We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Z Hotel get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Z New York Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Z Hotel get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Z Hotel. The view from our room was breath taking! The rooms were large for a New York Hotel and the heated floor was a surprise bonus. The comfortable mattress and pillow provided us with a very sound nights' sleep.
The food was tasty and reasonable. My only complaint was the loud music while we ate lunch....but I'm sure if I would have requested, they would have adjusted the volume. The restaurant staff were attentive and extremely friendly.
We really enjoyed our stay. My only reason for not returning any time soon is the cost. I feel the location does not warrant such high prices.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors the the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaJune_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    468
    150
    66
    41
See reviews for
153
630
54
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our family stayed at the Z Hotel while attending a wedding in Long Island City. The hotel is very clean and modern looking. It was nice that there was a restaurant and bar downstairs from the lobby. The staff was friendly and helpful. We requested an iron and it was brought to our room immediately.

Our room with a queen size bed was on the smaller size (we pretty much expected this being a hotel near NYC). The room was very clean and comfortable. The highlight was definitely the breath-taking view from our large window - a large view of the NYC skyline, beautiful in the day and spectacular at night!

There is not much around the hotel, but there are restaurants a few minutes drive from the hotel and it is easy to drive into the various parts of the city. The hotel also offers a shuttle bus to take and pick up guests from certain parts of the city. Hopefully more will develop around the Z Hotel to take advantage of the close proximity to city attractions and the beautiful skyline view! We would stay at the Z Hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Outrageous mid-week prices at the Thompson LES and other hotels we usually use in Manhattan sent us to Long Island City and Z Hotel. The hotel offered a lot of the things we like -- boutique hotel styling, non-chain feel, and a location far away from the fanny-packers. Just across the river in Queens, Z Hotel delivered what we wanted for about $200 less than Manhattan prices

All that said, Z Hotel is not for everyone. It is in an up-and-coming part of Queens (this isn't Brooklyn -- yet) surrounded by a lot of warehouses, cab companies, television studios, and even a few strip clubs. But not a lot else. It's a little more New York-y than some people like in their New York visit.

Z Hotel is served by a lot a different subway lines with excellent access to mid-town and downtown -- that's the way we normally travel around the city -- but the 10-minute walk through less-than-glamorous settings did get tiring.

If you're not a city person, have more traditional tastes or are an infrequent New York visitor looking for the classic tourist experience, this probably isn't the place for you. We would definitely go back when things are too expensive in Manhattan.

PROS
New hotel with modern "designy" rooms on par with other mid-range boutique hotels
Excellent value vs. similar Manhattan hotels
Great subway connections to everywhere
Free shuttle to/from midtown (runs once an hour)
A quiet spot away from the fray of the city, but still close
Great Manhattan view from floor-to-ceiling windows in the room

CONS
The walk to and from the subway gets old (not sure I would want to do it late at night)
Not much else near the hotel
No iron in the room (but they brought one when we asked)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RomeFootballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have never stayed here, but I've gotten drinks a couple of times here. Hotel Z is an oasis in middle of LIC, and they have a really cool rooftop lounge. I suppose it only makes sens to go there when the weather is nice, but it has a most spectacular view of the city, and drinks are reasonably priced. It can also be a bit loud, as they blast the music, but if you are looking not to cross a bridge to the city, but still get a great view, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nosson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

PROS:
- Incredible view of Manhattan and the Queensboro bridge - truly stunning
- Aesthetically pleasing design in the lobby, bar and rooms
- Quiet (other than the loud AC, which can be turned off)
- Comfortable beds
- Reasonably close to the subway (E, Q and 7 trains)
- Hourly shuttle to subway stop
- If you come in a colder month, you don't have to worry about noise from the roof bar as there is no DJ/party

CONS:
- Impractical room design (sink outside of bathroom, bathroom door a translucent slab of glass - more like a stall in the room than a private bathroom, very little storage space)
- Tip automatically added at the bar on top of high prices for drinks and limited selection of beer
- Crappy, loud pop in all public areas (the bar would be 100 times better with better music)
- Breakfast buffet costs $14.95 per person and, even though you serve yourself everything but drinks, which you have to ask for, a tip is automatically added (if you go here, eat at the excellent nearish Court Square diner instead for 1/2 that price and better food).
- Constant nickle and dimeing
- Daytime desk staff are the only people who seem to care about customer service
- Nothing beyond industrial wasteland in immediate area of hotel
- HDTVs mysteriously fed by low quality, low def cable - very limited selection of channels

Bottom line: if I was young and didn't care about the cons I listed it's a decent place (my teen daughter loved it); everybody else, not so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RamblinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Many of the reviews of this hotel focus on the view and how 'cool' the hotel is. We chose it since it seemed interesting and different, and our stay was certainly that, but not in the way we could have imagined. Our bedroom had a shower & toilet off, but the impractical washbasin was in the bedroom, just like in a cheap motel. There was insuffient storage space but there WAS a funky chair that you slid off rather than sat on. You certainly get a view not only of Manhattan, but also of the grim industrial surroundings in which the hotel is situated. This is as far from being a 'hotel district' as it is possible to imagine, with auto repair outfits, storage units and the like all around. There are NO retail shops, restaurants or anything you might want to visit anywhere near. It is not an area you would particularly want to walk around late at night. The Google StreetView photo is what faces the front door, from where we caught their shuttle to Bloomongdales, which is supposed to take about 20 minutes. However this apparent benefit is an illusion since it took us nearer an hour, due to congestion. Back at the hotel, being tired from a long flight and since we felt we had no choice, we ate in the snack bar in the basement, and found the food underwhelming and over-priced. It is emphatically NOT a restaurant.
We had virtually no sleep on either of our two nights, since the AC unit (bottom left in the room picture) has to be the loudest we have ever heard (think: standing under a jumbo jet). Basically we woke up repeatedly during the night, turned it on for a few minutes to bring the temperature and humidity down to bearable levels, then tried again for sleep. Then in the morning I was washing my hair in the shower when the large clunky shower head fell off the wall onto my head, and it is only the fact that I batted it away with my arm that prevented me from getting concussion or a fractured skull. The management made all the anticipated expressions of concern about my cuts and bruises (and will no doubt do so again when they've read this review) but this was not translated into even remotely adequate compensation, with them reducing our $600+ outlay by about $100. Clearly if I had hotshot US lawyers among my circle of friends then it would all have been different, but frankly I couldn't afford the time to return to New York for the hearing.
There's apparently nowhere to get breakfast nearby so you are forced either to skip it, or once again to visit the downstairs bar for an over-priced meal.
Basically the hotel is over-hyped and under-specified (but NOT under-priced). Would we stay there again? Never. Would we recommend it to friends? No.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bullshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a pleasant stay here, and would likely come back again. It's SOO expensive to stay in Manhattan; If you dont wan't to pay the $$ for a Manhattan hotel, this is a good place to consider. But as with any hotels there are PRO's and CONs.

PRO's
+hourly shuttle service to and from Manhattan (sometimes it's their school bus, sometimes a black van, and we even got a limo once!)
+every room in this hotel has floor-to-celing windows that face Manhattan
+quick service. called for an ironing board and iron and it was brought up in less than 5 minutes
+comfortable beds and soft towels
+our A/C and heater worked perfectly fine, we slept through the noise of the A/C
+large shower space, perfect water pressure

CON's
-not much sink space to store all of your toiletries
-their downstairs bar automatically charged us a 20% tip for 3 shots!! WTF??!
-neither of their two printers in the business area were working
-showers don't have doors/curtains! expect water to get everywhere...

We stayed during the week so we didn't experience any loud music from the bar on the roof, we were on the 9th floor. I guess we missed it on Thursday night when we were out in Manhattan til 4am but when we got back we didn't hear anything.

Service was OK but that depends on who you deal with. All the staff look very young. The staff in the day seems very nice and friendly but some of the ones who take over at night don't seem to give a crap about customer service and seem like they are just trying to get through their shift.

If you choose not to wait for their shuttle, the nearest subway station is about a 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#282 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Property: Z New York Hotel
Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing