We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Z New York Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was the third destination on our three center trip to the US and unfortunately was third in our three hotels. Situated on wnat appears to be an industrial area ther is nothing to visit on foot especially at night. However, the hotel does run a courtesy shuttle to thte nearest Subway station every hour which is very helpful. The staff were very pleasandt but restaurant service leaves a bit to be desired.

Both a web site and in house infromation it is stated that this hotel runs a shuttle to the airport. This is not the case and it is very difficult to get to the Hotel from Newark airport unless you take a cab at $100.

Was not an unpleasant experience but would have preferred a hotel which was more central

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    461
    145
    66
    39
See reviews for
148
617
54
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenbush
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Pros
View was spectacular
Front desk people very nice
Less expensive than Manhattan

Cons
No shower curtain so water all over bathroom floor
Unable to adequately control room temp
No iron or ironing board
No place to plug charger in near the bed
Extremely dim lighting, almost left clothes in closet because couldn't see them

Get the feeling that they were trying really hard to be cool and overlooked some basics frequent travelers expect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

To try to stick with a budget in NYC, we wanted to keep within a price range for our accommodations. We actually found the Z Hotel NY after a long painful search for a decent room in Manhattan. We couldn't find anything nice in our price range and stumbled upon the boutique hotel on a travel blog. The room was booked through Expedia and we were able to use the mobile app to receive an additional $ 25.00 off.

There was an opening season, Cinco de Mayo rooftop party as we arrived. Ladies wore gladiator sandals and dresses and had their full makeup and hair done. I arrived in an old Bruins tee (Go Bruins!) and leggings.

The exterior of the hotel was very chic and modern. There was a cool old car facade mounted to the front of the entrance canopy.

Typically there would be ample street parking but we had a bit difficulty finding a spot, competing with the party goers at the hotel. It didn't help with us unloading the car, that the free city shuttle was parked in front of the hotel.

Check in was a bit weird when they asked for an ID, typically it's just the CC. The hotel lobby had an old world/new world travel theme with vintage luggage and signs that mimic split-flat display boards with a decadent ornate crystal (?) chandelier hanging over the stairs.

The theme drained down to the lounge/restaurant area on the lower level. There were faux libraries, leather chairs and a piano in the middle of the floor.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but they were offering a $ 14.00 breakfast buffet special while we were there. The lounge bar seemed like a happening place for people grabbing drinks. The semi-open kitchen had a beautiful rustic "General-Store" like feel with the kitchen ingredients displayed on the open shelves.

Our Superior Queen Room was on the 7th floor and had a beautiful view of New York City. We paid about $270.00 with tax. It was not a TRUE queen, more like a full size bed.

The room featured a leather headboard, Ipod dock, flat screen TV, pretty much the standard of all the hotels. The decor was contemporary with wall decals covering one side of the room. Being in lighting, I appreciated the rustic chic mason jar pendants hanging over the bed.

I didn't get some of the "theme", like there was a construction hard hat display on the corner shelf.


I loved that the sink area and mirrors were outside of the actual bathrooms. We were able to get ready in a jiffy and not fight over space. There was also a well stocked mini bar and a "Love Box" for $ 20.00 if needed. Bottled water wasn't included so ... that sucked.


We headed up to the roof top party to scope out the scene of the party. Since we were staying at the hotel, we didn't have to pay the cover charge. The party goers were unpretentious people looking to have a good time.

The view was even more dreamy during the sunset over the city and bridge. Too bad it was a cloudy day. Better luck next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

On first appearances it's not the best as it's just a massive apartment block with nothing else around it. However the service was good unlike other reviews. The shuttle bus was very useful as it drops you off in 59th Street and Lexington where you have access to the subway or Times Square etc. The standout feature of this hotel is the view which is stunning on the Manhattan skyline and that combined with the price it was worth it.

The subway in case you don't make the hourly shuttle bus is a short walk away and is well connected to whether you want to do up or downtown.

Food in the hotel was OK but not great and we skipped the breakfast every day and just got something on the move.

Would I recommend this place - yes if you can accept that you aren't on Manhattan and then associated travel time back and or taxi costs in the evenings.

But the view and cheaper costs make up for it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank shan4179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Let's just start by saying that I am a very picky person when it comes to celebrating my events. I usually plan my parties about 6-10 months in advance. So when I finally got a hold of a babysitter and a coupe of my closest friends together in a matter of a couple weeks before the actual event, Liz Arce came to the rescue. She couldn't have been more helpful and professional with guiding me in the planning for my birthday celebration at the Z hotel. She organized a menu, to accommodate all eaters at my party, even Vegans, lol. She got us a private section for dinner with champagne, and then transferred us over to the lounge for the bottle service. Dinner was delicious, the chef came out and presented himself, which is a little rare in these type of places, which I thought was very nice and different. If you're looking for a cute cozy place to have a drink and shake your booty this is definitely the spot. Music was awesome, mixture of today's hits and Latin hits. Overall we all had a great time, and I would totally go back, whether for an event or just a night out with my hubby or my girls.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Enjoyed our stay....Very modern and eco friendly hotel....Has a bar downstairs....It is street parking, so be aware of that....Free round-trip shuttle to Manhattan , leaves you at 59th street / 2nd ave....Has roof top view....No pool....Friendly people....I would recommend it as its a nice way to stay in NY and kinda be away from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Exactly what we wanted! Reasonably priced hotel, which was beautiful and full of character. All staff happy, helpful and welcoming. Best view in New York! We will definitely stay here again when we return to New York. With the shuttle and having a subway near by it was so easy to get everywhere, without staying in the main over crowded tourist areas!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ruthieDSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,279 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,508 reviews
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Property: Z New York Hotel
Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing