend it to everyone I meet. I cannot wait to stay here again next fall!

*LADIES: the mirror in the rooms lights up and gives you perfect lighting to do your makeup! (& take flawless selfies)

*also, Silver Cup Studios is located behind the hotel! They shot many of the indoor scenes for Sex & The City Here!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anchors-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Z hotel made our trip unforgettable. Great and amzing staff. Rajiv help us in German language (as our english is not so good) for sightseeing & travel in city. Best view of empire state building & Manhattan from room and rooftop bar. Love to comeback next year and our only choice is Z hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank koppN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This place is sort of unique: Which ever room you have, you have a view on Manhattan skyline. Hotel is located almost directly on Queensboro Bridge, which means actually across 57th street and Central Park. There is a great roof terrace as well, perfect for a sundowner after which you can go to Manhattan still, using the hotel shuttle who takes you (a ten minutes’ drive) to Lexington Ave. every hour. And return, of course. Other than that, you may sip another drink in the nice hotel bar. Rooms are very good, relatively small though. But who cares, looking at Queensboro Bridge or the skyline from your bed. Cleanliness is fair but could deserve an upgrade. Uh, not to forget: for NYC prices are excellent, not least considering the great views and the short distance to Midtown.

Room Tip: no recommendation (see above), however on the upper floors view is even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was a nice visit for one night. Igor was incredibly helpful and accommodating due to the fact of the unpleasant construction work once in. Despite that minor set back it didn't disturb our stay in our room. Rooftop access was nice and the view was nothing short of amazing in both our room and the rooftop. Something cool, smooth and intimate for a night or two is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 32 in Long Island City
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 32 in Long Island City
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 32 in Long Island City
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#4 of 32 in Long Island City
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z NYC Hotel

Property: Z NYC Hotel
Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Z NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z NYC Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing